Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on January 15, 2011
I was a patient of Dr. Chodak's. With this book, I am glad to see he continues to help men with prostate cancer.

Dr. Chodak compiles data from various studies and relies on data from randomized, controlled studies. The book is filled with a lot of tables and charts. There is even a chapter on understanding medical studies. The timeline for prostate cancer is decades. But many of the treatments are relatively new, so there may not be a 15 or 20 year study of survival or recurrence, let alone a 10 year study.

The book covers surgery, radiation and hormone therapy as well as alternative treatments and newer treatments.

This book is invaluable for newly diagnosed individuals or those debating treatment options.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
I have been reading a bunch of these books on prostate cancer, and this is the best of them. If you are trying to decide about which treatment is best for you, based on the latest studies, this is the book you want. You will be better informed than your urologist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
Bought this book for a family member. They loved it! The person said the book was so detailed and interesting that he could not put it down and read the entire book in one day. He told me that the book helped him to better understand his condition, and helped him when talking to his doctors and when asking questions about his condition at the hospital. I highly recommend buying it to anyone that is going through this devasting experience, since it greatly helped my family member.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
It was great to find a current book on Prostate Cancer that does not have an adgenda! Dr. Chodak gives all currently recognized approaches a fair evaluation rather than promoting the one that he may have learned in medical school as the only solution. I am choosing proton therapy for its 20 year history of success and lack of side effects.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I read this after I read 100 Questions and Answers About Prostate Cancer. Provided a lot of the same information but this just did not hook my interest, totally different writing style. It was written more from the medical profession rather than from a personal level trying to understand all the options that are available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
Great book, BUT the technology is moving forward so fast this book is already obsolete in a few places and will only get worse with time. Talk to your doctor. BTW, I went with the external beam radiation and the prognosis is good. I have passed the book onto the next victim that I know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
This book is good however it doesn't go into detail as much as I would have liked. The book is still good value .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
A well done guide for the newly diagnosed which will help you take control of your treatment by understanding the options.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
Gave information I didn't know , but needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here