Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on September 22, 2016
I am very happy to have this in my collection. It's just something I felt that I needed after finishing House of Leaves. It feels personal, in a weird way. Absolutely fantastic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2009
This book is simply an anthology of the letters sent between Johnny Truant and his mentally ill mother, Pelafina during her stay in a psychiatric hospital. While a majority of these exchanged messages are included in the appendix of House of Leaves, there are a few additions. This text seems unnecessary because it doesn't quite expand on the story, but as someone who was enthralled by HoL I found it pleasing to have a separate collection of the depth creating digression. I can only recommend The Whalestoe Letters to those whom were truly engaged by the horror of House of Leave, which I trust is anyone whom gave it a read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
Maybe the saddest book I've ever read. And it's a mere Appendix to entire other Novel "House of Leaves" so you can only imagine what that book is like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised to open this up and find it was an autographed copy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
One of the most beautifully, dark, and tragic stories I've ever read. Definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
Amazing writer! We have all of his books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
Not really many big new revelations to be had from this companion novella but still enjoyable for fans of HOL.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2008
This book makes for a great addition to any Mark Danielewski collection. I do feel however that these letters should have been included in House of Leaves
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2010
Bought this book for my nephew for a gift. He thought it was great! Thought it was new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2010
The Whalestoe Letters by Mark Z. Danielewski is an extension of his premier novel, House of Leaves. Initially appearing as an appendix to the novel, The Whalestoe Letters (which includes ten additional letters) are those written by Johnny Truant's mother Pelafina H. Lievre during her residence at the insane asylum. Like House of Leaves as a whole, The Whalestoe Letters is to fiction and literature what thought experiments are to physics; Danielewski seems to write and publish to push boundaries and test waters for no other reasons than curiosity. While I would argue that the experiment of House of Leaves is very interesting, his subsequent publications are less successful. The (limited) success of The Whalestoe Letters is that it makes me want to go back and read House of Leaves once again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.82
$15.08

Need customer service? Click here