Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Moonlight Moonlight Moonlight  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 840 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,538 reviews
on April 8, 2017
This first season of "Whitechapel" commences a decidedly dark and stylish British detective drama from BBC America, depicting modern-day Jack-the-Ripper copycat murders. As is the case with most BBC America programming, "Whitechapel" is intelligent, intriguing, and suspenseful. The writing, the sets, and the acting are all superb. In addition, the concomitant interpersonal drama between the inexperienced command detective, and his hardened veteran investigators, makes for an interesting dynamic for the viewers of this excellent series. "Whitechapel, Season 1" is an outstanding BBC America detective procedural, and it merits a five-star rating, along with a strong recommendation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
As British police dramas go, Whitechapel is average. The first season revolves around a serial killer who is reacting the murders of Jack the Ripper. The hero is an inexperienced police officer who has been fast tracked for promotion. If he catches the killer his will look good. If not, then he is off the fast track. His superiors are an ugly bunch of elitists and his colleagues are slackers who don't give him respect (at least initially). He suffers from OCD and has little experience with violent crime. After the first episode, this all becomes predictable and boring. I'm now watching the second season. It seems to have more promise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 4, 2014
Whitechapel runs red in a series of murders of women. Newly promoted Detective Inspector Chandler, tall, handsome and untried must prove to the men in his division that he has what it takes and is not simply an expert in three day courses and police politics, i.e. boot-licking.The members of his division sneer at him at first as he successfully orders them to wear neckties, put their trash in bins and tidy up their office and take a shower now and then. Slovenly policemen do not get respect. Chandler's chief opponent is Sergeant Inspector Miles, who is the proverbial hard-boiled cynical detective. The men obey Chandler, they have to but their grumbles subside as they see their new boss develop into a leader commanding their respect. They clean up their office, don neckties, albeit garish ones,put their trash in bins, stop belching and chewing gum and lolling on desks.

A Ripperologist warns that a copycat Ripper is on the lose who will one by one imitate the ghastly mutilations of 1888. Edward Buchan, the Ripper enthusiast, conducts Ripper tours and Chandler joins one of them.Buchan predicts where the killer will strike next, the officers go to that area, lounge around all night and then they hear a terrible scream....

Not only are the distinct and interesting characters beautifully played but the camera crew create absolutely fantastic scenes, sometimes garish, sometimes shimmering like a mirage, sometimes lunging back and forth to portray tension, brilliant color suddenly giving way to immensely moody and terrifying thready darkness where you think you see something awful. (You do). The camera hones in on the faces, too, so close the emotions are vividly portrayed, almost in slow motion. The camera loves Chandler's beautiful hands, moving in often on his restless fingers, hands that could grace a violin.

“Whitechapel” is exciting, taut and fast-moving yet strangely intimate with sharp stabs of gallows humor to alleviate the tenseness of a murder scene. It is a classy production, breathtakingly origina
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2017
We LOVE this series! My husband is a history buff, and I am a British crime show junkie, and this series may be our absolute favorite. As the seasons progress, the characters and their interactions grow more interesting and campy (how can you not love Miles?). It was with great sadness that we reached the end of series 4. Now, really, how could ITV cancel the series at this critical juncture?! It feels like we missed the deadline to protest and call for a season 5, but we sure hope we can have a little resolution! Amazon, you've got some funds...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
Whitechapel is great! The murders keep you guessing until they solve them. I like all the characters in the police department.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
A nice blend of characters and story line, so that my enjoyment was not dependent on one over the other. An intriguing premise, A Jack the Ripper copycat is at work in modern day London. As with many new shows or movies, being introduced to the characters is much of the fun. I'll be interested to see how the producers sustain and expand the characters going forward. Three episodes for the first season felt about right. They could have stretched it to four, but I think the pacing would have suffered. Events move along in rapid enough order so that it never felt slow or dry. I'm looking forward to season two. This has been a pleasant discovery on Amazon Prime as I was not familiar with this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
I really liked this season but I also felt it was a bit predictable in its storyline. However I have always loved a good mystery involving Jack the Ripper so I couldn't resist this one. I would definitely recommend this show to anyone who is a fan of copy cat crimes, crime dramas, or a good mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
It's hard to review four seasons at once, especially since the ending of Season 4 left so many loose ends. Clearly, they expected to be back and I wish they had been.
A more dysfunctional group of coppers I've never seen, but somehow you believe they can get the job done.
The shooting style is a copy of the style used by the Cohn Bros for "From Hell" and was totally appropriate for the ripper themed first season. As time passed, all that rapid cutting, red lighting and out of focus visuals began to pal somewhat, but I still want to know who or what that little old lady Ivers really is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
Great cast...interesting stories...to bad they didn't make more than one season....
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
I wasn't sure what to expect from this series, but I was specifically in the mood for British crime drama. What I found was great performances and crackling dialogue. The mystery itself is compelling - someone in modern day London is copying Jack the Ripper's killings. What really makes this series great, though, is the relationships that develop between the characters, who are very well-rounded, real people. Even the minor characters seem like real human beings. The rapport between Chandler (Rupert Penry-Jones) and Miles (Phil Davis) is hard won but well worth it, as their interactions are both humorous and sometimes very moving. The series is actually very dark, but has moments of hilarity where the drama and tension lighten and this gives it good balance. Once the (only three!) episodes were finished, I was delighted to find that there were an additional two seasons to enjoy. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here