Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
97
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 97 reviews
VINE VOICEon December 9, 2016
A great book that follow a Band of Brothers, or is it the other way around? These warriors are a clear example of the kind of people that their generation provided. The best of the best in the pages. Moving, powerful accounts, one of the best war accounts one is likely to read in their lifetime. The writer as good as they come. 5 Stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
A good companion book for those who've read Stephen Ambrose's BAND OF BROTHERS. It offers further background information and a window into the mind-sets of young men heading into the Airborne and into combat in World War II. It also offers new perspectives on certain figures from Band of Brothers, both the book and the mini-series. In particular, it gives more and even positive perspectives on engimatic Captain Herbert Strobel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
After reading the book "voices of the Pacific" of our brave Marines that fought and died in the Pacific, I decided I wanted to read this book. Although it was good, it didn't go into the same detail. It still was a very enjoyable book and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in WWII
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
My son is 13 and he dislikes reading. But this book he finished. I can not give you more details than that. The fact that he finished it says quite a bit.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
The book contains many unpublished stories of Easy Co. since much of it comes from "replacements." Some of the stories from the Taccoa soldiers can be found in other books, especially those books which are written by Toccoa soldiers such as Shifty Powers. The book is well worth reading for those who wish to delve into the details of the lives of Easy Co soldiers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2009
Having read all of the recent books recounting the history of Easy Company, 506th PIR, 101st Airborne Division, I find this an important contribution to the history of that unit and the history of World War II. I was privileged to be on a Band of Brother' tour accompanied by Frank Perconte, one of the original Tocoa members of Easy Company and a contributor to the book. The author, Marcus Brotherton takes you on a journey through WWII through the eyes of 20 members of Easy Company. Each tells his own story of that journey. If you enjoyed reading the "Band of Brothers" along with the other books about Easy Company, you will definitely enjoy this book. It is an interesting and easy read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2016
great read and I highly recommend it. This is a companion book to band of brothers with more individual insight
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2009
Buy this book! This is a wonderful collection of personal stories and memories of WWII by the men who survived it, several surviving members of Easy Company, known to everyone as the Band of Brothers. The best part, of course, in my unbiased, humble opinion, is the appendix where four adult children of three of the predeceased veterans, myself included, shared their personal memories of their fathers. Virtually everyone says this is the best part of the book. I was very honored to be able to share my father, Burr Smith's life story in this book. This is a must have for any collector of WWII books.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2016
For those who loved the true story of Band of Brothers, here are the surviving men after the Battle. It's a fascinating true story read. Some of these guys lied about their age to get into the military, some as young as 15! It's a different generation now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
As a ex-paratrooper from WWII - (511th Parachute Inf.Regt.,11th Airborne Div.) I loved the HBO series & also the excellent Hollywood re-make. The 11th Airborne Div. was the only unit in the Pacific, all the rest of the Airborne Divisions were in Europe. Rod Serling, creator of the "Twilight Zone" was in my regt. & was a friend. We were 18 - 19 years old at the time. Well written, and well done book. I enjoyed reading it, & shared many sad & happy moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse