Spring Deals Automotive Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

on March 19, 2005
You cannot call yourself a conservative if like this author you believe in one sided propaganda. There used to be a time when conservatives were moderators not today's screw-you genre like Limbaugh, Hannity, Bush, etc ... This author like most Limbaughian conservatives want you to feel victimized and unecessarily angry all the while offering no constructive solution. Bashing gays while allowing polluting industries like Enron and Halliburton to pollute the environment leaving kids with asthma and adults with emphysema is not a moral value. Gutting public and affordable education to pay for Dick Cheney's tax cuts is not a moral value. Protesting abortion clinics while knowingly sending U.S. troops to Iraq to die for a war for corporate profiteering is not a moral value. For up to 45 years and counting, this is the kind of bait and switch propaganda that so-called conservatives want to keep you folks addicted to. I suggest you go to www dot moderateindependent dot com and learn what the difference between true and honest conservatives vs this bait and switch type.
88 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 22, 2007
First of all, I'm a UNCW alumni. I've heard stories about this guy for years. This guy is a total loser. He's one of these Rush Limbaugh wana-bees, only he's not funny or clever. As far as UNCW being a conservative school, uhhhhh...yeah right. Students here live to get drunk, high and laid. Hardly a bastion of conservatism. Half of the sudents are from New Jersey! This is a party school-it's right near the beach! Conservatives are in a vast minority here-believe me. Mr. Adams isn't speaking for an oppressed minority-he's speaking for a almost non-existent minority. If he had even a clue about the UNCW population he would know that. Unfortunately, his head is in the clouds.
66 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2006
last time it was called Illiberal Education: The Politics of Race and Sex on Campus by Dinesh D'Souza. if i remember correctly, the author claimed that the Duke University English Department was bringing about the end of Western Civilization.

guess they're not trying hard enough, huh?
66 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2004
Well, I have to admit I picked up this book because I attend UNC-Wilmington. Wow, what an embarassment. He's just not a very good writer! (I just discovered he failed English throughout high school. It shows, despite the efforts of his editors!) I've read numerous articles of his on the web, and that's about as good as it gets. Save your money and just read those. Most of the book just sounds like his attempt to justify his job, to argue with other professors & the administration on campus, or just to trash people in general. It seems he simply wants to argue in front of an audience, and doesn't come across as very Christian or very educated. Can't we do better in the Republican party?
Oh, and for what it's worth, UNCW is a relatively conservative campus in the UNC system. It's why I came here. Of course the English department is relatively liberal - that's to be expected. If you look at the Cameron School of Business, however, those professors DO teach from a fiscally conservative angle.
Honestly, save your money. There are better political books out there by much better writers.
55 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2009
In WELCOME TO THE IVORY TOWER OF BABEL, Professor Mike Adams treads the same path covered in FREEFALL OF THE AMERICAN UNIVERSITY,SHADOW UNIVERSITY, and BRAINWASHED. The difference lies more in the "how" than in the "what." Adams and the authors of these other books focus on what they see as the failure of America's universities and colleges to educate their students, instead preferring to indoctrinate them in a leftist, groupthink mindset. Whereas these other writers take a serious and comprehensive approach, Adams chooses instead to use a breezy and informal style that probably best fits his personality. This method comes as no great surprise since each chapter reads exactly like the campus editorials of his college newspaper, which is exactly what they are.

Adams used to be a leftist atheist early in his teaching career. But he changed after he began to teach at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. He implies that this change came as a result of what he saw going on in his school, but until he received tenure, he did not dare do what he now dares--to speak out against what he saw as the insanity of race relations, affirmative action, feminism, and anti-Christian ideology. His book is a fun read, as he thoroughly skewers those on the left. It is sometimes hard to tell when he is serious as much of his book is tongue in cheek. Adams will discuss an incident that shows what he perceives as the bankruptcy of ideas of most of his liberal colleagues. After he finishes he often later picks up the threads of that incident in a subsequent chapter. This method gives a sense of continuity to a book that truly allows its author to unite a myriad series of disparate threads into a coherent whole. The only negative that I see (apart from liberals who clearly are antagonistic from the outset) lies in the briefness of his chapters that do not really permit him to thoroughly develop his many theses. Adams chooses to use the personal anecdote over a more lengthy and traditional critiquing of the left. What emerges from WELCOME TO THE IVORY TOWER OF BABEL is an uncomfortable feeling that the babel of disjointed voices eminating from a school that advertises itself as a model of pluralistic diversity is really nothing more than the strident unity of an ideology that seeks to indoctrinate rather than educate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMEon November 13, 2005
After reading Mike S. Adams's "Welcome to the Ivory Tower of Babel: Confessions of a Conservative College Professor," I'm extraordinarily happy I went to school in Nebraska. My state, you see, is pretty darn conservative. Even liberals out here would classify as moderate Republicans nearly anywhere else in the country. My university, dependant on grants from a conservative legislature elected by even more conservative taxpayers, always seemed to avoid the worst of the left-wing pabulum that infects most college campuses across the nation. Oh sure, there were a few radicals on campus that used their classrooms as pulpits from which they spread the diversity/gender/multiculturalist agenda. But they were few and far between. Most professors, even extremely liberal ones, kept their politics out of the classroom. I can think of a few instructors who I absolutely suspected were liberals and/or far left-wing kooks, but to this day I couldn't tell you for sure because they NEVER discussed their beliefs unless the students asked after class. Not bad, eh? I think I received a better education than any Ivy League student since my courses dealt with facts and legitimate theories rather than touchy-feely platitudes about race and gender wrapped up in hate whitey rhetoric.

Professor Adams doesn't seem to enjoy the environment I thrived in. A tenured member of the department of criminal justice at the University of North Carolina-Wilmington, Adams has had plenty of time to observe the insanity that passes for higher education in this country. It's not a pretty picture. Most of the book takes the form of letters Adams wrote to various officials in and out of the university objecting to the latest outburst of left-wing wackiness. For example, the good professor pens an epistle pointing out his concerns with a recent debate concerning affirmative action. The problem? It wasn't a debate. A debate means two speakers arguing the ins and outs of an issue. Only one speaker, decidedly pro-affirmative action, was given any time to speak. Then there is the letter--actually more than one--describing the influence of feminist scholars on campus. One professor accused a department chairman of sexual harassment before going on to describe how someone kept breaking into her office to vandalize her wristwatch. Whether these ominous events occurred before or after another evildoer attempted to poison a feminist instructor by pumping poison gas into her office is unclear. Other letters cover the problems Adams encountered when he put conservative stickers on his office door, campus "racism," and attempts by the university to squash campus religious organizations.

The second part of the book deals with an unpleasant situation Adams ran into shortly after the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. A pro-communist student sent him an e-mail blaming America for the disasters in New York and Washington, D.C. Moreover, she encouraged him to forward the message to others. Adams obliged her request, but not before sending a note back blasting her for such an ignorant view of the world. Regrettably, the student's mother worked as an administrator at the university, and in no time at all the campus authorities were clamoring to read his private e-mails in order to avoid a harassment lawsuit. The author complied, but he also made sure to contact the Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (FIRE), an organization devoted to rolling back unconstitutional speech codes at America's universities. The exchange between Adams and the student soon blossomed into a national news story on free speech and how that right applies to e-mail communications. Most people supported the author's position in the matter, and the university eventually backed down...well, sort of. Maybe. O.k., nothing much changed in the long run. The best part of the incident is how the university can't go after Adams in the future for speaking his mind. This book, along with his massively entertaining website, is the result.

What to say about Adams's wonderful book? Anyone remotely familiar with the chaotic nature of our universities today, with the rampant anti-American hatemongering that passes as serious scholarship, has already seen or heard many of the things the author brings to our attention. Crackpot professors charging colleagues and the university with harassment and/or racism? You don't say? Wow, what a surprise there! Administrators bowing and scraping to accommodate instructors and minority public officials who take every opportunity to spew hate whitey rhetoric? Again, you could knock me over with a feather! Who knew such evil goes on in the hallowed halls of academia! Universities censoring what students and employees can say and write? Did I wake up in China this morning? Surely, such nonsense could never happen here! Alas, it does. All of this crud, and more we don't hear about, occurs on a daily basis in America's institutions of higher learning. I've heard some of it personally, but Adams obviously has a front row seat to the madness. The book is worth reading because of the insider view he offers as well as the sarcasm he uses to expose these dolts for the kooks that they really are.

I think Mike Adams should consider quitting his job. Seriously. Not because he's a conservative fish trapped in a left-wing pond, but because he ought to run for a seat in the North Carolina legislature. Then he can put his inside knowledge to work crafting bills that will cut funding to the university unless they undertake serious administrative changes, including but not limited to a fair hiring process for administrators and professors, full disclosure and accountability regarding the distribution of student fees, and a crackdown on spending tens of thousands of tax dollars the university uses to bring to campus racist and discriminatory left-wing speakers. "Welcome to the Ivory Tower of Babel" is a book that conservatives should proudly display on their bookshelf.
11 comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2004
Though hardly definitive disections of university life, this book and Ben Shapiro's "Brainwashed" offer enlightening and entertaining glimpses of the experiences of a professor at UNC Wilmington (Adams) and student at UCLA (Shapiro). Of the two, Adams' book is better, but both are worthwhile.
"Ivory Tower" is limited primarily to Adams' own encounters with campus radicalism within the UNC system (mostly Wilmington and Chapel Hill) and doesn't provide the usual laundry list of anecdotes from other schools. This is the book's strong point, I think. Basing his argument on his personal experiences lends greater credibility to his case, and his sense of sarcasm makes the book a fun read along the way. If you're interested in the topic, I think you'll be satisfied.
As for that reviewer from Canada who slammed the book (or, more specifically, the author), once you've finished "Ivory Tower" you'll no doubt be easily able to imagine how Dr. Adams would respond, since this person's supposedly "liberal and open-minded" attitude towards those who think differently is precisely what this book is scrutinizing. Which makes me wonder, O Canada, did you actually read the book? And have you thought through the self-contradiction of claiming that liberals at universities should exclude conservatives because if conservatives are allowed in they will exclude non-conservatives? And what "fringe" ideas does Dr. Adams reveal in his book? Your review says more about you than it does "Ivory Tower," and what it says about you is what makes this book necessary.
0Comment| 134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2004
This book discusses important free speech issues. Adams writes a lot like Ann Coulter. However, the humorous spin he puts on weighty issues and the serious spin he puts on mundane issues distinguishes him. He is, in many ways, like Dave Barry.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 13, 2004
Dr. Mike Adams writes clearly, honestly and in today's educational and political context.
His premise regards the loss of Constitutional rights within the "higher learning" system of today's tax supported university system. His experience as a Criminal Justice Professor at University of North Carolina-Wilmington (UNCW) provides the background and dramatic insight into what is wrong in education today.
He has taken personal experiences, letters, emails, and other correspondence and woven them into a book that should have been published long ago by others involved in higher education.
The content of his book is drawn from his deeply personal experience with students, fellow faculty members and the UNCW administration.
His background, from liberal to conservative, is well and honestly documented.
Dr. Adams provides irrefutable, documented facts demonstrating that the liberal education establishment is actively engaged in promoting the liberal/left-wing agenda, and smothering free speech and open discourse for those who do not adhere to the liberal line. Those free speech rights guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States of America. That university students subjected to same are hearing and seeing only one side of their purported education, becomes obvious as one reads his carefully documented references.
Dr. Adams did not, in my opinion, write this book for self aggrandizement, but only to inform the public of what their children are subjected to at university, and how their tax dollars are spent at public institutions. He is sincere in his desire to see that open discourse is allowed for all students, professors and the campus organizations to which they belong. Open and free speech for all, as described in his book, is what I believe is the true meaning of "diversity".
All parents of current or prospective students of higher education and those whose taxes support public colleges and universities should read Dr. Adams book.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2004
This is the funiest book I have ever read. This guy's ability to break down the absurdity of the PC movement is unmatched. I could not put it down!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse