Kindle Price: $8.49

Save $7.50 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Witches of New York: A Novel by [McKay, Ami]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Witches of New York: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 91 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.49

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 560 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

''In this weighty, wonderful novel, McKay takes a sidelong glance at misogyny through a veil of witches, ghosts, and other mystical entities in 1880 New York.... Skillful worldbuilding, fascinating characters, and a suspenseful plot make McKay's novel an enchanting, can't-put-down delight.'' (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

''With a remarkable cast of characters... McKay has crafted a stunning work that bridges the gap between historical and contemporary women's issues. The novel is ambitious in its scope yet still delves deep into the thoughts and motivations of characters who normally exist on society's outskirts -- or even beyond the earthly realm.... McKay's elegant prose bridges the gap between the real world and the spiritual realm with skill and compassion.'' (Kirkus, starred review)

''Wonderfully wicked and deliciously dark, The Witches of New York had me totally spellbound. Reminiscent of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Ami McKay has written a book brimming with atmosphere, intrigue, and a cast of mesmerising characters. I loved it.'' (Hazel Gaynor, author of The Girl Who Came Home)

''In the tradition of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Ami McKay recreates not just a historically confident vision of 1880 s New York, but a richly imagined, detailed subculture of witchcraft, occultism, and sinister dark forces that coexist precariously, in plain sight; stealthily encroaching upon the affairs of the Gilded Age. Skillfully written, peopled with refreshingly authentic female characters and hurtling forward at a furious pace, McKay delivers that most precious of all experiences to discerning readers -- a refuge of intelligence, insight, and genuine invention. Easily one of my favorite books of the year.'' (Kathleen Tessaro, author of Rare Objects and The Perfume Collector)

''Nasty women, your party has arrived. Ami McKay's witches are in town.... The real aim of McKay's new novel is to show a group of believable women leading ''an unconventional life''.... McKay is a fine plotter....The layering of narratives and styles is lively, and the multiple characters' pasts are especially absorbing.... Society types straight out of Edith Wharton pursue spiritualism for fun... but McKay widens her scope with grimier episodes.... She has a nose for the Dickensian.'' (Alix Hawley, Globe and Mail)

''A labour of love, and a testament to the craft.... The novel unfolds with a hurtling intensity. But McKay doesn't let the compulsive momentum interfere with her deeper explorations of her characters....McKay is able to tease out hidden depths and contradictions with ease, revealing the characters in their confounding (and occasionally off-putting) complexity.... One cannot help but want to spend more time in the company of these witches.'' (Robert J. Wiersema, National Post)

''The book is richly researched, and packed with enticing historical detail. McKay's prose is, as always, superb the descriptions enchanting, the narrative arcs compelling, the characters dear (or deliciously sinister, as the case may be). But it is the emotion of the novel that lingers longest, the pervading horror over the persecution of women -- and what this persecution has done to repress women's talents, impede their progress and stamp out their voices.'' --(Tara Henley, Toronto Star)

From the Back Cover

New York City in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies who speak the right words, and ask the right questions.

When Tea and Sympathy posts an ad that reads, “Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply,” seventeen-year-old Beatrice leaves the safety of her village to answer, though she has little inclination of what the job will demand. Beatrice doesn’t know it yet, but she has great spiritual gifts, ones that she will come to harness under the tutelage of Adelaide and Eleanor. But not even they can prepare Beatrice for the evils lurking in the darkest corners of the city or give her the courage it will take to face them.


Product details

  • File Size: 1498 KB
  • Print Length: 560 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial (July 11, 2017)
  • Publication Date: July 11, 2017
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00SRY5G3W
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #27,054 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

September 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
November 30, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
October 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
October 9, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Witches of New York: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Witches of New York: A Novel