Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: On Wealth and Poverty
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
13
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2004
When reading this work, please keep in mind that Saint John is a speaker, not a writer. When reading his sermons, it can be tedious at times because he repeasts and phrases ideas in such a way as that it seems tricky when reading, yet very colorful and easily understood when speaking.

The moral implications of the several sermons contained in this 'one sermon' are massive. The sermons all revolve around the story of the Rich man and Lazarus in Luke and he explands on how even the slightest of monetary pleasures should be avoided and the money given to the poor instead because there will always be those who need help; children, old and infirmed, injured and disables, etc. The lessons he teached by way of Christ are ones which we need now more than ever.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2009
I have read this book many times. The sermons are timeless and have great power in them. Saint John Chrysostom's words can change the way one views the world. I most emphatically recommend reading this. People love their possessions and rank in the world but when these affectations are examined with Saint John's guidance their importance is relegated to a more sensible, appropriate place.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2010
This homily is powerful and relevant for today's world as well as in Chrysostom's setting.
I just think that every rich man who read it will either reject it or repent. It is too powerful to the extent that I believe almost all who read it will:

1. Redefined what is "wealth" and "poverty" and along with that, who are actually the "rich man" and "poor man"
2. Rethink of their attitude toward the poor and the rich
3. Repent from their selfishness

Surely I use hyperbole in the above description. But that's the way of rhetoric which Chrysostom and even Jesus himself apply in their sermons.

My critique is that Chrysostom certainly use some speculations in his interpretation. You will find it yourself when you read the book.

Here is one of my favorite quotes from his book:

"the rich man is not the one who has collected many possessions but the one who needs few possessions; and the poor man is not the one who has no possessions but the one who has many desires.

Blessings
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2007
I completely agree with the previous reviewer, this book is a short read that will make you look at life differently. Chrysostom definitely clears up all of the 'gray area' about who deserves help and who does not, like i said this book has the potential to change your life.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
In this short book, St John Chrysostom gives four sermons on the Lord's parable of the rich man and Lazarus. He addresses the issue of how people should view wealth and poverty from a spiritual point of view. Too often, people envy those who have wealth and power, whilst they look at those who are poor and destitute as having been abandoned by God. St John Chrysostom however takes a very different view, and explains this from the point of view of the parable.

The wisdom gained from this wise saint can be applied just as easily today as it could have done when the sermons were first delivered centuries ago. In this day and age, when wealth and materialism have permeated every aspect of society and culture, books such as this one come up as priceless spiritual treasures for all Christians who seek to live according to the life in Christ.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
The subject matter guides a christian into a state of mind that understands the importance of concentrating on the spiritual nourishment of one's soul and not merely the amassment of possessions and wealth which remain behind when its to time to meet the creator on judgment day. It is written for all to better understand the teachings of Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
This book expounds on the story told by Jesus about the poor and sickly man Lazarus who lay at the gate of the
Rich man. The rich man ignored the misery and the poverty of Lazarus, however the rich man remains
unnamed and anonymous in eternity while Lazarus basked in the arms of the Patriarch Abraham in Paradise.
St. John Chrysostom digs into the nook and crannies of this fabulous parable and mines out the gold nuggets
That pertain and are appropriate to our present affluent and apathetic generation.
This book is a timeless classic teaching profoundly the truths that are so easily overlooked and cast aside in this
"Me First" society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
I didn't understand what Christ meant by saying "blessed are the poor for theirs is the kingdom of Heave" until I read this book. St. John's words are simple and convicting, piercing the very depths of the reader's heart.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
St. John Chrysostom, Golden tongued or Golden mouth, was aptly named. He teaches us to give to the poor, but not to judge them. Just give, it matters not how they spend your alms. Giving alms helps the rich, more than the poor.

Here you will learn who is truly rich and who is poor.

This book should be mandatory reading for every elected official! Send it to the President, your Congressmen and women, your Governor, Legislators and any one you love! If more people tried to live their lives by St. John's teachings, the world would be a better place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
A wonderful book that is hard on the conscience. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to probe deeper into the meaning of true Christianity and what it means to honour the body of Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse