Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 10 reviews
on April 17, 2017
Great book, with many innovative thoughts on faith and its future. However, the "faith" in this context is the "belief" and also in the "religion."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
Of all of Groome's writings, I find this one to be the most difficult and least engaging. (Consider that statement in light that Groome's writing were part of my dissertation, where I treat him as an educational philosopher.) It appears he is attempting to re-establish himself as a preeminent voice in revising Roman Catholic catechism(s), so this the focus feels more forced: rather than a reflection on the future of Christian Religious Education, it comes across as presumptive authority defending normative standards. Worthwhile for someone trying to map the span of Groome's thinking, but not an extension of previous theory & praxis.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
I read Groome's Christian Religious Education while in seminary (the only text written by a Catholic included in my reading list for my basic course in religious education), and was intrigued to see how his perspective changed over the last thirty years. Both volumes provide theologically and pedagogically sound understandings of the enterprise known as religious education. Additionally, both offer import contributions to the conversation, especially with regard to the "how" one engages in the shared praxis. Note how the "how to" component shifts (and remains the same) between 1980 and 2011:

THEN
First Movement: Naming Present Action
Second Movement: The Participants' Stories and Visions
Third Movement: The Christian Story and Vision
Fourth Movement: Dialectal Hermeneutic Between the Story and Participants' Stories
Fifth Movement: Dialectal Hermeneutic Between the Vision and Participants' Visions

NOW
Focusing Act (FA): Engage people with a real life or faith theme.
Life
M1 (Movement 1): Have people respond to the theme as it pertains to their lives.
M2: Encourage them to reflect critically on the theme in conversation together
Faith
M3: Share the Story and Vision of Christian faith in ways pertinent to the theme and meaningful for this group, context and occasion.
Life
M4: Encourage participants to appropriate and integrate Christian faith with life.
M5: Invite people to make a decision - cognitive, affective, or behavioral in response to the whole process (p.299-300).

Will There Be Faith? is an important contribution to the current discussion. While the "how to" component underwent more updating in language than process, the earlier portions of the new text include more substantive revision (and the inclusion of considerable amounts of new material). For those in the profession of religious education, it is a helpful read. The addition of numerous "For Reflection and Conversation" questions helps readers apply it to their understanding and context, while also making the book (as a whole or in part) useful for leadership teams/committees/bodies responsible for Christian religious education (parish, school, etc.).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
Groome makes a great argument for faith formation, but takes a long time to make it. His approach is simple yet life changing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
As a retired Director of Religious Education, I see this book as a must-read for every teacher, director, and parent. It is well written and easy to read and follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
As a Confimration catechist, I've been trying to improve my "game" in the classroom. A priest in our parish mentioned Groome and his praxis approach, but I really didn't get it in his first introduction, so I decided to get Groome's most resent book. It finally started to make sense around chapter 8! Now I need to go back and read again. As I go back and listen to excellent Catholic speakers, I can recognize the pattern and make sense out of how I can apply it now! I highly recommend the book - but you have to take time and read more than once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse