<Embed>
List Price: $29.99
Save: $16.01 (53%)
& FREE Shipping
Arrives: Sep 30 - Oct 7
Fastest delivery: Sep 25 - Oct 1
Only 16 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from 8 trax media
Sold by 8 trax media
Ships from
8 trax media

Sold by

FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Used: Good | Details
Sold by UlkarBooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid copy that may contain some markings on the first page and/or minor mark on the side of the book. Book shows some signs of wear. Tracking number provided in your Amazon account with every order

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$12.56
+ $3.98 shipping
Sold by: Mesilla Internet
Add to Cart
$12.99
+ $3.59 shipping
Sold by: AcjBooks
Add to Cart
$22.12
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life Hardcover – Illustrated, September 13, 2016

4.6 out of 5 stars 40 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Illustrated
$13.98
$11.70 $1.99

"The Eighth Sister" by Robert Dugoni
A pulse-pounding thriller of espionage, spy games, and treachery by the New York Times bestselling author of the Tracy Crosswhite Series. | Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life
  • +
  • Walkable City: How Downtown Can Save America, One Step at a Time
  • +
  • Triumph of the City: How Our Greatest Invention Makes Us Richer, Smarter, Greener, Healthier, and Happier
Total price: $40.11
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Rose’s non―stop tour of the cityan in depth account of its history, theory, and practice―is exhilarating and complete, wherein compassion, Bach’s The Well–Tempered Clavier, and contemporary scientific thinking finally come to rest together. This is a hugely satisfying poem-rich in history, thought and deeply felt throughout.” (Philip Glass, composer)

“Huge in ambition, grand in scope, dazzling in accomplishment. You will never look at your city, yourself or your neighbors the same way again.” (Andrew Zolli, author of Resilience)

“Gathering a lifetime of learning, discovery, and understanding, Jonathan Rose has written an astonishing book: a treasure trove of knowledge about how our urban lives have evolved, interwoven with a compellingly pragmatic case for what they can be in the future. The Well-Tempered City is essential and exciting reading (Jeremy Newsum, Executive Trustee of the Grosvenor Estate Jeremy Newsum, Executive Trustee of the Grosvenor Estate Jeremy Newsum, Executive Trustee of the Grosvenor Estate)

“The pragmatic and the visionary rarely integrate this harmoniously into the re-imagination of what a city is and could be.” (Paul Hawken, author of Blessed Unrest)

“The Well–Tempered City reveals a fresh understanding of inequality, urbanization, housing and public health. Rose weaves rigorous cognitive neuroscience research with powerful, authentic stories of people who often live at the margins of society. This book should be mandatory reading for anyone committed to the idea of successful and inclusive cities.” (Darren Walker, President, the Ford Foundation Darren Walker, President, the Ford Foundation Darren Walker, President, the Ford Foundation)

“This provocative, important, and majestically composed book about the future of cities should be essential reading for our times. An urban planner, environmentalist, and musician, Rose takes us on a rollicking centuries–long journey through the history of cities, never forgetting to marvel at their resilience and human core. What does Bach tell us about the complexity and organization of our urban environments? What is the ‘metabolism of the city’? By the time I had finished Rose’s book, I began to see the city and the world around me in an entirely new light. I could not put this book down.” (Siddhartha Mukherjee, author of The Emperor of All Maladies, The Gene)

“This provocative, important, and majestically composed book about the future of cities should be essential reading for our times. An urban planner, environmentalist, and musician, Rose takes us on a rollicking centuries–long journey through the history of cities, never forgetting to marvel at their resilience and human core. What does Bach tell us about the complexity and organization of our urban environments? What is the ‘metabolism of the city’? By the time I had finished Rose’s book, I began to see the city and the world around me in an entirely new light. I could not put this book down.” (Laurie Anderson, artist)

“Jonathan Rose shares his brilliant vision in this fascinating look at cities past and present. The Well–Tempered City offers a plan for urban―and ecological and social―thriving into the future. Anyone who lives in a city or cares about them will find this a rewarding read.” (Daniel Goleman, author of Emotional Intelligence Daniel Goleman, author of Emotional Intelligence)

“A comprehensive primer for how to contemplate urban spaces as they evolve for the future.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“A thought-provoking introduction to the future of cities.” (Publishers Weekly)

From the Back Cover

In the vein of Jane Jacobs’s The Death and Life of Great American Cities and Edward Glaeser’s Triumph of the City, Jonathan F. P. Rose—a visionary in urban development and renewal—champions the role of cities in addressing the environmental, economic, and social challenges of the twenty-first century.

Cities are birthplaces of civilization; centers of culture, trade, and progress; cauldrons of opportunity—and by 2080 will be home to 80 percent of the world’s population. As the twenty-first century progresses, metropolitan areas will bear the brunt of global megatrends such as climate change, natural resource depletion, population growth, income inequality, mass migration, and education and health disparity, among many others.

In The Well-Tempered City, Jonathan F. P. Rose—the man who “repairs the fabric of cities”—distills a lifetime of interdisciplinary research and firsthand experience into a five-pronged model for designing and reshaping cities with the goal of equalizing their landscape of opportunity. Drawing from the musical concept of “temperament,” Rose argues that well-tempered cities can be infused with systems that bend the arc of their development toward equality, resilience, adaptability, and well-being, to achieve ever-unfolding harmony between civilization and nature. While these goals may never be fully attained, if we at least aspire to them, and approach every plan and constructive step with this intention, our cities will be richer and happier.

A celebration of the city and an impassioned argument for its role in addressing important issues in these volatile times, The Well-Tempered City is a well-reasoned, hopeful blueprint for a thriving metropolis—and the future.


Product details

  • Item Weight : 1.4 pounds
  • Hardcover : 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0062234722
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0062234728
  • Product Dimensions : 6 x 1.45 x 9 inches
  • Publisher : Harper Wave; Illustrated Edition (September 13, 2016)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 40 ratings