Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99

Save $11.01 (42%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Where the Crawdads Sing by [Delia Owens]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 52,432 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Length: 379 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29

“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”AARP 

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

About the Author

Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa. She holds a BS in Zoology from the University of Georgia and a PhD in Animal Behavior from the University of California at Davis. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
52,432 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on October 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
5,470 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
2,501 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
2,442 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,627 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
1,158 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,547 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,135 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018
Verified Purchase
895 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
641 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
163 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TripFiction
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant novel set in NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
78 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
79 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
countrygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Total claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
37 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wee Mo
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
36 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JamieM
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE how different this is
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
W. A. Burt
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick With It
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Viking
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Verse and Worse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Linda Pfeiffer
5.0 out of 5 stars So far my best choice for 2019
Reviewed in Canada on March 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
46 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tess1e
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
K. Probert-briggs
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly confused !
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SusieSS
1.0 out of 5 stars I stopped reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Monika McDonough
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read in the end.
Reviewed in Canada on February 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
36 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Julie
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a bestseller for me ...
Reviewed in Canada on September 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
30 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse