Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on July 3, 2013
Tells you about some traditions and the history of Halloween from a witches perspective. It's an entertaining read and even includes some recipes at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2007
This is a wonderful book for the season of Halloween and any other Fall endeavor for the enterprising witch. It is well written and extremely informative. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the Halloween tradition. It dispells the common stereotype of the green skinned, wart nosed, pointed hat wearing, broom riding, cauldron stirring crone.

Blessed be.
Lorraine
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2008
This book is very informative about superstitions, symbols, and meanings of Halloween (Samhain). It does not take the reader to great depths about Paganism or Wicca, but it is not meant to. A very good read to brush up on Halloween lore.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
This is mostly a history of Halloween with folktales and lores centered around Scotland/Ireland/Great Britain. There is a few modern day spells that you can do most is things from years past. it's an interesting informative read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
Little book, 223 pages full of facts. Not scary if that is the read you seek during this season. It is informative. Tells the meanings behind the old rituals, pagan perspectives, meanings of Halloween symbols like cats, broomsticks, owls, etc. Tells of lore and legends, herb lore like flying ointments, omens, and incantations. Info on wiccan traditions, candle magic and spells, foods of Halloween and how to conduct a seance. I wanted scary but got schooled on facts...not sorry. Interesting addition to my Halloween shelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
The book itself was in new condition and was of good quality, but the contents just seemed a rehashing of everything already published. Nothing original and the writing style didn't hold my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
Great lore, recipes, and info. Lots of fun to read and activities to do on halloween. Interesting tale on how jack-o-lanterns came to be. All in all I liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2015
AAAAA+ AWESOME.ARRIVED AND PACKAGED WELL . GREAT READING PERFECT THANKS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
Was a gift for a friend...she enjoyed it, so I guess it's alright.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2011
I am about half way through this book- I find it very interesting. Great facts and lore about Halloween. I am not Wicca or Pagan and still find this book enjoyable with great facts. Definitely worth it if you are interested in some background history and information on Halloween.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here