Digital List Price: $4.99
Kindle Price: $1.99

Save $12.96 (87%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

When We Were Worthy by [Whalen, Marybeth Mayhew]
Kindle App Ad

When We Were Worthy Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 425 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$1.99

Length: 278 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Bones Don't Lie
"Bones Don't Lie" by Melinda Leigh
Learn more about this new book.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

A Liz and Lisa Best Book of the Month

“Evoking Emmy limited-series winner Big Little Lies, Whalen’s novel is about a Georgia town ripped apart when an outcast boy kills three cheerleaders in a car accident, bringing secrets and simmering tensions to the surface.” The Hollywood Reporter

“A fast-paced, heart-pounding story with secrets, tragedy, finger pointing and forgiveness. The characters are multifaceted and interesting: some are caring, some cunning, some are hard as stone, and others are unpredictable. Whalen is a talented author and she brings small town values and troubles to life in this novel.” —RT Book Reviews

“As events of the night are slowly uncovered, all four women’s stories become intertwined, all coming to an explosive finale. A story of small-town secrets and the women behind them, the story will keep readers guessing until the end.” The Parkersburg News and Sentinel

“Whalen (The Things We Wish Were True) delivers small-town anguish, anger, gossip, and heartbreak in this page-turner. For readers of Jodi Picoult and lovers of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies.” Library Journal

“A gripping, emotional read from an extremely talented author.” —Novel Gossip

When We Were Worthy is a startlingly clear look at life in a small town where the carefully crafted characters are neither heroes nor villains—they are simply real people wedged into an unimaginable situation. Heart-wrenching and vivid, this is a beautifully written novel about letting go and holding on, of family, of love, and, ultimately, of forgiveness.” —Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

When We Were Worthy is a poignant, haunting story of truths and secrets—the power of tragedy to unravel an entire community, and then stitch it back together—I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.” —Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

“Not everyone who lives in Worthy, Georgia lives up to the name. In When We Were Worthy, Marybeth Mayhew Whalen explores the spectrum of guilt and innocence in one small town after the tenuous connections between neighbors and friends are tested by a horrific accident. Told in alternating voices, this compulsively captivating novel weaves a tapestry of wrenching grief, love, anger, danger, and, eventually, hope.” —Ella Joy Olsen, author of Root, Petal, Thorn and Where the Sweet Bird Sings

“Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult—this is an author for your favorites shelf. Marybeth Mayhew Whalen’s taut, smart novel is a natural-born page-turner that doesn’t sacrifice depth of feeling or character. Whalen knows this town, these people, and she lays them open for us with razor-sharp insight, wit, and empathy. Don’t miss this one.” —Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Gods in Alabama and The Almost Sisters

“What do you do when your whole life is turned around, crushed, and destroyed? Do you rise above it? Do you seek revenge? Do you run away? Do you blame yourself? When We Were Worthy is a brilliant, gripping novel that challenges the fabric of who we think we are, a story that speaks to both the fragility and strength of the human spirit in the wake of tragedy. I highly, highly recommend this novel!” —Joy Callaway, author of The Fifth Avenue Artists Society and Secret Sisters

“In When We Were Worthy, Marybeth Mayhew Whalen expertly weaves a haunting story of a small town ripped apart by tragedy. Narrated by four women—each with unique ties to the victims of a terrible car crash—each revealing secrets and lies that will make you second-guess everyone and everything. Written with heart and a splash of southern spice, When We Were Worthy is both charming and powerful.” —Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, authors of The Good Widow

From the Publisher

Discussion Questions

1. How did the voices of the girls as they opened and closed the novel set or not set the tone of the story? In this brief glimpse of the three dead girls, do you feel you learn more about who they are? If so, how?

2. In her first chapter Darcy says of her ex-husband, “Tommy couldn’t rattle her anymore. He’d used all the tricks in his boring little playbook.” Is this true or not?

3. In her opening chapter, we learn that Ava had been “standing right in a sunspot that… rendered [her] invisible. She’d majored in English; she knew about metaphors.” How is this line part of her larger story?

4. In her opening, Marglyn tells her husband Hale, “Mary Claire doesn’t need me as much as Ginny does.” How is this true or not true?

5. When we first see Leah, she is watching the football players as they parade by and she recalls an incident where a girl tried to get them in trouble. “Leah could’ve told the girl that it was pointless to tattle on them. Those boys got away with everything.” How does this belief inform her actions in the story?

6. What would you have done if you were in Darcy’s place as Graham’s mother? Did she handle the situation as you would have?

7. How does Mary Claire appearing to Marglyn in her dreams help her through her grieving process? Have you ever heard of someone who has died appearing in a dream to a loved one? Do you find this creepy or comforting?

8. As Ava’s story was revealed, did you find her less despicable/more sympathetic? Why or why not?

9. Was the resolution of what happened to Leah satisfying to you? Was it realistic? How is this situation a commentary on our culture?

10. In your opinion, who is the hero of this story? Why?


Product details

  • File Size: 4368 KB
  • Print Length: 278 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1503941604
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (September 12, 2017)
  • Publication Date: September 12, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HBKAYN4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,440 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Sports Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

October 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 5, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
September 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 9, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

When We Were Worthy
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: When We Were Worthy