Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99

Save $11.01 (42%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time. Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Where the Crawdads Sing by [Owens, Delia]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 44,331 ratings

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Length: 379 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

An Amazon Book with Buzz: "House of Earth and Blood" by Sarah J. Maas
"Truly epic" - Laurell K. Hamilton Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

From the Publisher


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: Although this is Delia Owens’ first novel, she long ago distinguished herself as a gifted writer. In the mid-80s, Owens co-wrote with her husband Cry of the Kalahari, which was a best-selling, nonfictional account of traveling and researching Africa’s Kalahari Desert. One of the joys of that book was the Owens’ description of the natural world, and Where the Crawdads Sing is immersed in the natural world as well. The story is set in the 1950s and revolves around a young woman named Kya Clark, who is from extremely rural North Carolina. Known by others as the Marsh Girl, she lives alone in nature—but the draw of other people, and specifically love, brings her into contact with the greater world. This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told—one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. – Chris Schluep , Amazon Book Review

Review

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29

“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”AARP 

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Product details

  • File Size: 3829 KB
  • Print Length: 379 pages
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (August 14, 2018)
  • Publication Date: August 14, 2018
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B078GD3DRG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #36 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
44,331 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on October 28, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4,462 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
1,960 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2019
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
1,683 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
1,410 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
1,039 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
1,318 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
review image
950 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
815 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
243 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
53 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TripFiction
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant novel set in NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
34 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
25 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wee Mo
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
W. A. Burt
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick With It
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JamieM
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE how different this is
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 9, 2019
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Linda Pfeiffer
5.0 out of 5 stars So far my best choice for 2019
Reviewed in Canada on March 22, 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
31 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tess1e
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Monika McDonough
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read in the end.
Reviewed in Canada on February 9, 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Viking
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Verse and Worse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ralph Blumenau
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and moving book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 27, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Janet Scrivens
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous enigmatic experience.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 18, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Busy Bee
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written touching story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Terri Nixon
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 17, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse