Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Which Puppy? (Paula Wisem... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Book is in very good condition with only minimal wear. Pages are unmarked.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

Which Puppy? (Paula Wiseman Books) Hardcover – April 7, 2009

3.5 out of 5 stars 48 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$16.99
$0.61 $0.01

The Little Red Rescue Box (PAW Patrol) from Random House
"The Little Red Rescue Box" from Random House
Boys and girls will love this box of four board books starring the pups of Nickelodeon’s PAW Patrol! Learn more | See related books
$16.99 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Only 6 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Which Puppy? (Paula Wiseman Books)
  • +
  • My Mom Is Trying to Ruin My Life
Total price: $31.28
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Kate Feiffer is a writer, a filmmaker, and a mother. She is the author of the picture books No Go Sleep!; President Pennybaker; But I Wanted a Baby Brother!; The Wild, Wild Inside; Which Puppy?; My Mom Is Trying to Ruin My Life; and Double Pink; and of the middle-grade novels Signed by Zelda and The Problem with the Puddles. She lives with her family on Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts. Visit her at KateFeiffer.com.

Jules Feiffer has won a number of prizes for his cartoons, plays, and screenplays, including the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning. Among the books he’s illustrated for children are The Phantom Tollbooth, Some Things Are Scary, and in collaboration with his daughter Kate, Henry the Dog with No Tail, and No Go Sleep. He is the author and illustrator of Bark, George, I Lost My Bear, Meanwhile, and The Man in the Ceiling.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 4 - 8 years
  • Grade Level: Preschool - 3
  • Lexile Measure: 770L (What's this?)
  • Series: Paula Wiseman Books
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books; F First Edition edition (April 7, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416991476
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416991472
  • Product Dimensions: 10 x 0.4 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #878,927 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
When the president fulfills his campaign promise to get a puppy for his daughters, word is spread far and wide. Animals from across the globe want a chance to be the White House puppy. Contests begin...racing, barking, even hoop jumping. However, the winner has poor social skills and is eliminated. A lottery draws participants, but unfortunately it is rigged. So, the animals rely on an ancient custom which states that the "true puppy" will have two rings around one paw, a heart on its face, an eye that winks, and a tail that tells time. Of course no one animal has all three characteristics, so it is decided to let the two dogs and a guinea pig team up as a package deal. After arriving at the White House the trio are disappointed because the puppy has already been chosen. The book ends on a happy note since the girls notice the discouraged animals leaving and invite them to play with their new puppy.

This book is a wonderful book for children. It is not only meant to be read to children, but by children. Finding a book that a child can read on his own can be very challenging, but this book is perfect for the developing reader. The text offers a chance for children to read expressively since there are so many pages with dialogue. Teachers and parents may find Which Puppy? a great spring board to discuss current events on a level the child can understand.

My sister who is a teacher and tutor with a masters degree in education told me that after reading the book she intends to make it available to all her students, as according to her there are so few good books available for kids that bridge current events with reading development.
Read more ›
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
A Kid's Review on April 27, 2009
Format: Hardcover
I heard my daughter giggling as she read this book. Later I asked her what made her giggle - she said it was once sentence that had the word "lucky" about a zillion times. She also really enjoyed the drawings of the different dogs, and in particular enjoyed the part of the story where different animals were convinced that they too would make a fine puppy.

It's a great book for dog lovers and of course for fans of Sasha and Malia!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This is a cute and very well-timed book to take advantage of the national (and even international) interest in our new President and his family.

The illustrations are closer to watercolor than traditional cartoons and are well done. Each of the 30 pages features colorful illustrations and a few sentences of text. The sentences do not rhyme.

This would be a good book for young children who are aware of the Presidential daughters, Sasha and Malia. It could be an opportunity to introduce the very basics of our system of government (which are not covered in the book).

The story is okay but not destined to be a classic. I don't think interest in this book will outlast the interest in the Obama family.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I thought this would be a great book for children. I was disappointed. First, I thought the illustrations are not great. They are watercolors, but they are so sloppy that I think the children could have done a better job. The story itself was just ok. It tells of how the animal world was excited that the new President's family was looking for a puppy. Many animals tried out to be that puppy (even ones that weren't dogs). The animals had a race, then a contest, depending on which dog took charge. Finally they decide on certain characteristics that are necessary for the appropriate pet: 2 rings around 1 paw, a heart on its face, an eye that winks and a tail that tells time. So they send 3 animals to the White House - 2 puppies and a guinea pig - since they couldn't find 1 animal with all of those characteristics. The 3 animals show up at the White House and are let in. They find the Obama's in the reading room and Sasha and Malia are already playing with a puppy. The 3 animals despair and start to leave, but the girls invite them to stay to keep their puppy company.

After reading the story, I just felt that it was haphazardly written and rushed. I think it could have been much better.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
With the Feiffer gift for presenting the point of the matter without being pointed, Kate Feiffer's little book, apparently just about cute pets, deals with the very complex process of selection. Children will be in such contests all their lives, selection processes run by rules of competition, trickery, tradition, and group selection. Feiffer manages to cover all these with just a few words of text and even brings us to the ending we must all face at times: the contest is in vain, and another has already been chosen. So how do you deal with failure? You all play together "until no one could possibly play any longer."

Maybe this book should go into the adult section of my library.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This was really a cute story about the first family's search for a new dog. I have read it several times to my little one and he really enjoyed it. It got him talking about our own dog, and how we got him. It also sparks conversation about the first family and the President in general. It helped bring some civics lessons into our daily lives. The illustrations are well done - which is always important in children's books. Overall I would recommend this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Which Puppy? (Paula Wiseman Books)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Which Puppy? (Paula Wiseman Books)
Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: dog biscuit