Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



on May 28, 2017
simply the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
Very very very entertaining, and insightful. Great author, well done book with easy to read content. This one is a must have. Interesting and at times hilarious. Get the book, it's great fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2016
Fairly interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
Product as described , arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2009
White House Confidential: Revised and Expanded Edition
An interesting, informative, and humerous book about the goings-on in and around the White House.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2008
What mnore can I say. It was very disorganized reading for me....I just didn't enjoy it. I have been looking for a good book on the Presidents and their wives but this wasn't among them for sure......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 15, 2008
So you really think that our early Presidents were moral, upright, hardworking individuals compared to what we have these days? Think again... White House Confidential: Revised and Expanded Edition by Gregg Stebben and Austin Hill is a great look at the less-than-savory side of all our Presidents, from George W(ashington) to George W (Bush). It's definitely one of the more entertaining reads I've had of late.

Contents:
A Couple of Small Disclaimers; Weird Family Values!; Sex!; Scandal!; Impeachment!; Fights!; Money!; Prophecy!; Death!; Goofballs!; Veeps!; Executive Privilege(s)!; Take This Job and Shove It!; Conclusion; Appendix A - What's In A Name?; Appendix B - Presidential Firsts; Appendix C - The George Washington Conspiracy; Acknowledgements

Stebben and Hill have collected and compiled a large number of interesting (and sometimes disturbing) factoids about the men who have held the highest office in our land. Categorized in the broad areas outlined in the table of contents, you learn that just about every President from the first to the last has had to deal with corruption, quirky behavior, and sexual scandal. We definitely don't hold a patent on that behavior in the last couple of terms of office. For instance, Alexander Hamilton was blackmailed by a mistress and her husband to keep quiet about an on-going affair. He often had to borrow the money to keep it all hush-hush. Aaron Burr, Jefferson's vice president, was allowed to get away with murder when he killed Hamilton in a duel. Warren Harding had two mistresses and an illegitimate daughter by one of them. And one of the mistresses was the wife of one of his good friends. Makes Clinton look tame... And Kennedy? He apparently had hundreds of extra-marital trysts throughout his short presidency. Given today's media glare, I doubt he would be electable with that baggage were he trying for the office of President now. Why would someone want to be President? You'll find out that quite a few of the "lucky" Presidents were more than happy to give up the job at the end. And if you *really* want to challenge history, find out if George Washington was actually our first President...

I started reading this book last night and had a hard time putting it down. I was able to finish it today with some commute reading, lunchtime reading, and a bit to finish it up in the evening. If you're at all interested in history or politics, this fun read will have you reexamining your view of the office of President and the people who held it. Everyone is human, and some are much more human than others...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2007
Reviewed by Cherie Fisher for Reader Views (3/07)

I always thought that politics and politicians were in a downhill spiral when compared to the good ole days. Well, that is definitely not the case. According to "White House Confidential" this has been going on for centuries! The authors Stebben and Hill give us a book uncovering lies, secrets and more lies and secrets that have been going on in the government since the beginning. I was fascinated from beginning to end.

Oh, the scandal of it all! If you think the Bill and Monica saga were the first sex scandal to hit the White House, think again. Who were the President and First Lady who moved their mistresses, oops, I meant friends, into the White House? Franklin Delano Roosevelt moved Missy LeHand (from the secretarial pool) into the White House. And his wife Eleanor moved her favorite friend nicknamed "Hick" into the White House. Hick turned out to be a woman named Lorena Hickok. The authors uncovered a note sent from Eleanor to Hick in 1933 "Good-night, dear one. I want to put my arms around you and kiss you at the corner of your mouth. And in a little more than a week now - I shall." Hmmm.....not the usual note one would write to a friend. Oh, and then there is my other favorite tidbit. Which President and Vice President (from different administrations) were so inseparable they were nicknamed "Miss Nancy and Aunt Fancy?" It seems that the White House may have already had a gay president. And that is just the tip of the iceberg on what has been going on in the White House for the past couple hundred of years. The chapter also includes a list of all Presidents including who cheated, and who did not.

The book goes on to include chapters on impeachment, worst presidents, death in office and "Tricky Dick" Nixon; the Kennedy's almost needed their own chapter. If you thought that the Nixon administration was corrupt then how about this. The authors write "How bad could it get, you ask?" James Buchanan's administration was so corrupt that given the chance to buy Cuba for only thirty million dollars, Congress voted to pass on the deal because there was a collective fear that Buchanan and his cronies would somehow abscond with the money."

The quotes throughout the book are priceless. The chapter on "The VEEP's" had some of my favorites: "Once upon a time there was a farmer who had two sons. One of them ran off to sea. The other was elected vice president of the United States. Nothing was ever heard of either of them again." Thomas Marshall, V.P. under Woodrow Wilson and the best "You die, I fly" George H. W. Bush V.P. under Ronald Reagan.

"White House Confidential" is fun and very informative. I highly recommend it to people who enjoy politics. It will definitely give them something to talk about for a long time.

Book received free of charge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2006
Do you think the political scene is bad today? Or do you think it's just fine and people are making something out of nothing. Get a little perspective here. I received this book as a gift from a family member whose views are often at the opposite end of the political spectrum from mine. I opened it with equal curiosity and reservation. Within two minutes my reservations were gone. The authors quickly reveal with glee facts, possible fictions (so noted), and rumors we have forgotten, overlooked or never heard of. They go on to uncover more lies, secrets and hedges than all the country's special commissions combined - and in far fewer pages. Although they don't start at the beginning, they do cover the beginning, the very beginning, such as who the several President's prior to George Washington were and they goon to tales about the current inhabitant of the White House, in their uniquely round-about direct way. Once I started reading I couldn't stop. Does it make the current political climate any more acceptable? Well, not really, but it will take your mind off it for a while, give you a different perspective, undoubtedly teach you a number of things you never imagined and it'll be fun. Well written, never boring. No dust on this one.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here