Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,635 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,844 reviews
on May 27, 2017
This movie was superb. It's beautiful and incredibly disheartening in the same breath; primarily this movie makes you aware of something horrid that really does exist- maybe even closer home than you would like to think as well. But by the end you will not be able to shake the feeling of immense hopelessness, not only for the protagonist, but also for the women who endure this tragedy. Additionally, you can taste the metallic sour that consumes you when truly disgusted, as you realize the people in power truly cannot be stopped- not even making people aware through international media can change the fate of those who fall victim to trafficking, or the fate of those with the power to do something about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
A sad and shocking story, that is apparently becoming all too common in todays world. It is absolutely heartbreaking, both the treatment of these young girls - as well as the lack of human compassion shown to them. Rachel Weisz does a wonderful job portraying her character as the 'Whistleblower'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2016
Rachel Weisz is one of the few stunning actresses who aren't getting by on looks alone. She is a perfectionist and a master at the acting craft. I am rarely disappointed by her acting renditions. She carries Whistleblower single-handedly, delivering a soul-searching performance that is so gripping and suspenseful that she gives victims of sex trafficking a voice all over again.

At times hard to watch, the women in this movie do not hold back. And Rachel is relentless in her search for a desperate girl named Raya to whom she made a promise that she may not be able to keep.

It is refreshing to see Monica Belluci. Her face-off with Weisz made me realise how much they resemble each other. Jeanette Hain as Raya's grieving mother brings forth a performance that is heartbreaking and earnest.

Great movies now are a needle in a haystack. I am grateful to fall on this discovery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2016
Very well done. This gives a realistic insight into the courage this woman had to stand up when she was surrounded by corruption. While it is a difficult subject to address the way in which it was done didn't trigger my own ptsd symptoms like other movies with sexual abuse scenes. Perhaps it is because I was prepared but from what I understand they toned down one scene after someone fainted in the screening of the movie. Overall the movie gives a look at the underbelly of war times and how the trafficking world can be. The officer's bravery and compassion of another male officer stand as an example of why it's so important to have people with empathy, integrity, and unwavering dedication to their field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
I thought the movie was very well done by all showing the atrocities these girls suffered at the hands of people who were there supposedly to protect them. To think the US did not punish the people involved is even more monstrous. So these people were paid by the US and other countries large sums of money to bring law and order to this already fragile country and instead they created more unrest with their greedy and selfish behavior. This film brings to light just what people will do for a buck and it is sickening!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
This was a very good movie but hard to watch. The situation that Rachel W was put in was awful with no path to justice. Too much graphic sexual situations for under 17 but a story that needed to be told. We should be ashamed of ourselves for not correcting the injustices revealed in this movie. Awesome job by Rachel Weisz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Human trafficking is real. It cost great anguished, miseries, sufferings and even death to countless innocent lives! This movie showed the evilness of this crime against humanity. It must stop! I think this is Rachel Weisz best movie! I would recommend this movie to all who want a glimpse or truth about human trafficking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2017
This is an excellent movie, but it's beyond belief that people can treat others in such degrading ways. What's even worse is, in this case the United Nations was complicit in covering up Human Trafficking. This makes my blood boil. I wise I could find a group of good sold people to start a private task force and stop this kind of thing, anywhere and everywhere. The powers to be won't do anything BECAUSE THEY'RE INVOLVED up to their eyeballs. This is a sad movie, and a very sad commentary on the extent of EVIL in this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
An important film dealing with the subject of sex trafficking. Not for the faint of heart. The fact that this movie is based in fact reminds us of how easily humans objectify others when they decide some group is something less than human. As a global society we are more concerned about ill treatment of animals than humans.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
Good entertainment. A lot goes on in this world and this movie is a good portrayal of the horrors of human trafficking and the decent people trying to end it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse