Buy new:
$7.36
List Price: $14.95

The List Price is the suggested retail price of a new product as provided by a manufacturer, supplier, or seller. Except for books, Amazon will display a List Price if the product was purchased by customers on Amazon or offered by other retailers at or above the List Price in at least the past 90 days. List prices may not necessarily reflect the product's prevailing market price.
Learn more
Save: $7.59 (51%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Monday, December 12 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook and Audible narration are included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more.
[{"displayPrice":"$7.36","priceAmount":7.36,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"7","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"36","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"L%2B9SCxI9dkQ3LLaHWMPWVmAovAfw10%2B%2B%2BSI7RZ83OV8O66a0RJB%2FLq1a4x41uujawz1lbgygqhW0SwQxo5XoETt39elvfX4bMct4Fhc5g1bgyT41VEPJw56Kt7JTlOBi3a8JCRb%2FGXWg19JhoJphPg%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$7.36 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$7.36
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2023
For the 2022 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 11 and December 25, 2022 can be returned until January 31, 2023.
What Passes as Love: A No... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$13.74
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Sold by: Book Depository US
(945898 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$10.93
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Sold by: allnewbooks
(270528 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

What Passes as Love: A Novel Paperback – September 1, 2021

4.2 out of 5 stars 11,077 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$7.36
$7.36 $3.51

Enhance your purchase


The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now

Frequently bought together

  • What Passes as Love: A Novel
  • +
  • The Bennet Women
  • +
  • Paper Doll Lina: A Novel
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.
Popular Highlights in this book

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Thomas’s (Un-nappily in Love, 2020) well-researched and compelling novel charts Dahlia’s complex journey of escape, reinvention, and self-acceptance. Fans of Alena Dillon and Lucinda Riley will be moved by this historical glimpse into a brutal time period. Not shying away from the cruelties of slavery, Thomas gives a voice to the enslaved by exploring the power of shared humanity and newfound courage.” Booklist

“The author really gets inside Dahlia’s head…She’s resourceful, a chance-taker who dreams and schemes until opportunities present themselves. It’s impossible not to root for her, however risky her actions.”
Historical Novels Review

“The scribe who sold us on living
Nappily Ever After turns her talents to historical fiction.” Essence

“Readers are transported to the South in 1850 in this emotional, richly drawn novel.”
Woman’s World

“Thomas removes the focus from the white oppressor or white savior characters usually so popular in these stories, and concentrates on the actions and consciences of the Black heroine and ensemble.”
Glamour

“In
What Passes as Love, Trisha R. Thomas has…so brilliantly…written a powerful, thought-provoking, truly cinematic historical novel that will have you turning pages well into the wee hours of the morning. Her story is simply wonderful.” ―Kimberla Lawson Roby, New York Times bestselling author of Casting the First Stone

“Another triumphant work of art by the incredibly prolific Ms. Thomas.
What Passes as Love is a poetic, mesmerizing, deeply moving story that will pull you in and not let go…long after you’ve put the book down. A must-read by one of today’s most exciting authors.” ―Susan McMartin, author of Understanding the Fall and screenwriter of Mr. Church

What Passes as Love is a rapid page-turner that will leave book lovers of any genre satisfied. Trisha R. Thomas weaves a literary tapestry that skillfully unmasks each character. Her protagonist, Dahlia Holt, takes readers on an unexpected pursuit of freedom, identity, and love. Bravo for a beautifully written account of courage, faith, and human spirit.” ―Norma L. Jarrett, bestselling author of Sunday Brunch and Sweet Magnolia

“Trisha R. Thomas’s
What Passes as Love is a fiery story of romance, resilience, and resistance, even amidst the evils of slavery. In antebellum Virginia, her daring heroine, Dahlia Holt, enslaved and yearning for liberty, exploits the ignorance and lies of her captors to protect herself and her beloved. Her weapons? Beauty and deception, education and daring. Dahlia’s dazzling escapes, her selfless passion, her dogged determination, and the risks she takes for love and freedom will keep readers turning pages in suspense.” ―Kate Manning, author of My Notorious Life

What Passes as Love is a remarkable story that paints a vivid picture of the antebellum South through the eyes of the courageous and relatable Dahlia Holt. She is a woman whose cunning and beauty allow her to hide in plain sight―within the folds of a society willing to sacrifice its own truths for pleasant appearances. Filled with realistic and picturesque details, I was transported into a sweeping narrative that read so much broader than historical fiction and commanded my attention even late into the night. I couldn’t stop reading. This was a story as complex as it was gorgeous―one of unconquerable love, of secrets and lies, of finding one’s voice and discovering meaning in a life worth the risk of freedom. Bravo, Trisha R. Thomas. Bravo!” ―Jayne Allen, author of Black Girls Must Die Exhausted

About the Author

Trisha R. Thomas has been featured in O, The Oprah Magazine’s Books That Made a Difference. Her work has been featured and reviewed in Cosmopolitan, the Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Essence, and the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. Her debut novel, Nappily Ever After, is now a popular Netflix original film. She is also a reviewer for the Los Angeles Review of Books. Trisha is a recipient of the Literary Lion Award from the King County Library System Foundation, was a finalist for an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work, and was voted Best New Writer by the Black Writers Collective. For more information visit www.trisharthomas.com.

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Lake Union Publishing (September 1, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 335 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1542030609
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1542030601
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 12 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.5 x 1 x 8.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 11,077 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Trisha R. Thomas is an award-winning author of literary fiction honored with the Literary Lion Award and a finalist for the NAACP Image Award for OUTSTANDING LITERARY WORK. Nappily Ever After is a Netflix Original feature film. You can find her at www.trisharthomas.com

"Well-orchestrated...Thomas keeps the action flowing with short chapters...steamy sex, and root-forable characters."--Publishers Weekly

"Witty and endearing."--Spirit (Southwest Airlines) Magazine

"Lively and distinctive...Smartly paced, fast, and funny."--Kirkus Reviews

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
11,077 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 11, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 28, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 1, 2021
221 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 14, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 2, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 14, 2022

Top reviews from other countries

M. Dowden
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on August 2, 2021
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Boingboing
2.0 out of 5 stars What passes for a novel these days.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on August 7, 2021
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Tracie Webb
2.0 out of 5 stars Very unrealistic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on October 6, 2021
Sarah Festa
5.0 out of 5 stars A love story about freedom
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on August 13, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
msk
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, but disappointingly abrupt ending
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on August 17, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse