Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheBigSick TheBigSick TheBigSick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
43


The Wired series is some of author Toby Neal's best work. The protagonist, Sophie Ang, is as complex as any female lead could be. Neal herself describes Sophie as the "female Jack Reacher", but the fact is, Sophie's character is more nuanced, and more driven toward good, than Reacher. Neal has created a dark, twisted, and yet hopeful character in Ang, who is just beginning to discover who she is and what she wants. This journey is carefully documented and naturally progressed through the series.

The hallmarks of Neal's writing are her ability to draw characters that are deep, layered, and fascinating, whether the characters are lead or supporting. She often features various supporting characters in her books, allowing us a depth of knowledge that most other series' stories do not offer. Neal also includes factual information about the locations where the novels are set, and it's clear she thoroughly researches locations and cultures. This creates a rich, colorful story that I as a reader thoroughly love, and it's why I am a fan of all her writing.

In "Wired Dawn", Sophie explores the island of Kaua'i, its solitude, and the many people who are drawn to the island and the ability to live completely off the grid and therefore be hidden. Fascinating stuff! A character I loved from the earliest novels in this series, Alika, returns to challenge Sophie's developing sense of self and determination to remain isolated. Another love interest, Jake, adds to the complexity of Sophie's emotions. Meanwhile, the Ghost continues to torment Sophie and drive her to try to resolve her feelings of anger, attraction, and desire for him.

Underlying all of this is the baseline story of Sophie, who is a tech genius and former FBI agent. Sophie has a complicated past that includes abuse and depression, and Neal does an excellent job of conveying the resulting damage from that past. Sophie also is very strong and determined, and is a trained MMA fighter, so she is fully capable of handling difficult and dangerous situations and people on her own. In Sophie, Neal has created a character to whom most of us can relate, and whose struggles feel real. We want to know more about her, we want to see her succeed, and we want to see her evolve.

"Wired Dawn" is an excellent addition to the series, a tightly woven, suspenseful novel, and Sophie is a hero for our times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2017
Received an ARC copy of this book, and here is my review of it. This is the 5th book in the Sophie Ang series by
wonderful author Toby Neal ; her interesting characters, intense story lines, and unexpected outcomes, keep me coming back. Sophie has gone through hell, and is now escaping from everything, including herself, by hiking on the trail to Kalalau on Kauai alone- using an alias. I hope you will read the prior novels to understand Sophie and her full story ; she is my hero. She hears about a young boy, fleeing from a pedophile, that is lost. She finds he is stuck in a very dark, sunken lava tube, and tries to get him out. Her friend Marcella Scott knows she is missing and sends Alika (prior boyfriend of Sophie) to find her. Marcella is trying to find evidence that the Ghost( prior boyfriend of Sophie) is alive, as Sophie believes. Sophie also might face jail time for the murder of her ex-husband (book #4), and is escaping from that possibility. Toby has written this book with nice short chapters that allow the development of all the characters, to hear their voices, and their stories. I couldn't put this book down, with so much emotion and character development. Sophie has to deal with her feeling about the three most important men in her life. Can't wait until the next one. I am a huge Sophie Ang fan. Thanks again Toby for this wonderful series. I suggest to start with the first book, to really get to know Sophie's story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 2017
The adventures of Sophie Ang and her dog, Ginger, continue as she explores the Na Pali coast on the island of Kaua’i, trying to escape from her past and clear not only her head, but her heart.

When a weeping woman bursts out of the bushes declaring her son is gone, Sophie feels compelled to investigate for herself, before seeking outside help. Sophie leads us on an adventure that involves lava tubes, lost boys, law enforcement and loves many faces.

Toby Neal has filled Wired Dawn with words that convey the verdant beauty of Kauai’s wild landscape, the irritating rigors of hiking and camping in damp red muddy soil, and the heartache of a strong woman that has been abused and betrayed. Sophie is a complex character. She swears creatively in the Thai language, is physically strong and agile, has an intensely intelligent mind when it comes to technology, and is slowly learning about her emotional self after enduring several trauma’s.

Although Wired Dawn is a standalone story, reading the previous books in the Wired series will bring you a greater understanding and appreciation for Toby Neal’s characters. If you enjoyed the characters in this book and haven’t yet read Toby’s Lei Crime series, what’s stopping you?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
Wired Dawn finds Sophie Ang on a completely different kind of adventure. This time she’s completely on her own as she’s taking time off as she is being investigated for the murder of her sadistic ex Assan Ang. Her friends (all in some form of law enforcement) assure her she is going to be exonerated for his death but she still has so many doubts. Sophie decides to assume an alias and to go “off the grid” to Kalalau on Kaua’i. While attempting to face her longtime demons and decide how to face her future, she runs across a group of “lost boys” and another real demon. Sophie must come to grips with the fact that there are people that love her for herself (including a few good men) and she needs to allow them to be there for her. She is such a complex character! The author uses many different points of view in telling this story and it really works! I was provided an ARC of this book. The opinions expressed here are completely my own and without influence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
This book resumes where the previous book, Wired Dark, left off with Sophie still trying to straighten out her complicated life which involves problems both professionally and personally. This story is presented differently from previous books in two respects; multiple points of view are presented, and the chapters are much shorter. I believe the story will be enjoyed much more if the reader knows the background developed in the earlier Paradise Crime and Lei Crime series, but the book would still be an excellent read even if you are new to the series. As always, Ms Neal does a remarkable job in her descriptions of the Hawaiian islands, as well as with multi-dimensional character development. I found this book hard to put down, and once again, I am anxiously awaiting the next book of the series. I received an advance reader copy of the book. This review is voluntarily written because I genuinely loved the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
Wired Dawn by Toby Neal
(I received an advance copy of this book in return for an honest, impartial review.)

Wired Dawn picks up where Wired Rogue left off, with Sophie Ang going off-grid and hiking on the trail to Kalalau using one of her aliases. I’m especially struck by the tender humanity of this fighter/geek/insecure woman as she interacts with homeless “campers” and a group of abused boys, one of whom she has to rescue from an underground location. She is assisted in her efforts by most of her friends from the previous novels. I recommend reading these first, although the story stands on its own merit.
Unlike her previous books, Toby Neal tells this story from the points of view of several of the lead characters, which in my opinion greatly adds to both the suspense and character development. Wired Dawn is an exciting continuation of Sophie’s adventures and her personal journey. Don’t miss this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
Toby Neal consistently writes books that I want to read. Wired Dawn is the fifth book in the Sophie Ang series. Sophie is smart, talented, beautiful, strong and is beginning to try and pick up the threads of her life after a final confrontation with her abusive ex-husband. Toby Neal creates strong women characters as well as good male characters. These are generally people you would want to know and definitely want to have on your side. I have already pre-ordered book 6 in the series because I want to follow this woman's story. Although this book can be read as a stand-alone story, I strongly suggest you read them in sequence. Then once you have read this series, go and read the rest of her books, such as the Lei Crime series. They are all good stories, well written with good character building. I just wish Toby Neal could write as fast as I can read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
This book was so exciting to read. It is written so that you get the perspective of many of the characters and it makes for such an enlightening look into the characters' minds. The main character, Sophie, is "off the grid" trying to hide out as she was accused of murder. While hiding out she ends up doing what she does best, getting herself caught up in something bigger than she imagined. She also has to deal with her debilitating depression and to top everything off, she is trying to control her confusing feelings for the men she has had relationships with in the past. Sophie, being Sophie, leads us on an awesome adventure full of suspense, mystery and edge of your seat action. Toby Neal has kept us engrossed in this series and keeps us wanting more! I didn't want the book to end. Can't wait for the next book in the series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
I'm just going to say it, I'm jealous of Sophie. She has her pick of three men, all different walks of life, career, looks, everything. But, she runs from them all to hide, even temporarily, from any charges against her. You must read the previous books before this one. Sophie had been dealt a terrible hand when she married Ang at nineteen, she's paid ever since. She's brave, selfless at times, loyal and insanely smart. This is a series for all types of book lovers: mystery, romance, suspense, and techies. As a whole the series has the potential to go on forever. Told from multiple POVs we hear from Alika, Marcella, Sophie and a lost boy. It gives a larger perspective on the issues at large and a more connected story. I received my copy from the author and wrote this review voluntarily and unbiased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
WIRED DAWN by Toby Neal book 5 "Paradise Crime". This picks up from the last book Wire Rogue with Sophie.
Marcella back in Honolulu. Sonia needed her, she ran, didn't trust the system what she was facing was dire. Who is this Ghost, that Sophia blames, for her having gone off the grid, from family and friends.Macella was determined to find her. When would DA bring charges against her, if they we re going to, for killing her ex. Sophia stumbles upon Nakai, and the horror of what he ran from. Making friends as she treks thru the hills.Brings in characters from the previous stories, but can be a stand alone. It captures you from the first, with the boy and Sophia. The chapters are shorter, the emotion level is higher. Another great read by Toby. Given ARC for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse