Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by The Lone Bellow GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 48 reviews
on August 4, 2015
If you love the Grateful Dead, you NEED this! The sound is pristine, and probably is the best sounding two-track tape transfer you will ever hear. The band is smokin' hot. Keith is up in the mix, which really allows one to appreciate his great talent. Even Donna Jean is sort of, maybe, kind of, close to being on key for a change. That's a relief as well as a very rare thing.

I purchased the Winterland '77 box last year. At the time, I couldn't justify buying that AND the '73 box. So, I figured I would pick up '73 this year. Well, the'73 box is not so easy to find now and I started to panic. I looked here on Amazon and found it at a fair price still sealed in original packaging and authentic in all respects. What a sigh of relief for me since I thought I was gonna have to pay through the nose due to my procrastination. There's no bonus disc, but that's OK by me ... incredibly, the bonus disc ADDS a few hundred dollars to the price of the entire box. Geeze, I love the Dead about as much as anyone, but that's a bit steep to get one extra disc.

This '73 box comes with a couple of extra goodies, including a Good 'Ol Grateful Dead button which is really cool. All in all, another excellent offering from the GD. If you were ever thinking of buying this, get it now. I'm not sure that it will be around much longer. Don't be foolish like me by putting this off ... as one reviewer here said, in 5 years the cost of this won't matter to you ... what will matter then is the music, and you'll be glad you got this while you could. This is essential to any GD collection. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2017
At this time - Sept 2017 - this box set is only available at an inflated price as it is out of stock at dead.net. I paid an inflated price and I'm disappointed. The seller and Amazon were great - no problems there. But if anyone is thinking about getting this set please read the 3 star review by James Savage who pretty much nails it - great performance but some of the vocals are lost in the mix. If that is something you can overlook then pull the trigger and enjoy some great shows. I guess I was spoiled by the Europe '72 shows. There are still a few available at dead.net and if anyone wants a great performance AND a great recording go there now and get the 4-26-72 show along with any and all other shows that are for sale from that tour. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
fantastic set of shows - the magic is thick in the air, the playing is fluid and imaginative. Really a keeper and a prime example of the band at their best. The 2-track recording sounds great overall, it paints a full sonic picture that gets all the important details. Definitely a step up from how I used to listen (multi-gen cassette tapes)! If you are a deadhead who likes the '73 sound, you already know you need this. Well worth the price of admission for a slice of Dead mojo!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2009
Here they are, firing on all cylinders, the whole much greater than the parts... this is amazing Grateful Dead music. Considering the two track source, the sound of the cds is wonderfully clear and rich. I always favored this lineup, Jerry, Phil, Bobby, Billy and a brilliantly subtle Keith Godchaux on the keys. His wife Donna actually ADDS to the vibe of these three shows - something she didn't always achieve. I keep returning to listen to this 9 cd set over and over again. The packaging contained in the cool little flip-lid box is first rate too. There is a booklet in which the knowledgable Dennis McNally talks about the music and the historical setting of this 3 day Winterland run. Best of all he takes some time to discuss the legendary 'Wall of Sound' P.A. that is still unequaled today. In addition to the booklet and the 9 cds, you get a facsimile of one of the Grateful Dead Almanacs that the band sent out to you if you signed up at a concert or mailed a request to 'DEAD HEADS' in San Rafael. The artwork on the box and the paper cd cases is beautifully psychedelic recalling the best of Kelly/Mouse or Rick Griffin. It consists of a flaming stealie containing a rose with an eye in the middle of the rose. When you lay all 9 cd covers out flat, they compose a mural of a concert floor peopled with hundreds of cartoon deadhead archetypes... it brings us old folks back to the days when you could listen to your new album while gazing at great artwork!

If you want to hear live Grateful Dead during one of their artistic peaks - get this box... it is an incredible value!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2009
Not since the death of Jerry Garcia has there been a better time to be a fan of the Grateful Dead: Dick's Picks has grown beyond all expectation; the internet has connected fans like never before; and the band itself is back on tour and has made every effort to flood the market with studio quality recordings of pivotal shows from its storied past.

Which way to turn? Which shows to jump on? Our plates are so full deciding is nearly a torment, but these legendary recordings are a good starting point for any fan who wants to know what all the fuss was about.

On the whole, Winterland is a fascinating document, a three-day run portraying a band in an ever evolving state of transition. The sound is so good you'll have a hard time believeing it was recorded on 2-track, but that's a testament to David Lemieux (and Rhino Records) whose talent and meticulous care of the vaults are fully realized on this release.

Last but not least, the packaging. Normally I don't comment on the superficial aesthetic of any release, but the presentation is sumptuous and the linear notes, along with old-time playbills, give these Winterland recordings a sense of a specific time and place, taking our tickets and ushering us through the door just minutes before the band takes the stage.

I wish all box sets were like this.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2009
how much would you pay to take a trip back in time to hear these concerts? because that's what you get for your money here. over the course of this weekend's 3 shows in 11/73 you hear virtually everything the dead were playing at the time. the band was in top form. some fans have complained about the sound quality of these recordings but to my ruined old ears the sound quality of the box set is for the most part excellent. at one point during the friday night show bob weir does say "lets hear it for the new microphone". so probably they were having some microphone problems friday night. but i think the overall strength of the performances and the energy level of the shows make up for any such problems. i also think 59.99 is a fair price for this box set of 3 full, 3 hour shows on 9 cds. this weekend in 73 the dead were at the top of their game. jerry and the band were still young and strong, if not quite as psychedelic as they once were. this is the coke and weed (hash) fueled, not the acid fueled grateful dead. still, i say if you are a big dead fan don't miss this, get it while you can. and of course the 5 cd (7 hours) grateful dead movie soundtrack is a tremendous bargain and one of the best grateful dead releases ever put out. i strongly recommend you don't miss that one either. also, fans of this era grateful dead should check out dick's picks vol. 31. it's an almost 5 hour compilation from 8/4/74- 8/6/74 on 4 discs with brilliant playing and jamming on every disc. i had always thought the dead reached their peak in 1969-70 but obviously i was wrong. they continued to perform at a very, very high level for many years after that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Deadheads all have their opinion on which era of the Grateful dead was the best. No matter what era you like the most, this is a tremendous collection of music. Check out the setlist. I particularly bought this for "Here Comes Sunshine" and was not let down. Any fans of early Keith/Donna - Dead will enjoy this box set. Arrived quicker than estimated so would highly recommend seller as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
It's almost anathema to begin a review of a recorded musical product with mention of its packaging... but I must admit... superb job on the presentation. Sometimes, things are just - well, cool. And this box set is just cool. Just a sight to behold.

As for the music... Just stellar soumding. And it's the Dead '73... need I say more?

I'm not going to get into it on a deeper level, I'll leave that to the real writers out there. If you're a nut for completness, i.e., the idea of having experienced three nights of beauty, than this is your ticket.

Hearing some tunes repeated over the course of your listening is, well, not a problem. First off you enjoy hearing the differences from one evening to another, and second, it's the Dead for god sakes... who doesn't love hearing multiple versions of perhaps one of your most cherished Dead tunes? Besides, you're probably not going to sit down (if you don't dance) and listen to this cover to cover in one sitting.

Lastly, there are some tracks that are just sublime. And you're there for every minute.

I couldn't resist and I'm glad I didn't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
There are some Grateful Dead releases that define the bands legacy. This is one of them, get it while you can. The sound quality is prestine and the shows will rip off your faces. The band always turned it on at Winterland. Well worth the price you will pay. Long out of print this is a collectors item. If you have a chance to get it right now, do it. The extra money will not matter 5 years from now. Keep jamming. PS. The Bonus CD rocks too, if you can get it. If you wait, you will always wonder why 20 years from now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
another must have for any collector
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse