Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Def Leppard All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Today only: Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

When I Look in Your Eyes
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 22, 2010
Diana Krall has an absolutely fantastic voice and this SACD recording helps bring that to life at home.

The subtle textures of her singing come through clearly and the soundstage is wide with fair depth. The music is very well engineered and doesn't carry the torch of so many modern recordings that are over-compressed and lifeless. This recording puts Diana right in front of you, centered in the sound and very clear. Other instruments play in different areas in the stage and are all very well represented. With the right equipment this album will bring this performance to life in your home and you can almost touch the instruments yourself as they play.

As for the music itself, this album is the first time I've sat down and done any critical listening to Diana Krall. I find the music to be well produced and open with a natural and laid-back feeling that I expect from a great jazz album. The inclusion of vibraphone on some tracks just adds icing to the, already sweet, cake.

Lyrically this album is clever and engaging with great writing and some excellent imagery.

Overall this album is one you can enjoy listening intently to or playing as you work or accomplish other tasks around the house as it's quality is fantastic and it's also a very pleasant experience musically.

Primary listening: Onkyo TX-NR808 receiver,Pioneer DV610AV-S Player, Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II speakers
Secondary listening: Yamaha DSP-A3090 receiver, Sunfire Stereo amplifier, Pioneer DV610AV-S Player, Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II speakers
Additional Listening: McIntosh C220 tube preamp, McIntosh MC275 tube amp, McIntosh MCD301 SACD player, Martin Logan Spire electrostatic speakers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 27, 2017
Personally, I didn't like the song selection as much as with the last album I bought (Look of Love). That said, the title track & the last one are very nice. And of course, Diana's singing is amazing, as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2017
I bought it exclusively for the wonderful music of one song: "Why should I care"......but the rest is not too bad.
Ciao,
Franco
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2015
Almost every song seemed personal, as if she was that special lady who was mesmerizing me when I first discovered Diana K. They were so personal I started questioning who my new lady friend was. She actually favors Miss. Krall. So Diana Krall suddenly became an overnight favorite for myself. The combination of songs are magical, and very personal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 17, 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2017
SMOOTH AND SLINKY , FULL ON HER GENRE !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2017
Excellent album for a very good price. My Denon bluray player plays SACD discs, so I will be ordering even more online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 8, 2002
For those who find Krall's style too languid, take a listen to the jaunty "Devil May Care." Krall ignores the fact that jazz great Teri Thornton owned this Bob Dorough song in the 1960s and decides to take it on anyway. Hopscotching along with the staccato beat and defiant lyrics, Krall shrugs off her oh-so-cool persona with this song. "I Can't Give You Anything But Love" picks up this welcome new thread again later in the album.
Krall continues to show a gift for picking out songs which may not quite be standards and shows the world why they should be. On Leslie Bricusse's "When I Look in Your Eyes"--curiously, first sung by Rex Harrison to a seal in the great film version of "Dr. Doolittle"--Krall unleashes her lower register to very great effect. On first listening to this, I thought mistakenly that Krall had used a male guest singer in the beginning of the song. No, it's all her--and the darkness of her voice works astonishingly well to establish the pain and regret implicit in the song.
On "The Best Thing For You," Krall is a woman with her mind made up. Briskly, brooking no dissent, she tells her man what's what and does it beautifully--you can hear the smile in her voice. The album closes with the teasing, sultry Gershwin classic, "Do It Again" in which Krall indulges in a get-close-then-pull-away game with the listener.
Despite the usual overly sultry photographs of the ever-photogenic Krall plastered all over the place, this album goes a long way towards showing the world she's more than a sexpot babe with just an OK voice and a minor gift for piano-playing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2017
Great voice! Perfect way to start off a relaxing weekend morning while drinking my coffee and reading the paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2016
Love the voice and the music but,I wish they were a bit shorter. Like music that you can dance to with wonderful artists like Ms. Krall.... but don't want to dance a marathon. Thank you for the tunes though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here