Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 124 reviews
on February 23, 2017
what can i say, i've always like woody allen. i can only guess at what he is trying to say. maybe that people are still looking for love, while the age old institution of marriage is currently, in its present incantation, failing us all. it used to be "till death do us part." there were bad marriages and good marriages. but in this film, we don't see any marriages that are fulfilling or growing in a healthy way. life is tough because we are alone. and marriage is not the binding propelling force that it used to be. but then again, i never actually spoke to woody, so what do i know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
You will like You will meet a Tall Dark Stranger.

The acting is superb. It is a grown up film about grown ups making bad choices and having to live with them.

This is much, much, better than what the Critics say. It is a light, romantic, comedy.

I had to find out who Lucy Punch is and, I admit, was surprised that this female who played "Charmaine" in this movie grew up attending private schools. She steals every scene.

Every actor in this movie made you think their characters were real and that's another reason I really liked this movie. There was not an awkward performance anywhere.

I bought this DVD used, listed as Like-New, and it was. It was a bargain.

I will watch this movie again. I really did like it and I would lend it or recommend it to friends ... That's how much I liked it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 1, 2011
I found some of the comments that "Tall Dark Stranger" was about 'absolutely nothing' ironic, because the voiceover at the beginning of the film, quoting "Macbeth," informs viewers exactly of what they are going to see: a story "full of sound and fury, signifying nothing!"

As usual, Allen has assembled an outstanding cast, including Gemma Jones, Naomi Watts, Anthony Hopkins, and Antonio Banderas. Jones is especially endearing as Hopkins' neurotic ex-wife and the mother of the equally neurotic Watts. Josh Brolin plays Watts's rather obnoxious husband, who is attracted to Freida Pinto, charming as the lady in red, who inhabits the window of his dreams in the flat across the courtyard. Lucy Punch is convincingly downmarket as Hopkins' enticing squeeze, and Banderas plays Watts's plausible (if dodgy) boss with panache. Allen emphasises the hopes and aspirations of his characters effectively with his lush but intimate musical score, which includes pop, jazz, opera, chamber (Mozart) and classical guitar (Boccherini). The scrumptious London settings provide a perfect background for his characters, and make the film a very enjoyable place for the viewer to while away a couple of hours.

One of the things I love about Woody Allen's films is their unpredictability. Even though they hold recurrent themes, no two are exactly alike. They always contain surprises that delight, if one accepts them on their own terms. "Tall Dark Stranger" is a celebration of life in all its randomness and unpredictability. It is about the grass always seeming greener elsewhere; about possibility; about hope, that last spirit remaining in Pandora's box. In other words, it is about each one of us living our separate lives, which sometimes touch one another, and then, unexpectedly, move off in random directions.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
Woody Allen is at his best when he is using his films to make some point. Normally they are very insightfull points that are quite true and easy to agree with. That's why this one is one of his best, it has a lot to say but not in a preachy way, but in a very entertaining, easy to watch way. Espeacially good are the performances, every actor makes their character seem real.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2013
Typical Allen fare of romantic musical chairs, middle-aged angst, emotional melancholia, and unrequited love all made palatable by his wry wit and signature use of irony. If you like Allen's serio-comic romantic work like HANNAH AND HER SISTERS, you'll like this film. Always nice to see the underutilized and underappreciated Gemma Jones again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2017
I enjoy Woody Allen movies this is a film about people's perception of life and that the rational people are not always the most happiest people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2017
Wasn't really crazy about this Woody Allen film. As usual the production design was good and the film was predictable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Another Woody classic; lighthearted on the surface and genuinely funny and entertaining, with the usual fascinating themes of faith, luck, loss, reversals, and mortality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2017
THE ACTORS ARE FAMOUS AND LIVE UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS OF THEM. THE STORY IS TYPICAL WOODY ALLEN AND VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse