Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 5, 2015
This is the sequel to Once were warriors and is well worth watching, is another of my favorites!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2014
It is such a great film wish that the Dvd was made with a US version. But it worked on my Mac Book Pro
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2010
Follow on story from Once Were Warriors. Often the sequel to a good movie, is never any good imo, however this one flows on exactly as it should. All the old characters return and the story continues without any loss of info. I loved it!

Imatiently waiting to see if they ever bring out another version as they have left it open as though they could.
Bring it on!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 20, 2010
Fantastic movie - just have to see it after Once Were Warriors - its great to see Jake the Muss come good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 17, 2010
Ordered because we liked "Once were Warriors". I have been trying to find this sequel for a few years. Wasn't sure at first because the cover is all in Spanish. There are Spanish subtitles but the audio is in English
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2007
"Once Were Warriors" was beloved by several in the US, so I'm surprised that its sequel seemed to have no American release. However, while that female had characters to whom many could identify, this film initially does not. It starts with the main characters making stupid, self-destructive decisions for no good reason at all. Relationships fall apart and develop for almost no reason at all. People criticized Spielberg's "Color Purple" for not emphasizing that Mr. changed. This film too shows that characters are dynamic, and many will be pleased with the ending.

The characters practically look like they could be in the Mad Max franchise. In Hawaii, another Polynesian island, residents are known for wearing cotton clothing in bright colors. This film is filled with people wearing black leather constantly. Isn't New Zealand too hot for that? You would think this was a part of the Matrix movie rather than something supposedly taking place in real life. Some say that other countries don't have the rigid racial divisions that the US does. However, like "Whale Rider," this pretty much shows Maoris and no one else. Some non-NZ viewers might get the sense that the islands are mostly Maori when that group actually only makes up 12% of the population. And by the way, do New Zealand construction workers admire the Village People? They show construction workers in short-shorts and I am almost sure that would not be safe for workers' legs in that employment environment.

Like many a film, there is female nudity here, but no male nudity. Still, the film includes many males showing off their hard, tattooed, tanned torsos, including hot actor Temuera Morrison. This film, like its prequel, does try to say that embracing one's ethnic heritage may heal those who are spiritually- and psychologically-wounded.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 5, 2010
first and foremost I really enjoyed the movie having watched the "Once Were Warriors", however I was not aware that DVD's are encrypted for different regions. I was not able to play it on my DVD player. I would like to return it and get the right region for California.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2015
can't view it here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2015
Once Were Warriors (OWW) is a tough act to follow, having been one of the most potent and unforgettable films of the 1990s, as well as the most successful motion picture in the history of New Zealand cinema (up until The World's Fastest Indian in 2005).

The sequel deals with Temuera Morrison's character more than any of the others from OWW, which is fine by me. Jake the Muss finally confronts his destructive behaviors (rage being at the top of the list); this is fitting since he was the one at the end of OWW who was farthest from saying "enough is enough." While on balance the sequel is no less dark than OWW, it is somewhat uplifting here to see Jake finally change (after getting a few helpful nudges from various characters).

The New Zealand Film Commission was probably happy to be involved in the production of a sequel that rightly disparaged gang life, since gangs weren't portrayed very negatively when the eldest son Nig joined a gang in OWW. I've read that "The film's failure to live up to the high standards of Once Were Warriors is partly attributed to the fact that Polygram Filmed Entertainment was involved." I don't know if this is true, but it could explain a focus on gangs instead of characters from OWW, as gang stories are more profitable for film studios. Jake's son Sonny (Jake had a 3rd son?), who wasn't even in OWW, suddenly appears on the screen as if we are supposed to be familiar with him. Sonny seems to have been added solely as a means to provide a reasonable connection to the gang storyline. Whatever the case, the Maori/ Pacific Islander gangs in this film make the Sons of Anarchy look like a children's birthday party.

⚖ Final Verdict ⚖ This film was made for fans of OWW in an attempt to tie up lose ends; it does this to a degree, but also opens up a whole new can of worms by beating on the hornet's nest of not one, but two Maori gangs. There is a 3rd book, but not a 3rd movie: if we want real closure we will need to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2015
Once Were Warriors is a tough act to follow, having been one of the most potent and unforgettable films of the 1990s, as well as the most successful motion picture in the history of New Zealand cinema (until The World's Fastest Indian in 2005).

The sequel deals with Temuera Morrison's character more than any of the others from OWW, which is fine by me. Jake the Muss finally confronts his destructive behaviors (rage being at the top of the list); this is fitting since he was the one at the end of OWW who was farthest from saying "enough is enough." While on balance the sequel is no less dark than OWW, it is somewhat uplifting here to see Jake finally change (after getting a few helpful nudges from various characters).

The New Zealand Film Commission was probably happy to be involved in the production of a sequel that rightly disparaged gang life, since gangs weren't portrayed very negatively when the eldest son Nig joined a gang in OWW. I've read that "The film's failure to live up to the high standards of Once Were Warriors is partly attributed to the fact that Polygram Filmed Entertainment was involved." I don't know if this is true, but it could explain a focus on gangs instead of characters from OWW, as gang stories are more profitable for film studios. Jake's son Sonny (Jake had a 3rd son?), who wasn't even in OWW, suddenly appears on the screen as if we are supposed to be familiar with him. Sonny seems to have been added solely as a means to provide a reasonable connection to the gang storyline. Whatever the case, the Maori/ Pacific Islander gangs in this film make the Sons of Anarchy look like a children's birthday party.

⚖ Final Verdict ⚖ This film was made for fans of OWW in an attempt to tie up lose ends; it does this to a degree, but also opens up a whole new can of worms by beating on the hornet's nest of not one, but two Maori gangs. There is a 3rd book, but not a 3rd movie: if we want real closure we will need to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse