Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 331 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 535 reviews
on September 15, 2017
My friend recommended this book to me for some of the storytelling and the way it ties together. I started reading it out loud to my kids who protested and within two chapters were begging me not to stop reading. I even read ahead and finished it early, and I loved it so much! Seriously, the wonderful woven tales from Ba and the experiences of Minli, but it was the lesson that Ma learned that touched me the most. What a great message this story sends. Everyone should read this for themselves and for their children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
I just finished reading this book for a children's literature class and I thought for this purpose this book would be a great book to use. I would generally recommend the book for grades 3-5 as it is a bit more lengthy, but within reach for those students who are becoming more interested in reading. The book gives a very detailed journey of a young girl who sets out to change the fortune of her family. The book also contains a mystical aspect which is appealing in a classroom setting for a read aloud. As a college student I enjoyed the book and I believe it could be enjoyed at any age group really. There is also a variety of stories told within the novel, and the author even states at the end of the book that she embellishes some of these stories, but they are unique and detailed creating a good read throughout the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
Thank you Grace Lin for this beautiful story and book. I'm an adult but I have a never ending fascination with China so I read everything I can if it involves Chinas' amazing stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2017
As an adult, I've been studying Chinese philosophy as a hobby for awhile, what was surprising to me is how much this short children's fiction book encompasses. It was a nice lighthearted study. I can't comment on how children would respond to it, but it reads like a fairy tail, I think they could get it.

It is quite fanciful, but if you can set aside the confines of modern scientific thought, you'll enjoy the story. The story within a story is interesting. I plan to read the other books by Grace Lin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
Loved the stories interspersed in the plot. Strong female character whose not afraid of people or experiences that are different. Good values and a well-told story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
I chose this book for a book study for my fourth grade class and it is spectacular. It is very well written and has great plot development. Besides being a great kids' book, it is a great book that stands on its own. I really enjoyed reading this book for myself and plan to use it in instruction from now on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
This story was light, fun, and enjoyable -- and had a great moral! All of the events and characters were interwoven so nothing felt unnecessary or out-of-place. I can't speak for kids, since I don't have any, but my inner child really liked this book!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2012
In the book Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, by Grace Lin, the main character, a girl named Minli, decides to try to change the fortune of her very materially poor family. Minli, who is "not brown and dull like the rest of the village (2)," embarks upon a quest that takes her to many places. Along the way, she meets many new characters - some human, some not - and she becomes friends with most of them. Minli's quick mind, generosity, caring, and selflessness eventually take her all the way to the one she seeks: the Old Man of the Moon. With this book, Grace Lin has created an entire magical world as well as an enchanting piece of literature, one that definitely deserves to win the Massachusetts Children's Book Award. There are many reasons why this book is so award-worthy.

Mountain Meets the Moon is beautifully crafted and written. The language is filled with original similes based on Chinese culture, and the imagery that Ms. Lin creates is vivid and powerful. Long after putting the book down, readers will still remember the story. The book is constructed beautifully as well. What starts off as one story splits into at least two separate narratives that are carefully woven together and then seamlessly rejoined by the end of the book. Additionally, traditional Chinese tales and Chinese-inspired tales written by the author, form part of the narrative. Each one of these stories serves to further the main narrative, either by highlighting part of the main story, by filling in gaps, or by emphasizing the book's themes. It is obvious that this writer paid the utmost attention to detail as she was writing this book. Everything has a meaning, and just as the Old Man of the Moon is tying together various characters in the book, so too does the author tie together every little detail. The characters who inhabit this book are another reason that it should win an award. As the book plays out, we can see most of them grow and change, some more obviously than others. Perhaps the character of Ma undergoes the most dramatic change, from a bitter, complaining, ungrateful kvetch into a loving, generous, and appreciative parent, but Minli also changes. She is a quick thinker at first, almost impulsive, and always moving and thinking. By the end of the book, she is content to sit and admire the moon.

But the biggest reason that Where the Mountain Meets the Moon should win the Massachusetts Children's Book Award is because of its themes. We should all appreciate the important things we have in our lives - family, love, a home, enough. These are the things that make one truly wealthy -- not gold or jade. Minli's family has one another, and that is all that really matters. And when someone tries their very best to do something, that is important, too. Minli never gives up on her quest to find the Old Man of the Moon, no matter what the obstacles. Generosity is very important. Many good things come to Minli along the way because she is always helping others and not thinking first of herself. Finally, doing the right and selfless thing is often a reward in and of itself. Minli asks the Dragon's question instead of her own, because she finally realizes she doesn't need anything for herself. In the end, she is materially rewarded, but it is again because her family would not accept money for the Dragon's pearl.

Many books are fun to read, and many books are well written, but it is rare that a book has everything going for it. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, however, is such a book. It is both fun to read and incredibly well written, and its subject and themes teach us valuable and important lessons that we should take to heart. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon is one of the best books I've ever read. Not only is it award-worthy; reading it is like giving yourself a reward for being a reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2013
I purchased this book for a Summer Reading Club I am running with my tutoring students. This is book is charming, but also full of life lessons about wanting more and not settling for less. The main character is Minli, which means "quick thinking". Her mother says that too many times, Minli also means "quick acting". But bravery, courage, trust and adventure are more of the names I would give this character. The story line is "interrupted" by 16 Chinese stories or fables- but get to the end of the book, and you will be amazed at how deftly they are all connected. There is something in this story for children and many layers for adults too. This book definitely deserve to be a Newbery Finalist- and eventual Medalist.

The author has a wonderful website with activities related to this book. This is a great way to make connections with crafts and baking. One 11 year old fan created a board game of the book- talk about incentive to read! My rising 5th graders love this book and I suspect you will too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2012
If there is such a thing as High Art in young adult books, than Where the Mountain Meets the Moon is a great example of it. Rarely, has a book combined several plot lines and colorful artwork into a seamless whole that is definitely greater than the sum of its various parts. The story is deceptively simple and straight-forward. Minli lives with her parents in the shadow of the Fruitless Mountain. Their life is extremely hard, working the rice fields all day. Mud gets into their clothes, under their fingernails, and in every part of their house. The main breaks for Minli in this daily grind are the wonderful stories told by her father. One of the stories is about the Old Man of the Moon who takes care of "The Book of Fortune," which holds all of the knowledge of the world, past, present, and future. Her mother, however, thinks that the stories are fantasies that offer only foolishness in light of their hard life. One day a goldfish seller stops at Minli's village and sells her a goldfish who can talk. The fish tells Minli how to find the Old Man of the Moon who might be able to change Minli and her family's fortune. Thus, begins a quest story. Like any quest, Minli faces many obstacles and must find various objects that will help her when she finally finds the Old Man of the Moon. One of the beauties of the book is the way Minli finds help all along the way from a host of characters, including a dragon that cannot fly. Interwoven in the main quest plot line are side stories, which Grace Lin flawlessly brings together. By the end of the book, Minli, her mother, and the dragon are all transformed by their experiences during the quest. Moving. Uplifting. It is a story brimming with optimism about how helping others is the best way to help yourself, without devolving into sentimental mush. Even my hard to please daughter liked it. A must have for anyone at all interested in young adult literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here