Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 314 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 413 reviews
on July 19, 2011
This is a very impressive debut film for a director, and of course it's even more interesting because that director is Drew Barrymore (who also has a small supporting role in the film). The plot of the movie is very typical: girl's life is planned by parent/parents; girl rebels and finds own path; conflict with parent ensues; compromise occurs and then happy ending for everyone. The execution of this plot, however, and its handling of character development, is what really makes the movie enjoyable. In fact, I would say that in a few years it will probably be considered a cult classic.

Ellen Page is a very capable young actress. And although she is in danger of being typecast for her snarky attitude, her character in Whip It is not nearly as sardonic and cynical as it was in Juno, which is a pleasant change.

The rest of the characters are well-cast, too, but her rollerball team is largely comprised of charicature performances, since the movie isn't really long enough to let each girl have her own fully fleshed out character and story.

The first ten to fifteen minutes of the movie are a bit slow, but once it gets going it's a fun ride. The roller derby scenes are exciting and hilarious, and it's one of the only "sports" movies where I actually care about the character who is trying to win.

This is a rare movie that succeeds as a comedy, as a drama, and as a sports movie. I think mostly anyone younger than forty would appreciate its humour and message, and perhaps people from older generations would, as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
I LOVE this movie. Ellen Page is (Bliss) and Rocks as always in this movie. The Cast is perfectly placed in this movie, the Hurl Scouts are Smashley Simpson (Drew Barrymore), Rosa Sparks (Eve), and the Manson Sisters (Kristen Adolfi and Rachel Piplica), Maggie Mayhem (Kristen Wiig) with Iron Maven (Juliette Lewis) as Bliss's nemesis and topping it off (Jimmy Fallon) as Hot Tub Johnny.

Great Story line and plot... It's Funny... Emotional... most people will identify with one or more of the characters in this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
This movie doesn't pretend to be cutting edge or deep. It's exactly what you hope it will be. It wasn't until I read an article about how women in movies have less than a third of the speaking parts that I realized that this movie is exceptional in that it doesn't just show a female lead, it shows a largely female cast. Add that it's one of the few films with a female director, it's a miracle it exists. Kudos!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
Drew Barrymore's "Whip It' is both a coming of age movie and a sports movie; a music-filled teen comedy that meets a exploration of an little known activity (roller derby). Ellen Page is a fine as a high-schooler in a tiny Texas town, with a pageant-crazy mom (Marcia Gay Hayden), a star-in-the-making younger sister (blond of course), and a slightly distant, amiable, sports-loving father (Daniel Stern). On a trip to Austen, Texas she sees some local rollers, gets a flyer, and -- before you can say "slammer" -- digs her old Barbie-adorned skates out of a box. She tries out for a loser team (the Hurl Scouts), gets a spot, and begins to live. Every cliche from high school and sports movies shows up, but between Page's solid performance and Barrymore's expertise with the camera it all seems fresh and new and enjoyable. With Barrymore, Kristen Wiig and Juliette Lewis as other skaters, and Jimmy Fallon as the track announcer. The blu-ray is of excellent quality -- both in picture and sound.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
More than a bit hokey (sophomoric) acting and plot. Drew Barrymore was a director and had a minor part.
The movie is NOT innocent enough to show to young kids as this 17 year old girl (who looks it) and her new boyfriend take off most clothes during underwater scenes at night in the public swimming pool and leave the rest to ones imagination, duh.
I can not figure out who the intended audience was- perhaps Moms with teen daughters trying to find a way to discuss "relationships"?
There were some endearing scenes in what is clearly intended to be a "feel good" movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2017
I had no idea this film existed mainly since I swore off commercial TV and newspapers. Drew Barrymore did an awesome job as did Ellen Page, Juliette Lewis and Zoe Bell. I love this film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
This is a hands-down fun movie - you will laugh and cheer right along with Bliss. Ellen Page is, as usual, fantastic. I think it's a fairly unusual and down-to-earth Hollywood portrayal of a teenage girl. There is conflict with her family, but it's more realistic than in most movies, and I think it adds to the film in this instance. One scene that implies and some words that confirm extramarital sex, so not recommended for younger kids. But older teens should really identify and enjoy. The scenes with the roller girls are hilarious and just a visual joy to watch. Also, anyone from Austin will recognize several of the settings, so that's super fun! Catchy, fun, fast-paced, funny, a little rough-around-the-edges, but sweet at heart. A little like a roller girl??
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
As a roller derby athlete, this movie is one I should have had in my arsenal years ago. It's the movie that got me hooked to try out the sport. Is it completely accurate? No. Could someone become a jammer and get rostered within weeks of first joining? No. But I still love that there is media out there that is trying to capture this wonderful sport. If you want the most up-to-date idea of how derby is played, check out your local team! And no matter where you live - there IS a team within 30 minutes, guaranteed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
This movie is very much under the radar. Was a great movie and awesome to add to a collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
Why don't more people know about this movie? Snarky and adorable Ellen Page, Drew Barrymore at her best, Juliette Lewis as the ultimate 'mean girl'.... This is a coming-of-age kind of story that features roller derby!!!! I think people dismiss this flick because it's name sounds like a drug reference.... But there are no drugs at all in this movie. Our family loves Whip It- it's our go-to feel- good chic flick!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse