Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18PP_gno



on May 12, 2017
Being a big werewolf fan, l felt this would be a good addition to my library. This is a wordy book written in older fashioned English, and could lose someone who isn't too passionate about the subject matter. But it is still very in-depth and informative on the origins of this phenomenon.

Montague Summers discusses lycanthropy, and the fact that he believes it to be a mental illness separate from actual shapeshifting abilities. Summers is clearly not an objective observer, and his Christian bias is ever-present. Honestly it doesn't take anything away from the book though. The most famous cases surrounding the idea of werewolves are examined, as well as beliefs and customs from around the Old World, mostly Europe.

The biggest drawback in my opinion are all the quotes and paragraphs written in foreign languages, chiefly Latin, that are either left untranslated or explained at the end of the chapter in tiny footnotes. lt's kind of laborious to keep track of all the notes and look them up as you go. Otherwise it's a good read on one of my favourite topics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2017
If Stephen King had a history degree, this is what he would produce. This is not a quick read. This book was written by a man who seriously believed this stuff, and has gone to great length to research proof from the archives of the same Catholic Church that now says all these creatures do not exist. He reprints said material (especially witness statements) in their entirety. I had to look the guy up in Wikipedia, and if that article was only half right, the guy was certainly nuts...but the entertaining scary sort of nuts, not the kind you need to lock away. Their next edition should have a description of Mr. Summers at the beginning. Picturing him at the head of a Hogwarts-style classroom, lecturing on lycanthropes and vampires, with this material, whoa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 8, 2012
100 years ago, Montague Summers, a Catholic priest in England, penned a five-volume history on the occult that covered vampires, witches, and, here, werewolves. Summers takes both his theology and his historical accounts very seriously. Make no mistake; he absolutely believes that black magic is real, and he is out to convince you. What makes his work so refreshing today is that it is unabashedly erudite and boldly, almost defiantly, orthodox. You don't have to agree with him to learn deeply from his research. People love him or hate him; personally, I can't get enough of the man. Get all five volumes!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2017
i have not finished it, but for anyone with a love for werewolves or with a curiosity of them, it provides great theories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 3, 2015
I have been looking for this book for YEARS! I was so excited to find it! I love all the lore and true stories used. The only reason I gave it four stars was because it gets a bit slow going at times. The words just keep piling and piling... Leading to heights unknown!
But still if you are willing to put in the time one of the best sources around. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
An interesting book of lore and legends of Werewolves, but very dry. I would rather find a book of folks stories of Werewolves like the Brothers Grimm's work on fairy tales.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 18, 2015
Really mediocre too much Latin language just not interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2014
A fine copy of Montague Summers write ups on werewolves to be companion to his book on Vampires. Any occultist and folklorists and writer's library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2017
Summers is nuttier than peanut brittle, but this is a must-read for horror/folklore buffs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2017
Okay, so I bought this book cause I thought it would be a cool, fun read. I wanted to know about different ways in which the werewolf is known and the traits and such associated with it throughout its history as a mythical monster. This book would probably not be as bad if it weren't for the references that the author uses, and the use of references wouldn't be as bad if HE HAD ACTUALLY TRANSLATED THEM FROM THEIR ORIGINAL LANGUAGES. Seriously, this guy's throwing out Greek and Latin and German in here like I'm supposed to be fluent in all of them! I can't read two thirds of the book! The author also takes this stuff really seriously, and he's very focused on werewolfery's ties to the devil in Christianity. All in all, not a very fun or informative read like I was hoping. :/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse