Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 117 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 120 reviews
on December 18, 2012
I purchased this for used with my Panasonic Lumix fz200
Boxed as Oppias RW-221 by PIXEL Products
It works quite well

Although I do have one nitpick..
Specifically about how it works with the built in pop up flash. on the FZ200
IMO the cable included should be a double right angle OR a right angle at the other end. (the 2.5mm 3 ring end)
the receiver end is straight the camera end is right angle. (the 2.5mm 4 ring end)
Normally it's a non issue EXCEPT when using the unit with the built in flash.
The receiver either has to be turned 90 deg or 180 to allow room for the flash to pop up.
That's not an issue except that at 90 deg the straight connector prevents use of the viewfinder
and at 180 deg the receiver itself prevents use of the viewfinder.
Because of that issue I can't just leave it on there most of the time
but that said the unit does work with and allow use of the built in flash if rotated to either of those positions.

IF it came with or I had a cable with 90 deg on both ends the receiver could be rotated 90 deg (so it extends to the left) and you could still make use of the viewfinder. with a right angle plug the flash would also work with the unit rotated to the right 90 deg but the unit would obscure the view of the control knobs and buttons.
IN addition, a 90 on both ends would just be a cleaner looking set up and extend the cable reach a little.
As it is, for non flash use I face the receiver forward an route the cable back under the flash, around the bottom of the lens then back up so the right angle 4 ring plug plugs snugly against the camera body

It would really be nice if the the unit could be left in the shoe all the time AND be able to use the viewfinder AND the built in camera flash.

Minor issue, the instructions are very much translated into English.
fortunately the pictures are fairly understandable.

I read reviews concerning removal of the batteries.
It appears that leaving batteries in the unit is not an issue.
the back button on the top is the on/off button so you can turn the unit off
and the remote likely doesn't consume power unless the button is pushed.
Just make sure you turn it off (red light no longer flashing) and try to make sure the button doesn't get pushed in the camera bag to turn it back on.

Oh and although the remote does have a lanyard connector point, no lanyard was included. Force of habit already from using wired shutter remotes I've drop this one twice. Neither time with any damage but I'll be looking for a small wrist lanyard for it, the lanyard connection is on the front rather than the back so it actually requies a longer than normal lanyard possibly a 10" long or so would work well.
And of course looking for either a double right angle cable or simply a right angle adaptor to make it more used friendly. (easier to say than actually find)

And note although I'm stressing the negatives this unit as fair warnings, it's overall a great little unit, just needs a couple of small upgrades to make it about perfect.
review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2016
This is a terrific remote shutter adapter for Panasonic cameras. I use it with a Panasonic GX8, which was not one shown as compatible with this Pixel Oppilas unit. However, the Pixel Oppilas RW-221 works perfectly with the GX8, snapping photos and starting videos, depending on the mode selected on the camera. I tested all the settings on the handheld remote and they all work as expected: single shot, multi-shot, bulb and timer. The Pixel Oppilas unit is small, came with all necessary batteries and is MUCH less expensive than the remote controller Panasonic sells.

Using the Pixel Oppilas RW-221, the button on the remote works just like the camera's own shutter button. You press halfway to focus, then press all the way to activate the shutter. The quality of the Pixel Oppilas unit feels fine, although there's only so much quality a device of this price can have. Still, I don't expect it to fail anytime soon.

I also have a Panasonic GH3 camera, but have not yet tried this remote with it. I do expect that it will work as well as it does on the GX8. I highly recommend the Pixel Oppilas RW-221.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
Given the low cost of this product compared to other wireless remotes, I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works. If there is one flaw, it is the instructions, which are very badly translated into English.

The receiver unit has its own shutter button, and can act as a regular wired remote with no batteries required. This is actually quite convenient. The button doesn't have a lock, so you'll have to hold it down the whole time if doing long exposures. Also, the supplied cable is only about 11 inches long, so you can't step too far from the camera, but it's at least useful for those times when you just want to be hands free to avoid camera shake. If you need to be further away, then you can use the wireless remote.

Speaking of the cable, other reviewers have already mentioned the correct way to plug it in, so I won't cover that.

Both the wireless remote and receiver allow you to select up to 4 channels to transmit/receive on, so you can potentially operate multiple cameras at the same time. The switches are inside the battery compartments, however, so you can't use just one remote and switch on the fly between different receivers.

The wireless remote has four modes: single shot, continuous, bulb, and timer. Single shot is fairly obvious. Continuous mode takes a picture every 1 second. Bulb mode works differently than on the receiver in that you don't keep holding the button down. Instead, press the button once to activate it and a second time to release it. Besides long exposures, bulb mode is also useful if you'd rather use the continuous shooting function built into your camera, which generally takes more shots per second. Single shot mode doesn't work for this (although my Lumix G5 managed to squeeze in two shots when set to medium speed). The timer mode is set to take a picture after about 4 seconds (actually closer to 4.5). It should be noted that the instructions suggest the existence of five modes (single, single every 1 second, continuous, bulb, timer), but the single every second and continuous modes are actually the same thing.

It should also be noted that the receiver power is turned on and off by pressing and holding a button for 2 seconds, something that could happen unintentionally in your camera bag and drain the batteries. The wireless remote has no power button or switch and could also be activated by accident. Thus, it's probably best to remove the batteries from both when not in use.

Overall, I'm quite happy with this product. Even if you just use the receiver as a wired remote, you replicate much of the functionality of the official Panasonic remote (except for the button lock and longer cable) at a much lower price. Add in the wireless remote, and you gain greater range and additional features that the Panasonic remote just doesn't have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
I got this in hopes of doing bulb shooting, for astrophotography and it works quite well for that, doing a pair of roughly 10-minute exposures to get star trails and a sharp landscape from being able to use f/4 or f/5.6 apertures for enhanced sharpness. Normal single photo mode is also useful, great for when it comes to taking portraits and settings in medium-low-light conditions such as interior settings.

However, there is a big problem when it comes to burst mode - it's limited to just 1 photo per second no matter what the camera setting is (I always have it on 6 photos per second). I've got both the camera and the remote both set on burst mode and it's still limited to 1 photo per second (holding the shutter button down at the 2x keeps a constant 2 photos per second for even 20 minutes so the limitation is with the remote and not the memory card or camera). Thus, use the burst mode for something like 30x time lapse photography, not the 15x, 7.5x, or even 5x I was hoping to be able to get.

One other issue I've had with it is that the connecting cable doesn't seem to always keep a firm connection - I've had to reseat the cable a few times to get it to work but when it does work, it works very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
Panasonic LUMIX DCM-FZ200 camera users take note: The connector cable is Plug Sensitive ... Make sure that the Right Angle Plug goes to the Camera and that the Straight-Line Plug goes to the IR Unit ! ! If you reverse this cable, the whole system will not work.

The photographs on the Chinese instruction sheet show this reversed :-( I connected per instruction sheet the first time and, sure 'nough, it doesn't work that way

When connected properly, this unit works fine with my FZ200 ... Right Angle to Camera, Straight-Line to IR Unit
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
This works perfectly on my Panasonic FZ200. Surprisingly high quality and packaging. Make sure when you plug the angle-end into the camera you push it hard, all the way in. The plug will stop short, appear firmly in the camera, but it's not. I think this may be one of the reasons for folks thinking the device doesn't work.

My only negative observation, and it's a small one, is the softness and lack of affirmative "clicking" on the hand transmitter button. But you'll learn how to use it quickly. For the price, this is really a bargain. Tip: leave the connector cord permanently plugged into the receiver unit, if you lose it you'll never find a replacement, it looks like a proprietary cord.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
I was looking around for a remote control solution for the Panasonic GX1. The official RSL1 is a wired solution Panasonic DMW-RSL1 Remote Shutter Release for Panasonic DSLR and FZ50, and at $50, it is pretty expensive.
While looking around for other options, I came across this one - and even though the GX1 is specifically not mentioned in the descripton, I did some digging around and found out that it can actually work with the GX1. Also, at half the price of the RSL1, it works as a wireless remote. The description says 100 meters, but I will be more than happy if it works in the 10 meter range.
The product came nicely packaged. It works perfectly with the GX1.
Just make sure that the 3 pin connector goes into the camera, and the 2 pin connector goes into the remote.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
I have a corded 'remote' shutter,,,unless you are standing right next to the camera on a tripod, it makes life one sided for picture options. We needed a remote control that could be used with our camera for our yearly family Christmas card - this did the trick!
I cannot suggest this easy to use plug and play remote control ANY higher!
Make sure that you have the correct end plugged into the mic jack!!! Then, place your camera onto a tripod or a steady flat surface,,,take a couple of test shots,,,and you should be good to go!
I suggest taking the batteries out when not in use,,,store it in your camera bag,,so you have it ready when you need or want to have a nice "selfie" with a decent camera!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
Used with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200. Easy to set up and has several functions. The camera unit is a bit large. Uses standard AAA batteries, but the channel changer on the remote is inside the battery compartment. Mine arrived with a broken button on the remote, so it was constantly half-pressed. It overall feels cheaper and less durable than the JJC-JMD model that I chose after returning this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
It works with DMC_G5 and thats all is needed.The angled side goes to camera. I Shaved the top side it a little with utility kife to fit better. Wth cover on the camera and socket deaper into the body of camera it can not be pulled out easily as there no no room to hold it. Turn it sidesways and it comes out enough to be pulled out. As other mentioned it does not need to be inseted into the flash port. The camera side unit works as wired swich itself even without batery. The only problem is that when put in the camera bag or pocket the transitter button is pressed and some times keep pressed without knowledge. That will drain the battery. The solution is semi round thick rubber wahser glued onto it. I cut a garden hose rubber wahser. You do not have to cut it but if not cut it will cover the marking that tells you the mode of operation of the transmitter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse