Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
78
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on November 15, 2013
I wanted to give my nieces a piece of history and this is actually perfect. Cheney's story takes place during a tough time in American history where Washington barely saved the Army during a harsh winter and then marched his troops to two victories during the Christmas holidays. His men were freezing, they were hungry, and they left bloody footprints in the snow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
loved to read about are early american history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2017
A story that has been retold which portrays the reality of the obstacles & difficulties that Washington faced & successfully navigated by nature (God) being on his side, making the impossible achievable in the Revolutionary War! A great Read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
If you don't have a lot of time but want to be sure your kiddos are aware of the great history of this country, this is the perfect read to brief up on the story of just what those men went through during that cold, cold winter. Cheney does a great job of painting a mental picture, and the illustrations are great as well.

Read it yourself to be able to tell the story to your children or let your older children read it themselves. I'm guessing most 3rd-4th graders could read and understand it just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
Looked promising, but the text and the abstract concepts this book discusses are not at the right age level for a picture book at this reading level. I'm not sure who this book is FOR, but it won't work for early elementary kids looking to understand some of a complex subject at a more concrete level. This would be really nice to have if it were done well, because it's an important story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2015
THIS IA A GREAT BOOK, LYNNE DOES A GREAT JOB GETTING THE STORY OUT. I'M A FAN OF AMERICAN HISTORY AND CAN RARELY PASS UP AN HISTORICAL NOVEL, ESPECIALLY REVOLUNION AND CIVIL WAR STORIES. IF HISTORY BOOKS WERE WRITTEN AS STORY BOOKS, KIDS WOULD LOVE HISTORY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
No problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2015
I bought this to give away to a home schooled child. Any of Rush's books are better though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
Great book to teach children about the Father of our Country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
Amazing pictures inside!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse