Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 142 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 262 reviews
on December 27, 2014
If you love Wicked, the musical, then you will love this book, which is full of behind the scenes info and gorgeous photos of the actors and the sets. The Grimmerie explains how the original book by Gregory Maguire became a phenomenal musical. It is not the story that is told in the musical. You can buy a book called Wicked, The Broadway Musical by Winnie Holzman with the story told in the musical.

If you want to read the story of Wicked, I highly recommend Ms. Holzman's book over the original story by Mr. Maguire. I do not have anything against Mr. Maguire personally. His story is quite imaginative, possibly even brilliant, and has the same very interesting themes as those portrayed in the musical. Mr. Maguire's story is just too dark, too pornographic and too depressing for me. I prefer the much happier ending of the play. I know that life does not always have a happy ending but that is precisely why I like my fantasy to end in a cheery way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
"Wicked: The Grimmerie" offers a behind-the-scenes story of the Broadway musical from Gregory Maguire's 1995 novel, "Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West", to the adoration the play eventually garnered from fans. "The Grimmerie" explores casting choices, the difficulties in translating the characters' backstories to the stage and the challenges in creating the ideal songs to express this, the writers' struggles with how faithful they needed to be to the novel while still telling a good story, the creation of sets, costumes, make-up, and lighting, and more. The book also helps to set the musical within the context of other adaptations of Baum's novels, explaining what elements from the books made it in to the play. Fans of Oz, Maguire's novels, or the musical will delight in this behind-the-scenes book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
Awesome read. I was privileged to be ablee go work the Wicked tour when they came to my city and I completely fell in love with the play. I read a little of this book every chance that I got while on my break and decided that I had to have one. The condition was excellent and the book seemed to be untouched. I received it earlier than expected and was so happy to be able to start reading where I had left off. This book is amazing and it's filled with great information and heartwarming letters from fans. A must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
A great book if you loved the musical! Details the story of writing, producing, casting the original Broadway production. Fascinating read, all the work involved is daunting. Enjoy the personal bits from the cast. The same book is $50 elsewhere , so a great buy, as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2016
Love this Grimmerie. An amazing behind the scenes look at Wicked. This book takes you from the very first ideas behind Wicked, all the way to having the show on Broadway. A very colorful and fun look at Wicked, in a way that you have never seen if before. When we went and saw Wicked in our local theater during a tour, I regretted not buying the Grimmerie, so was very happy to find it on Amazon at a great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
I thoroughly have enjoyed this companion guide to wicked the musical, its filled with beautiful pictures. Synopsis' of the characters, music sheets with the lyrics and really interesting info. on the behind the scenes looks of how things operate during the performances. Fun and interesting and a must for all Wicked fans :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2017
I got this book on sale for $20 for my girlfriend to give her for her birthday along side a pair of tickets for the Broadway show. When I gave it to her she thought it was a cool concept but at first was much more excited about the tickets. Once we got those aside and started looking at the book, it had thick pages with beautiful pictures and facts about the show. We spent half an hour with the whole family around us looking through this book. Overall, it was a phenomenal book and I would recommend it to anyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
A must read for anyone who loves Wicked. he does a great job with musical theatre books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
Wicked: The Grimmerie is the perfect companion to watching the Broadway show or to help you learn about the musical after reading the book. It is printed beautifully, all high quality pages. The cast and crew shown in the book are all from the original run. (Kristen Chenoweth is Galinda and Idina Menzel is Elphaba.) The book gives insight in to how the musical came to be, what goes in to making every show, and much more. I highly recommend this book to any Wicked fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
If you are or have a Wicked fan in your circle, this is fabulous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse