Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 91 reviews
on April 7, 2012
This is a beautiful little book full of nice color photography. It's spiral bound to open flat and each recipe is on its own page with a photo of the finished dish on the facing page. There are about 65 recipes which come from all over Asia and are written by a number of different chefs. The publisher is based in Singapore which hosts a mix of Asian cultures and the result in this cookbook is specialties from China, India, Thailand, Vietnam, and Malaysia.

There are lots of tasty things to try here, but be prepared. If you want to cook your way through all of the 65 recipes in this book, the mixture of different national cuisines leads to a pretty long and very diverse list of sauces, spices, and fresh herbs in the ingredients. If you are a serious Asian cook you probably already have fish sauce, dark and light soy sauce, chili sauce, Hoisin sauce, rice wine, and sesame oil along with Chinese five spice and Indian garam masala. You may not already have tamarind pulp, lemon grass, curry leaves, palm sugar, Chinese black bean paste and yellow bean paste, or dried Thai shrimp paste in your pantry. I did find them all in my local Asian mega-mart, but I had to order Sichuan Peppercorns and Kaffir lime leaves over the internet and I just skipped the recipes which called for dried tofu skin. That's a lot of unusual ingredients to track down for only 65 recipes, especially when many figure in only a few dishes.

Of course, authentic ingredients lead to authentic results with the true flavors of the original cuisine, so if that is your goal then go for it!. Start off with something basic like Fragrant Shrimp Fried Rice. Then raise the bar with Vietnamese Beef Stew or Indian Lamb or some Malaysian Wok-fried Egg Noodles with Chili. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

For those who are just looking for some quick, easy, and very tasty ideas which won't require so much advance shopping, there are other good places to find them. I have really enjoyed everything I've tried from Quick & Easy Chinese: 70 Everyday Recipes. Also, Helen Chen's Chinese Home Cooking also offers a wide selection which I think is much closer to what most people think of when when they hear "Wok Cooking Made Easy."
33 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
What a delightful little cook book. It is a convenient size ( 6 x 8 inches,) and spiral bound for easy placement on your kitchen counter. Each recipe is on one page, no flipping, and a well done accompanying photograph of the meal on the opposite side. No long stories, just the facts and nothing but the facts. The recipes are clearly written with step by step instructions and ancillary notes when needed.

The recipes range form simple to fairly complex, and there is ample variety. Every meal I have cooked form this book has been delicious and ready in minutes just as the subtitle states.

Don't be fooled by the words "made easy" into thinking that this book will teach you how to buy and use a wok. The assumption is that you have acquired those skills elsewhere. For me, "made easy" means it is easy to use this book because of the way it is designed, and the way the recipes are presented.

If you enjoy Asian food, and you want to cook it at home, than I highly recommend this book. For the cook book aficionados this is a gem, and it is one that will be used, and not just read and added to the collection.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
I had purchased in this same order the "14 Inch Traditional Cast Iron Wokset" from Amazon. 14 Inch Traditional Cast Iron Wokset

The Cookbook looked good, so I ordered it. Little did I know how well it was done. But as they say, the proof is only when you cook out of it.

My first was 'Shrimp Pad Thai' and I can only say, afte eating Pad Thai in so many venues (and leaving it half uneaten) I cooked thier Receipe out of simplicity, it looked simple to cook.

Wow...night and day difference from the Thai places I have eaten. So much lighter, tastier. I can't describe it, but I am having it for lunch tommorrow and highly anticipating that.

The book is Spiral Bound, heavy pages, a boon to us cooks that need the book to lie flat. Full of color photographs and simple receipes. A master list of ingrediants, terms, and ingrediants. So every thing good about Wok Cooking is here. A Must have if you have to have only 1 Wok Cookbook.

Kelly
Miami, FL
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
The rest of the reviews and the description of the book tell you how the book is laid out. I'm going to tell you this book is the best cook book I've owned. The recipes are so full of flavor you have to force your self to stop eating them. All the other cook books I have even the ones by chefs leave you to wonder why they wrote them down or they left out the ingredients that really makes it pop. I will buy more books by this author cause he doesn't hid a thing and when you plate it up you'll agree it couldn't get better. Hope this helps you decide. Amazon has the best price I could find on this book too.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2012
The best thing about this book is the recipes. There are a lot of good ones that are fairly simple to make. Do not expect this book to teach you how to cook or use a wok, however. This book is more about combining the right ingredients to create those amazing flavors and aromas you tend to associate with Asian cooking. And at that it does an excellent job. The flavors virtually explode in your mouth. The second best thing about this book is the primer on ingredients at the beginning. There are things in there you can only get at an Asian market, so it definitately helps to know what you're looking for. Food flavors come together better when you have the right ingredients and this book will help you figure out what those are. I would have preferred there be a list of substitutions, especially for some of the harder to find items, but that would have deviated from the streamlined format of the book... Which leads to the third best thing about this book. For those of us who have become ADD due to information overload in the digital age, this book is organized so as to present all the information you need without flipping pages or squinting at microscopic text. To put it another way, a digital version of this book would translate easily to an iPad app without having to change format. This isn't the only Asian cookbook you'll want in your library, but it's a good one to have.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
This cookbook is full of great recipes for the wok-user. If you have a wok or are interested in getting a wok, this cookbook is a great addition. It has recipes that are pretty easy to make and some that are more advanced so no matter your level, this book has a variety of recipes for you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
Many of these recipes call for unheard of or rarely used foods (esp spices). I live in a small town and do not have access to specialty grocery stores. Many of these spices say they cannot be substituted. The recipes are time consuming too. 40 min+ for a side dish? It also does not offer nutritional info for the recipe which might be typical for this type of cooking... I'm not sure. Anyway, I will be donating this book as I don't see myself ever using it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
good cookbook for a beginner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
nice book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
I like the spiral binding of the book that allows the book to lie flat. II have only prepared one meal using this book. I do wish the index of the book were a little easier to find specific kinds of meat, seafood, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse