Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $9.00 (75%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Whispering Souls (The Maple Gap Series Book 3) by [Nuckols, Michael S.]
Kindle App Ad

The Whispering Souls (The Maple Gap Series Book 3) Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
Book 3 of 3 in The Maple Gap Series (3 Book Series)

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from

Length: 268 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From the Author

When I first considered the idea of a sequel to The Winter Calf, I realized that I had a dilemma.  Iris Littleton's sharp tongue and tragic story had jumped off the pages and into reader's imaginations. Like any sequel, I was terrified that I could not match the original tone and magic of the original. Most importantly, any sequel involving Iris could only occur after she loses Elias but before Henry Mayfield knocks on her door.

After going through the list of original characters in The Winter Calf, it became clear that only two had sufficiently unresolved stories to carry a new story.  Jerome was an obvious choice. His past deeds would haunt him in spite of the support of the Mayfield Family. A second character, Charles Funkhauser, had barely appeared on the page; yet, his story called to me. I knew that Jerome should meet his grandfather but found it too convenient and obvious of a plot choice. The story needed magic and ghosts whispering in the night.

In the Spring of 2015, I began writing Jerome's story using a rough outline that ended with Jerome meeting his grandfather. Yet, something was missing. Like the first novel, I intentionally featured a woodstove in the first chapter as a way to introduce the Blevins family. As I explored Jerome's fate in the next few chapters, Iris Littleton intruded again and again - a ghost from the past.  She simply would not be left alone. Frequent flashbacks between Iris and Charles quickly filled many pages. It was at that point that I realized I had two novels.I had already written half of The Whispering Souls when I put it aside to write more of Iris and Charles'story in what became The Wasted Grave.

The Wasted Grave surprised me - and my readers.  New characters emerged with their own eccentric backstories.  Iris became a little like Scarlett O'Hara, a woman with many suitors but too angry to make amends with her true love.Charles became a hero - but also a lost soul trying desperately to make things right. Harris and Basil further complicate Iris' life, pushing her towards her eventual fate as a hermit and her reputation as the mountain witch.

Once The Wasted Grave was published, I took a break to work on another novel (to be released next year)and gather my thoughts. Later that winter, I picked up Jerome's story as he meets Amanda in church. With the Maple Gap universe now expanded and Charles background fleshed out, I revised the original outline. Iris' tea and moonshine became integral to the new plot.

In writing the sequels, I did my best to maintain the original tone. In particular, readers can still interpret the magic in Maple Gap many ways. Did Iris conjure a snowstorm over a cup of tea? Do Charles and Amanda really hear voices - or are they schizophrenic? Is Ruth's accident a tragic coincidence - or murder? Do angels really call on the wind?

Both novels offer a universe ripe for expansion. As long as my readers demand more additions to the Maple Gap saga, I'll continue publishing them. Iris Littleton is sure to appear again.

About the Author

Michael S. Nuckols' first novel, "The Winter Calf", was inspired by his childhood in the hills of Virginia. The eerie story of a woman haunted by her lost son continues in the 2016 sequel, "The Wasted Grave". The third installment the Maple Gap Series is scheduled to be released in Summer 2016. "The Whispering Souls" will revisit the Mayfield family two years after the end of "The Winter Calf". Michael has published two stand-alone novels. "Frozen Highway" tells the contemporary story of a militia leader threatening a former soldier and her family in rural Alaska. Similarly, "The Last Buffalo Soldier" follows a war-hero fighting discrimination in the segregated South of the 1950s. He has also published several short stories. Michael currently lives on a farm with his spouse in northern New York and wakes every morning to a herd of Ayrshire dairy cattle. He has also lived in coastal Virginia, west-central Georgia, and, most recently, rural Alaska.

Product details

  • File Size: 2392 KB
  • Print Length: 268 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Noisy Goose Publishing; 1 edition (July 23, 2016)
  • Publication Date: July 23, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HX9D19W
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #420,468 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

June 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 17, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Whispering Souls (The Maple Gap Series Book 3)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Whispering Souls (The Maple Gap Series Book 3)