Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Where the Heart Is
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 2, 2016
Shelley is a woman who grew up traveling the world and longed for a home of her own. Then she falls in love with Cain... a traveling man.

My favorite part of this book is how sweet Cain is with Shelley. Once he realizes that she's a good person, he shows he's interested. He falls in love with her before she even realizes how she feels about him. Both come from bad first marriages and find healing with each other. But Shelley has the most to get over and takes the longest to realize that she has a desire to travel as strong as Cain does. So much for being a homebody!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2016
It's an amazing corny romance. I remember reading it when I was 14, and absolutely loving it. Reading it as an adult is still good but a little different. I would recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2016
Can't believe Kindle charges 7.99 for. these Harlequin romances. Some of the reviews got me on this. Elizabeth Howell has some developed stories with actual plots instead of the trite phrased little romances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 8, 2016
A bit slow and too much repeating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2015
Great Read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2012
ONE OF ELIZABETHS LOWELLS BEST. A GREAT LOVE STORY. LOVED THE CAT NAMED NUDGE AND THE BOA NAMED SQUEEZE. I WOULD TAKE THAT LITTLE BOT ANYTIME. THEY SHOULD KICK HIS MOTHERT TO THE CURB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2013
Love all of Elizabeth Lowell's novels. Excellent writer. Makes it hard to put her books down until you are finished!!! :) <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2014
This was my first book by Elizabeth Lowell, which I borrowed from a friend years ago. Ever since, I have been searching for this book. I could neither remember the author's name nor the main characters' names. But I knew her name sounded close to Laurel (lol), and that it featured a 'gilded lily' shop and somehow I remembered the name 'Remington' _ it's weird how my brain works sometimes. I'm so glad I finally found it! This romance has made an impression on me from years ago, that I was never able to quite shake off, and I would catch myself thinking of it at odd times.It's a very mature read, not the soapy kind of romance that is sold everywhere these days. Truly a classic, wrought with emotion and heartfelt. It ranks among my top romance books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2017
Spicy and suspenseful, with some humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2003
Where the Heart Is - is a very sweet love story that is straightforward without game playing and deception. It is a contemporary romance about a man who meets a woman and realizes within 24 hours that she is the one woman he has looked for all his life. She is very taken with him as well but has certain reservations that make her want to keep him from getting too close. However, all of their interaction is genuine and mutual consideration, care, and honesty envelops each page. This is a story about two people - almost exclusively. It is a really romantic tale.
Cam Remington, a geologist, engineer, and owner of a resource company that does work world wide, is back in Los Angeles from his business travels when he meets Shelley Wilde. Shelley is a creator of temporary interior housing designs for the rich rental properties on the West Coast. In a refreshing departure from typical romance beginnings, Cam and Shelley meet in those first pages with the help of Cam's nephew, a lonely boy of 12, and his pet boa constrictor. Within those first few pages, Cam also has the opportunity to view the beauty of Shelley's best all time creation, her home. Cam is a man with extraordinary perception and senses Shelley's true nature as he observes her work, her home, and her interactions with his nephew and the boa.
In the beginning, Cam comes on strong sexually to Shelley. It doesn't take long for him to realize that he cannot proceed in that manner with her and hope to see her again. She is rather prim and proper compared to Cam and does not even consider casual sex as a possibility in her life. Basically, the outline of this story gives us a very mature and wise hero (despite his early come-on attempts) and a kind and gentle woman who has built a rigid life and home to protect her from the world. Cam is truly wiser and much more perceptive than Shelley. He identifies her deeper, true needs that she tries so hard to hide. His pursuit of their relationship and her slow opening to him are the heart of this story and there are many precious scenes to savor as their relationship develops.
This is a Lowell book that was previously published years ago as Traveling Man. She has re-written that book into Where the Heart Is. Although the new title is certainly descriptive of the entire intent of the lesson of this book, the term -traveling man - is used again and again and describes the biggest hurdle Cam must clear to have Shelley as he wants. She wants a home and has built her perfect home. After traveling her entire childhood all over the world with her parents, she desperately wants the pleasures of one home in one place - unchanging. Cam is a traveling man who believes home is with the one you love - wherever that may be - all over the world. Shelley unsuccessfully attempts to turn Cam away again and again because he is a traveling man. She doesn't want a husband who must continually travel. Cam recognizes her real reasons for pulling away from him and will not allow it. It is a tender story of pursuit and capture - all truly done in the name of love. There are a few sensual scenes that rate about a 3.0 out of 5.0 (see More About Me for rating guidelines).
Although this is not a book for my keeper shelf, it is a story I truly enjoyed. I read it easily within a day. It is only 336 pages long and although it tackles some very heavy issues in life, it is not nearly as deep as many other romance novels that I have read. But if you are looking for a feel-good light read, I highly recommend Where the Heart Is. You will love both the leads.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here