Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17
asked by Daniel Morgan on July 9, 2008
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 answers
A
Hi. I purchased the same lens 2 days ago and yes, I am a novice using a D300. I have the same 'err' reading but when i switch and locked to f/22 i realised that the camera body electronically controls the aperture setting - which you can obviously set in 'A' mode. I assumed that the manual a f adjustment ring on the lens then was only for cameras that do no have electronically controlled A settings via the body.
Ashley Veasey answered on July 15, 2008
Comment | 4 of 4 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
You've hit it on the nose Ashely. The D-series by Nikon adjust aperature electronically. When you engage the lock on f/22 on the lense, it is similar as switching on the auto focus. The camera electronically adjusts the aperature of the lens. When you take it off, the camera sees that the lens in not in automatic mode or thinks that there isn something wrong with the lens and gives the error sign. Unless you plan on adjust the aperature manually, which there is few reasons to do, always leave the lens locked at the f/22.
Ty answered on July 26, 2008
Comment | 9 of 11 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
On Nikon cameras - "A" stands for Aperature, not automatic. On the "A" setting, you determine the aperature (lens opening) and the camera sets the shutter speed. If you want fully automatic selection of both aperature and shutter speed, use the "P" Program setting. If you get an error message, it means that there is not enough available light to shoot the picture. In that case, either increase your ISO or use a flash.