Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 181-190 of 461 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 606 reviews
on December 27, 2014
Amazing compilation of information if you are looking to gain insight into the mind of a psychopath, and learn more about some well known psychopaths in recent history. Robert Hare's work truly contributes to the knowledge base in this area.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2011
Dr. Hare's manifesto helps the casual user observe and deal with the psychopaths that roam the streets. A great read for many who recently found the immensely popular "The Psychopath Test," and for anyone who is generally interested in the debate between psychopathy and sociopathy, and the "treatments" of both ailments. Though repetitive, the anecdotal evidence supports the data nicely and maintains the pace of the read.

Simultaneously a manual for the newly initiated and a mild poke at the DSM, "Without Conscience" is a quick and fascinating read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
Fascinating book on Psychopaths. It was really eye opening and descriptive, but it can lag in some parts and not go as far in depth at times when you wish it would.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
I was not surprised at recognizing the person whose behavior prompted me to buy the book. Very educational. I will now stop waiting for him to grow up. Time to move on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
I'm deeply interested in psychopathy as a subject. I really enjoyed this book. It's short and informative and has some great anecdotes in it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
Profound, insightful, and helpful in assisting clients to understand the "craziness" of living with someone
who is sociopathic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
Written in a scholarly voice yet accessible to "regular" folks. I would recommend for anyone who has noticed that something is just off with someone in your life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2005
After reading this extremely sobering text, and it is strongly suggested you do, you will recognize someone in your past, present or future to be a psychopath. As Hare suggests, it is dangerous to label individuals without proper clinical research including intense interviews and applying the "Psychopathic Checklist" before a likely diagnosis can be made. However recent research has shown that there are literally millions of psychopaths in jail, mental institutions or simply walking the streets. They can be in your work places, a problem child or sharing your bed. It's a frightening thought, and this book has been written to outline the essential characteristics of the psychopath and a general "survival guide" to help us recognize and prevent the majority of harm to oneself and our loved ones.

Hare provides many case histories from thousands of interviews with psychopaths and their victims. The renowned psychopathic checklist that he and his team developed over many years has proved to be a worthwhile tool in diagnosis. Most of these case histories are terrifying and ultimately sad as the psychopath invariably leaves a wake of destruction wherever they are and with whom they come in contact. These predators are the grand seducers because they have developed a strategy to detect one's weaknesses, doors of opportunity, to attain their every desire, whether money, sex or power. These characteristics seem obvious on first reading, but are a little more difficult to spot in actual physical contact.

The psychopath is usually glib and superficial, egocentric and grandiose and most importantly feels no guilt or remorse after committing an illegal or terrible act. Most often they are impulsive, deceitful and highly manipulative. Lack of responsibility for their actions and consistent antisocial adult behaviour are tell tale signs. Interestingly, most can be charming, good talkers and mesmerizing - a lot share the attribute of the intense, cold stare, an excessive eye contact used to intimidate. As the title suggests, all are without conscience and move through life in the pursuit of self-gratification, no matter what the cost.

What is sobering about this study is that our understanding of the condition is poor compared with other mental illnesses. Psychopaths do not respond to treatment and if incarcerated and set free, are more than likely to re-offend. As treatment is not an option at this time, the best we can do is have the knowledge to identify the psychopath and apply survival strategies to ensure the least amount of damage to others and ourselves. Hare gives us a "survival manual" at the back of the text, including an extensive bibliography to continue our personal research into the condition.

This book is a must read for anyone working in welfare, legal, rehabilitation and education, including law enforcement. All too often we are appalled and confused by certain behaviours, and this information clears this confusion and provides tools to deal with it. Excellent resource.
11 comment| 297 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
As I was following the televised trial of murderer Jodi Arias, I ordered this book and read it. I had heard of Dr. Robert D. Hare and his work in the mental health field and his research about the strange people known as psychopaths. These people, usually charming, often deadly, often end up in prison, but sometimes they don't. One thing in common with them all is ... they have no conscience, it seems. I found myself reviewing this book several times during the trial of Jodi Arias, who is now serving a life sentence for her premeditated and heartless murder of her ex-boyfriend, Travis Alexander. Dr. Hare certainly painted an accurate word picture of this self-serving, cruel, chameleon-like dangerous woman. This is one book that's worth keeping on your book shelf so you can refer back to it from time to time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse