Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 125 reviews
on March 22, 2012
The book Where Wizards stay up late: the Origins of the Internet by Katie Hafner and Matthew Lyon is, in my opinion, an eight out of ten. The book provides a deep, comprehensive story on how and why the Internet was created. It seems as though the authors were with the original creators of the Internet while this amazing process unfolded. I subtracted two out of ten points for a single but important reason. While reading, it is extremely easy to get lost in the complex computing and networking terms that are used, however, I quickly learned the "basics" and could enjoy the book. After reading this book, I was amazed of the difficulties that came about the creation of the Internet. One small bug in the code would completely flaw a system, and it was also amazing how these amazing scientists (and Psychologists!) overcame these problems. It is odd to think of a world without the Internet, and I could only imagine the chaos that would arise if the Internet were somehow lost, no matter how unbelievable that sounds. Thanks to reading this book, I now have an ample understanding of the amazing story of the creation of what could be the most influential technological advancement in history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
What would seem like a dull read except for nerds turns out to be a really well-written and interesting history of the beginnings of the internet. I loved finding out the reasons behind the use of the @ in email addresses and why internet-related things have the names they do. It's an eye-opening look at a time when the government began to understand the importance of a worldwide computer network and looked to private industry and academia to provide the expertise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
I could never imagine I would get I got from this book. It was simply amazing! One of best history books I've ever read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2017
Another great writer. You'll get hooked
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
Very interesting read, full of in-depth detail about the hardware, software, people and processes that went into building the ARPANET, the forerunner of today's internet. The first 80% of the book carried at a very steady pace, however the last 20% felt a bit rushed, brushing past most of the subsequent embellishments and growth of the net, and the epilogue which detailed the gathering many years later of most of the major players in the net's development felt quite impersonal and distant.

Overall, though, extremely interesting if you want to know the origins of the ARPANET.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
The pacing of the book matches the origins of the Internet itself. Slow and cumbersome to get going, but steadily picking up speed and ending strong. I've known some of the story for a long time, but this fills in a lot of gaps. As others say, there's always some nitpicking about how this or that "really" went down, but based on the research and interviews for this book, with the people who lived it, this is the way history will remember it. Very glad I dove into this, and stuck with it 'til the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2017
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2010
This book is great, nice storytelling and has such a great depth in historical facts. As a book that tells how the internet was invented it does an excellent job on building all the historical foundations (like the cold war, creation of NASA and the American space program) presenting them in such a nicely and ordered fashion that makes everything down to Earth. It's a blessing that shows how the world society influenced such radical changes into human communication and it's immediate impacts on the American society. The book goes the extra mile and provides how the inventors envision the future of the internet and what are it's challenges.

Who should buy it:
- Anyone who is passionate about technology
- Anyone that likes good adventure stories
- Anyone that studies history and wants to better understand the impacts and origins of the internet.

Who should not buy it:
- Anyone who hates American history/society
- Anyone who does not care about technology
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
explains how the invention internet required the genius of many people, but mostly Americans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2009
Where wizards stay up late is the definitive history of the development of the Internet from the scientific research network called ARPAnet. A convergence of coincidental discoveries by brilliant minds from various branches of science and math caused this phenomenon that we now use daily and take for granted. The fact that e-mail was initiated primarily from one of the computer geniuses in Los Angeles asking his buddy in London through a brief message to find and return his electric shaver is just one fascinating bit of trivia. I loaned my book to a regional Panasonic sales rep some years ago just after I began reading it. I never regretted the 'loan' and I can see why he wanted to keep it! But I had some time this summer to catch up on belated reading. The author, a noted print journalist, explains the history with wonder and admiration in layman's terms. The writing shows the humorous and human side of very serious and very intelligent engineers and technologists of the highest order. If you want a great story that is also true, read this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse