Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Country Heat GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Windows 8 Bible
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 2, 2013
This book, particularly in its earler chapters, explains in a very practical way how Windows 8 OS differs from other previous Windows' OS systems. Windows 8 integrates ARM platform. This feature is made to access home-electric appliances like TV, fridge and others for device control thru computer systems. This implies that one can control such appliances from his/her office or a place far from his/her house as long as one has a computer whether it's a tablet, notebook or laptop and even cell phone.

One thing which Windows 8 makes me feel missing is lack of icons.Windows 8 adopts the tiles instead of previous Icons.Maybe the tiles are more conspicuous and demonstrative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2012
A well written, easy to read with good explanations, relevant pictures & instructions.

This excerpt fully explains who this book is for, and maybe should be included in the book description -

"This book is for the computer user. The people who just want to use their computer to have some fun & get some things done. It might seem like an awfully big book for such an audience. The only reason it's such a big book is that there are so many things you can do with Windows 8"

And as such is good for the home user. However computer books titled 'Bible', are (or used to be!)usually very comprehensive, in depth, jammed packed 'tech' stuff, ideal for techies who are the types who generally look for titles with word "Bible".... So I've marked down my review primarily on that basis, maybe Windows 8 User Guide might be a better name..

However it does cover all that one needs to know to get up & running with Windows 8 & it's various apps, applications & processes. Despite it's thickness it's generally not hard to read & an experienced user could skim through to find interested topics & bits missed when playing around with the metro interface.

I'd recommend it to it's target audience, however more experienced users might prefer a more concise book eg. something like Windows® 8 Administration Pocket Consultant
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2013
This is quite the comprehensive tome on Windows 8. Checking in at over 1000 pages, it is in-depth to say the least. The book is divided into ten sections, fifty-two chapters, and four appendixes. Do you need to know something about Windows 8? It's probably covered somewhere in here. I like the fact that the book is divided in sections and further divided into many chapters. This book covers all the basic operating principles you need to know to use Windows 8, so you might find (if you are already experienced with Windows 7 or Vista) that the book covers information you already are familiar with. Having the book broken down into so many chapters allows you to skip any material you already know - that's nice. It also allows you to jump to the section or chapter that you may need help on allowing the book to be used for reference - you don't have to read it cover to cover. To aid in finding something quickly, there is a table of contents summary of just two pages, and, following this, is a 26-page table of contents broken down into individual tasks. So you can quickly find the section or chapter in the first table, then use the second table to narrow down your search. This is great, but it doesn't beat having a searchable PDF of the book that could be downloaded.

So what is covered? In a nutshell, the interface and using the tiles, gestures, security, personalization, management, the cloud, pictures, music, movies, files and folders, searching, printing, faxing, scanning, installing/removing programs, hardware, performance, troubleshooting, networking - everything you need to know to get the most out of Windows 8. Use Amazon's "Look Inside" feature to check the table of contents for a good idea of what's covered. This book is designed for a primary user of the operating system. If you are an IT professional or looking for a more technical discussion of Windows 8 for, let's say, supporting Windows in an office or company environment, you may want to try a book geared for that scenario.

I have uncovered, however, a number of problems, mostly minor. On page 111, they discuss creating a password reset disk, but failed to mention that you can't do this with a Microsoft Live account. If you have a Live Account, you must do this on your account page on the Web. You need a local account to setup a password reset disk. On page 113 they show how to add the built-in admin account to the login screen. It involves going to Local Users and Groups - this is not present in the home version of Windows 8. On page 114, they mention using Local Security Policy; this requires Windows Pro version. It would have been nice if an icon were displayed in the margin indicating an item requiring the professional version so uses don't go looking for something that's not there. On page 179, when discussing Windows Firewall, they mention the Windows Security Center. This was replaced by the Action Center back in Windows 7. On page 212, the Data Used for Tile Updates drop-down is mentioned in the Tiles section on the Settings menu; it was not present on my Home version. On page 349, the Remote Desktop app is discussed, but it was not present on my home version; however, you can download it from the app store. On page 1035, to accessed Shared Folders, they tell you to click Start, then right-click computer and choose Manage - this is the Windows 7 method as there is no Start button in Windows 8. In all fairness, in a book that is this comprehensive and due to changes that could occur to the OS by Microsoft over time via updates, you can expect some issues. I listed these things for you benefit, but it does not detract from the value of the book.

If you are looking for a comprehensive book to learn Window 8, or just need a reference, I would definitely recommend this volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2012
The Windows 8 Bible is a worthwhile book written in the style of cover every detail
from stem-to-stern. The book assumes that the reader has little knowledge of Windows
history or experience. The book would be improved for experienced users if the authors
focused more on the new features of Windows 8 and how it is better than Windows 7.
Still, I found that the purchase was worth it. I added "Classic Shell" to my installations
of Windows 8 (free from the Internet) which gave me back the Start button and the
result now is that I have a much faster Windows 7-like OS.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2015
Aside from being as big as a bible it was a great primer when 8 came out to get me prepped for supporting Windows 8. This was teh best of these types of books I have bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 16, 2016
Was a gift and the receiver loved it. So would buy it for personal use or gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2013
My husband buys the Bibles for every new computer or OS or related software he acquires. He actually reads them cover to cover. I myself start by asking him questions and then go to the book if I need to study the subject. This Windows 8 Bible is reliable and useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2013
Rather drab reading,trying to decipher the "cute" editing. Half could be eliminated and still have a decent book. But with most technical books whar you are looking for is not even remotely addressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 20, 2013
If you want a very comprehensive, complete and timely for your operating system, this book is perfect. I think this must have anything you'll ever need to understand the Win 8 OS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 22, 2015
Great intro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here