Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$37.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 486 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 554 reviews
on February 28, 2011
Perhaps the fastest growing classification of movies, faith-based films have a tendency to sacrifice production value for message. While movies like Facing the Giants and Fireproof have solid messages, they lack in the aesthetic polish audiences get from most Hollywood releases.

With "What If...", Dallas Jenkins manages to give audiences an aesthetically beautiful film with wonderful performances on both sides of the camera. The movie feels like a mid-budget Hollywood release, a remarkable feat considering the low budget and tight shooting schedule. Kevin Sorbo has a great presence throughout, and Kristy Swanson, still beautiful as ever, shows off her dramatic chops. And John Ratzenberger's performance is angelic, in a good-old-boy way.

Still, great direction and performances don't make a great movie unless the story matches. Thankfully, the story of "What If...", albeit somewhat recycled, is outstanding. Living a life of luxury and power, Ben Walker (Sorbo) is chosen by God to receive a glimpse of what his life could have been had he made a different decision 15 years earlier. The bulk of the movie is spent in Ben's alternate reality where he learns the true riches of life.

"What If..." doesn't hide the fact that it's a Christian movie. Still, it doesn't hurl religion at the audience with reckless abandon. In other words, it's a movie that even non-Christians can and should enjoy. Without sex, violence, or language concerns, it's perfectly suited for all ages.

Raising the bar for faith-based films, "What If..." is hopefully the start to higher standards for movies delivering messages of the Highest Standard.

Get it now!
1010 comments| 271 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2011
A short video review of this excellent Faith based film (with clips from movie). A great story, with excellent acting and production value. Even the director's behind the scenes commentary was well done, and very informative. Movie's message gets us thinking about how we have redeemed the days that the Lord has given us! I highly recommend that no one passes up the opportunity to see/buy this fresh and creative film by Dallas Jenkins!

A few other films that you might be interested in seeing
The Secrets of Jonathan Sperry
Unidentified
Standing Firm
Bandslam
This is a secular dramedy, but well done
(Scroll way down thru the customer reviews for my video review)
review image
66 comments| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2011
Yes, this movie is a lot like 'Family Man' (Nicholas Cage) or 'A Family Thanksgiving' (Daphne Zuniga). However, the resemblance does not take away from this being a great family movie. For those of us who grew up in the 80's and 90's, it is great to see Kevin Sorbo and Kristy Swanson (who still looks great these days) grace the screen. The fact that God is mentioned in the show, and not in a mocking tone, is great too. You will want to have the whole family watch this. John Ratzenberger as the ghost is a wonderful casting job too. The whole cast was just refreshing to see on screen again.
44 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2016
I thought it was a great movie. Not necessarily biblically correct and " religious " people may not like it. I thought Mike I think his name was ( I've slept since watching it) the angel, was hallarious and other portions of the movie funny. It had a good story even tho we can't go to another plane and be given a 2nd chance. I forgot to initially post .....I did not like the low cut dress in the 2nd scene at the bus stop. A Christian movie shouldn't have boobs showing other than that it was good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this family friendly movie! It poses the question what if you life did move in in a different
direction vs what would have happened if your kept on your original path God intended for you. It gives
you the scenario of a Christian man who moved a way from a country town with the intention of it being temporary
and returning home to continue his life with his girlfriend and the path they thought God was directing them.
What happened was that he stayed in the city he went on to become a successful business man with a the trappings
of materialism that his success could buy and he thought he was happy! Enter an Angel sent by God to show him what if..
he had returned to the country town he left and his Christian Girlfiend and fulfilled the plans he once had.
This movie is similar to "The Family Man" (Nicholas Cage) but from a Christian perspective and poses the question what if..
you walked the path God called you to walk how would your life be different?
This movie does get you to question your direction and what matters to you the most and indeed how your life effects others
around you. The story while familiar to many, does get you to think What If...............
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The acting was out of this world and the story line was awesome, funny at times. All around great movie. I've watched it several times so I know this is top-of-the-line watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
This is supposed to be a take off of Nicolas Cage's "Family Man," but while that film holds your attention, this one is too maudlin. The theme of the movie is good, but the plot drags along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
Great movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
This movie is very much like Family Man with Nicholas Cage. But this is a Christian version of the movie. Kevin Sorbo is a bachelor business man who suddenly finds himself married to his college sweetheart with kids. He is a pastor in his new life. He tries to go back to his powerful job, but he is not recognized at all, so he resigns himself to this new situation. He realizes his life is happier. There is a twist to the movie, but like I said, it's not all that different from Family Man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
A really good "feel" movie and Sorbo is excellent as usual. A story about "what if" I had done things differently. In real like you don't get the chance to change your past but you can change what happens afterwards in a positive way. A movie worth watching several times especially around Christmas season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse