Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on October 5, 2011
What Women Want by Paco Underhill is a fascinating read after you get past the boring first couple of chapters. The introduction the book is extremely interesting as it gives facts and figures about women in college, the workplace, and their domestic life. He uses this section of the book to lead into some rather boring chapters. Paco talks in the first couple of chapters about domestic changes and how women are affected by it. I found this sections (about kitchens, home offices, home layouts) rather boring but I may be the only one.

The book really picks up when Paco begins to discuss the relationship between women consumers, stores, and the executives making the decisions. He points out a lot of things that could be changed to make stores feel more inviting to women. He gives examples of certain things that women want and/or do while in a store and how that affects their shopping experience. He breaks the book down by type of store and goes through them with a fine tooth comb.

A great read for anyone interested in Paco's work, just dont give up after the first couple of chapters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2013
This book is so shallow and obvious with so many patently sexist remarks and conclusions that it makes me wonder how the author ever got to the point of having a second book published.

If you are in marketing (as I have been for 30 years) and hope to get new insights into marketing to women, you will not find them between the pages of this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2011
This book is downright fun to read! If you're in the product, people or service business, it's a must. If you're a shopper, a consumer, A WOMAN - you'll delight in learning what those providers know (or don't know, but better find out pdq!) about all of us - and about how we buy what whether it be homes, housewares or ... hygiene!

Paco may be -- in fact IS -- the pre-eminent 'retail scientist' operating in business today. He virtually invented his business and has a profound understanding of how products, people and services meet. They are the subject of this book.

Paco's writing style makes for easy, engaging, make-you-smarter reading. And his numerous, profound observations about lifestyle, retail and selling will set off lightbulbs in your brain. Not to mention that Paco himself is a most interesting and engaging man, as is his business and professional approach. He - they - come alive on the pages. You're bound to be glad you met up with this most interesting man, the fascinating information he conveys in such readable form, and that you've read this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2015
I enjoyed and was able to take valuable information from 'Why We Buy' and I assumed that this would be another great book. I was wrong. I have only stopped reading a book part way through and put it away forever a couple of times in my life and this appears to be one of them. At 25% of the way through the book I have found it to be entirely pointless ramblings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2011
Underhill is a terrific, engaging writer. He writes accessible and interesting insights into consumer behavior. This book is entirely dedicated to women's behavior. In a certain sense, its a bit late - Tom Peters has been writing about the power of women for over 10 years. That said, through stories Underhill does share a few new perspectives amongst of some of the more pedestrian "insights".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2010
I love Paco's work. I'm a Paco fan. His company and insights are remarkable. This book, however, is far from insightful...except for his observations related to Best Buy.

I preordered the book and waited in expectation for the day it arrived. I kept reading page after page wishing a golden gem would appear. "Why We Buy" is a great book with solid research that support his findings. This is a wandering, unorganized, pointless collection of thoughts that would be concluded by anyone who spends a day with their wife or close female friend.

Paco's and Envirosell's work deserves a better representation than this random collection of thoughts...

My wife, knowing that I'm a huge Paco fan, read the book before I could get to it. It took her less than a casual day's reading and she concluded that the introduction is more valuable than the actual content.

Women want: 1)cleanliness, 2)control, 3)safety, 4)you to be considerate...Now, stop there. The essence of the book has now been shared. Avoid the wandering remainder of the book.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2014
It's a good book, but not even close of what was Why se Buy and Call of The Mall.
Thia book brinca some good cases, but if you are studying the changes on The society, specially The female new role, it will not being you some New perspectives.
But if you're starting to study this issues, that's a good book and it worth reading blecaute it brings some good exemples of female consumer behavior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2016
The author provided very insightful information and his explanations were very direct and quite timely and relevant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2011
I agree with that you can stop reading this book at the intro... just get a copy at a local book store and stand for 3 minutes... that is how long it will take.... the rest of the book is just boring "fluff"... sorry....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2015
Purchased as a gift for a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse