Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on February 19, 2014
I grew up in the thirties and forties and two of my "heroes" were Joe DiMaggio and Ted Williams. I rated this book only two stars only because I think unless the reader has read other books about Ted Williams they won't have the context to judge this book. Cramer writes to change misperceptions about Ted Williams from other writers. For example, Williams had an adversarial relationship with Boston sportswriters many of whom wrote uncomplimentary things about Williams and provided information for other more objective writers who included their information in their books. Mr. Cramer tried to get inside the head of the mercurial Mr. Williams and paint a portrait of the man as he was to those who knew him best. To people have read some of the "other books" about Williams I would rate it higher ... 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
can't wait to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
Very good and informative; however, I would like for there have been more detail on some of the matters that were prominent in his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
Richard Ben Cramer has done a marvelous job translating the Ted Williams he got to know into the printed word. I could hear "The Splinter" speak! The only disappointment was getting through it too quickly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
I had always been a fan of Teddy Ballgame and now even more so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
Ted Williams was a misunderstood super star. One of our contemporary wordsmiths (Ben Cramer) tries to dispel a myth or two by showing a side of Williams that many people did not know. A quick read about a great hitter by a great writer...too soon taken from us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
A love story to baseball and to all the possibilities of sportsmanship, gamesmanship, and mid-century citizenship. I read it more for Richard Ben Cramer's writing than anything else. The writing is great, but I got a bit lost in the "baseball" story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
Was Ted a perfect human being? No. Not even close. He really was only good at a couple things, baseball and loyalty to friends. Well make that 3 things - serving his country, which he did in two wars at the height of his career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2016
Great subject and a great author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
A passionate brilliant appreciation of one of the great 20th Century American heros.

Cramer really gets The Kid. Thank you so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse