Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Today only: Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on December 14, 2013
I dig it. It's cool to hear the early stuff with other artists. The other cd's are filled with lots of demo or alternate takes--it's really for fans and not the casual listener. You can get the first cd by itself. There is nothing revolutionary about these alternate takes, just an artist in the process of working his magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2011
Just got this a few weeks ago, and I am really impressed. Many of the song are demos/solo versions of popular songs found on other albums and have alternate lyrics as well as Jimi performing alone (one of my favorites is his solo version of Angel where he has an alternate intro and changes up the lyrics). Definitely a great buy for people who like to play Jimi's music, and for those that really enjoy his style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2016
For hardcore Jimi fans! Great DVD inside makes an added bonus Some rare toons included!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2010
This is kind of a hit and miss box set just as many of the reviewers have noted. For $55 you get a lot though. But you have to sort through the good stuff.

if you are first starting off listening to Jimi Hendrix this is not the box set for you. Listen to the original albums.

I gave this box set 4 stars. there are some amazing songs.

for $55 this box sets not a bad deal.

Disc 1 is interesting in that you get to see Jimi emerge as a guitar player. Mercy, Mercy is a really great song though.
It's difficult disc to listen to repetitively. These songs should have been put online for free on the Jimi Hendrix website,imo.

Disc 2 is by far the best disc with Tears of Rage, Long Hot Summer Night (Acoustic), an awesome version of Fire, instrumental demo of Castles Made of Sand,etc. I love this disc.

Disc 3 Hear My Freedom is very cool. But the disc lacks continuity. For some reason, the disc switches to live tracks suddenly. some good songs.

Disc 4: Suddenly November Morning is really brilliant. Another side of Jimi. I also enjoyed Everlasting First. Jimi's guitar work is spectacular on that song. hit and miss here. there are some instrumentals that are cool to listen to for one or two times, but that's about it.

The DVD is really bad. Bootsy Collins voice is not good. not enough footage of Jimi and nothing revealing about Jimi.

if you're going to make a DVD of Jimi make it awesome. the guy lived a fascinating life

I'd say half of the tracks on this box set are good. rest are ok to listen to once or twice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2010
I give this three stars only to be helpful--some listeners will fall to the left of middle, some to the right. It depends on what you want. Personally, I got exactly what I wanted, so I'd give it 5 stars. All of Jimi's ardent fans feel short-changed that he died so young. We want "new" material, but hey...sorry, there ain't any. So, we must settle for what's in the vaults. If you enjoy alternate takes and/or mixes, you'll find this very interesting and satisfying. However, there is quite a bit of unheard, seminal stuff on offer; song ideas like you'd get on a Dagger release, only, in my opinion, stronger material. Most is studio stuff. Very little live stuff. One thing you can say: The sound quality is pristine and brilliant. Even if you have booted versions of some of these songs, you've probably never heard them sound this clear. Anyway, could say more, but I won't ramble. I'm looking forward to CDs/DVDs of RAH, Miami Pop and Atlanta Pop. Until then, I view this as a valid release, albeit, mainly for ardent fans. I'm lovin' it.
55 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2016
Good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2015
less than i expected
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2015
never let you down great band fast delivery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2015
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2013
Bought this for my grandson's 15 b-day present. He plays bass and is very interested in the guitar greats of rock n roll. He was thrilled especially with the "liner notes" that now come as a booklet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Both Sides Of The Sky
$11.88

Need customer service? Click here