Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: What Matters Most
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
12
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 18, 2010
Browsing through my local library, I stumbled across this DVD and on a whim, decided to borrow it. Of the 5 DVDs I borrowed, I watched this lastly, and I was pleasantly surprised. There are no rotten tomatoes reveiws, no significant clips on youtube; this is an independent film with very limited publication.

Were I to sum this movie in one word, I would state that it is poignant. Always take reviews with a grain of salt, and read the other reviews on Amazon: I detect a gripe more about some confusion about whether or not this is an LGBTQ centered film. It is not. That stated, I believe the other reviewers had different expectations about this film and have shared their negative reviews because of their misinformation.

Acting is on par, nothing special or riveting, but with a budget of $750,000 the makers did not appropriate too badly. Cinematography's actually disappointing, I found that the movie appeared as if it had been filmed several decades ago to reflect the setting of the film without capturing any sort of rustic beauty. The score was average and forgettable, simple piano and strings can be effective, as Alan Silvestri demonstrated in Forrest Gump. In What Matters Most, the soundtrack is plain and forgettable.

Now that I've written what I disliked about it, I will confess just how much this film moved me. I am a 22 year old male Army National Guardsman. I am in the law enforcement field, love to play football, and I love to devour meat. And I cried more than once while watching this.

Before this movie was over, I walked to my computer and deleted every single megabyte of pornography on it.

My lady's name is Heather, and this movie, for all its unlikely..."corniness", reminded me of the youthful dedication of love against difficulty, the love I had for my lady. I have renewed my dedication to her, and in a frankly cheesy way, this movie helped inspire me. This ends my confession.
11 comment| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2012
Why do movies and tv shows have to be so violent these days? I liked What Matters Most because it was the antithesis of that. Good clean fun.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
Let me be really honest here, there were things about this movie that disturbed me, not sure why, I have seen it in other movies but for some reason....caused me problems. Chad Allen, totally love him, plays a great part as the son of an abusive, take no prisoners type of father (except of course not with his daughter) causing him to drink and just act out against dad. He gets whipped and gets hurt all due to his father. The mother keeps quiet and the siste3r just covers her ears. The performances were convincing and the story was very good, too. Chad Allen should be such a major star, he really should be. This is a movie about a good many harsh subjects including teen pregnancy and all this in a small Texas town. Very harsh but very good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
All the Don Strachey books make terrific movies. I get the feeling from Stevenson's most recent novels that there will be no more movies, alas, but the books are still a great read and worth keeping, at least until some "friend" borrows them and doesn't get around to returning them. Yes, they're that good, they can make hardened thieves out of even honest, hardworking people. Just be warned and don't let them anywhere near these DVDs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2009
The only "gay" relevance to this film is the real life orientation of out star Chad Allen.
Moving on from there one can only say that the lead characters did justice to the roles they played and lines they spoke far above what they deserved.
Kudos to Chad Allen, Marshall R Teague, Polly Cole, Tamara Clatterbuck, Shandra Farr, all of whom had at least one moment during this weepy trite epic of cliche riddled, breast beating, teeth gnashing melodrama.
I'd rather slit my wrists than recount the events in this baby gets you married into the "good" family tumbleweed Babylon.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
Personally I like the movie. It's not gay or boring, it's a romance that's hard to find now a days. Opposites attract, just like in the Notebook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2009
This is a typical straight love story that can be seen in any other movieor tv program, don't know why you have it in your gay movies section, went ahead and ordered and I didn't find anything gay on it and the movie is not even worth the price that I paid for it. Skip it.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2009
I was looking at gay films when this movie appeared along with other gay movies as a suggested film of interest to me. Naturally thinking it was a gay film I read the Amazon description and thought the struggle of 2 teens relationship to be gay and happy in a small town would be interesting. Wrong.

I watched the film wanting to turn it off so many times because the story line was extremely boring but I was waiting for a gay teen to appear. The movie is about 2 straight teens. I was very dissapointed but so frustrated that the movie lacked any kind of intelligent writing or acting. The ending is quite laughable.

This movie is as flat as the Texas landscape that they mention. I cannot find any redeeming quality to recommend this to anyone. I see the other reviewers gave this movie 5 stars and I wonder if they saw the same movie I did. I would actually give it -2 stars for wasting my time and money.
11 comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2013
A very poorly done film.
The plot was boring and slow moving and the hero's parents were terrible parents. They both loved status and prestige and didn't care about their son's opinions. The daughter was given too much
attention and the father gave her the love rather than the son.
The abuse by the father to the son was inexcusable. Such abuse can destroy a child.
The only good part was the ending, but I don't believe the father would have changed so much at the end.
Caution you not to see this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
I enjoyed this movie the first time I saw it and I'm glad that I was able to find a copy to purchase. When it first aired, I admit I was skeptical, but as the movie progressed I became intrigued. The twist in this movie wasn't what I would've expected and it was rather interesting as to how the characters grew due to the accident and were fleshed out in a way that they weren't two dimensional sterotypes like several romantic movies are. Check it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse