YED Save up to 90% on textbooks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 New Year, New You Valentines Day STEM Shop Popular Services nerdculture nerdculture nerdculture  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 59 reviews
on August 22, 2009
A good fun book for any overwhelmed students, (junior or senior high school) who can't seem to get anything done. Those who never have enough time or can never locate relevant items in timely fashion, perhaps they are chronically late submitting projects or homework, maybe they can't keep friends because they forget dates or events. A comforting book, in the sense that the student will realize they are not alone in the world with their problems. Most behaviours are text book and all have solutions. There is a way to make more time to meet friends, finish projects, get more sleep, "find stuff" easily, create space and so on.

This is a simple 95 page, hard back,spiral book is approx 8 x 9 inches and 1/2 inch thick, Rounded corners. In other words hard wearing, easy to tote and toss about. It is divided into four color coded sections, pages are glossy (easy to wipe off) Chapters have stiff card section dividers, tabbed and labeled for easy access. Amusing and brightly colored cartoon drawings capture the concepts well.

The first section (Lime Green) is "Getting Started" just 6 pages long. Large print easy to scan quickly. It consists of a quiz to identify four personality types A to D, and "organizing Quotient". This allows the person to identify their organizing profile by themselves. (Save a fortune on therapy)
2 paragraphs describe the nature of the personality, how to work with it and how to avoid the standard pitfalls.

A type personality is the Perfectionist, the "all or nothing type" who procrastinates.
B type: I have so much to do I am "going to bed - freaker outer"
C Type: "My life is so full it ovefloweth and drowneth me". Overloader.
D Type:" Highly ambitious yet somehow unproductive dreamer"

Section 2 (Red) (15 pages)explains "School stuff" everything from Backpack organization, making a home base, filing systems, memory sticks for computers and general logistics.

Section 3 (Turquoise Blue) (10 pages) is about "Time and activities" How to break things down into manageable chunks. Deal breakers, Dealing with deadlines, brain dumping, planners etc.

section 4 (Orange),(9pages). Making space, mapping, Doubt boxes, use or lose,prioritizing etc.
Back of the book has three card pages. 4 check lists and calendar.

The information in this book will help students get a handle on things, I found some good tips in it for myself, a perfectionist in her 50's!
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2012
This book was very disappointing. First of all, it reads like a longish article from Better Living magazine. Not a book in my book. Secondly it presumes that if you buy your child binders, dividers and neat stationery, color-code, label and alphabetize his/her stuff, he or she will magically become organized and successful at school. It's all about control and imposing one's personal sense of order to another person.

Try instead: The Crumbled Paper That Was Due Last Week to decipher underlying causes, and Organizing the Disorganized Child for the nitty gritty, i.e. specific strategies that move beyond indexed tabs as a value in themselves.

Also, try executive function in the classroom, by Kaufman. A fantastic book that addresses the underlying neuropsychological issues.
33 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2011
I bought this book for my teenager who is always losing things. It looked pretty good until I tried to find something via the index. Guess what? All the page numbers are off. Not only that, but the things that are supposed to be in the back are missing. Hard to have confidence in a disorganized organizational book.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2009
I only wish that this had been written even 5 years ago. The author definitely knows most teens don't like
books that are too wordy. It is concise with tabs, and does use a heavier grade paper for those with the tendency to toss books. Also, it is colorful and uses a bit of humor. I thought it was very well done by the publisher and authors.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2010
I bought this book so that my middle and high school students can find an organization technique that will work for them. This book offers options! It is not a one way for all people method. I look forward to seeing how well it works. As with any organization strategy consistency is the key.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2010
I've tutored for 30-some years and I'm always trying to find something clear, concise, and truly useful for kids who are disorganized. This is it! Great ideas, not too much on one page, and lots of clear illustrations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Our mid-teen says it's "a pretty okay book with mostly all good stuff in it". More, even though he's already more organized than his too cluttery mom, and too over-scheduled dad - we've noticed parts of the book he's implemented - in the same kind of way parents see their kids mature when they implement, realizing doing it right and doing it smart pays off in more ways than can be counted. Everything's presented fun, upbeat, logical and not talking 'down' to the age group. The flexibility is open-ended for varying family, activity, and lifestyle considerations: stay-at-home, on-the-go, high people traffic at home, more vehicle usage, more to carry or put away, keeping a focus before it's overwhelming. Lots of great age-appropriate skills that (husb and I agreed) are often absent in the 'soft skill' or 'people skill' sets among employees or other life involvements (store, library, church, beach, sports).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2008
This spiral bound book is a gift for our grandson. It is perfect for the teen who could use a little help organizing themselves at school as well as at home. I particularly like that is mentions teen on the front of the book so young people feel it is written with them in mind. Lots of good ideas that might click with a teen and ultimately prove to be beneficial without making a big deal of things.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
My child and I are working our way through this book. It's fun, filled with interesting quizzes, questions and helpful suggestions. It's laid out well with images, which makes it easier to comprehend and implement. We are working through it slowly in tandem with actually getting more organized and using it's suggestions. It covers a lot, not everything, but enough for now. There are some areas, also that are not applicable to us and I would like more versatility, but overall, we are enjoying a light-hearted approach to organization.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
My 14 year old son was always an excellent student. Lately he has been struggling because he is so disorganized he can't find his work or remember when it's due. The book gave him great ideas and empowered him to make positive changes in his work habits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse