<Embed>
List Price: $25.95
Save: $6.47 (25%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Friday, Oct 2
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, Sep 29
Order within 11 hrs and 38 mins
Details
Only 13 left in stock (more on the way).
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Good Condition A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine and cover may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include "From the library of" labels or previous owner inscriptions. 100% GUARANTEE!

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$15.99
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: eQuip Online
Add to Cart
$16.00
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: BOOKS QUEST
Add to Cart
$18.39
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Book_story
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Wolf Gift (The Wolf Gift Chronicles) Hardcover – Deckle Edge, February 14, 2012

4.2 out of 5 stars 1,992 ratings
Book 1 of 2: Wolf Gift Chronicles

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Deckle Edge
$19.48
$14.72 $1.45

Limited time deal: Save up to 40% on over 150 great reads pantry

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Wolf Gift (The Wolf Gift Chronicles)
  • +
  • The Wolves of Midwinter: The Wolf Gift Chronicles
  • +
  • Blood Communion: A Tale of Prince Lestat (Vampire Chronicles)
Total price: $63.13
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

From Booklist: (Kristine Huntley)
 
Rice weaves her trademark meditations on the role of supernatural creatures in society into an often thrilling, page-turning  yarn.  HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY:  News that the legendary vampire chronicler has written a novel about werewolves is mobilizing Rice's multitude of library-card-carrying fans.

From Library Journal:
Verdict Fans of Rice's "The Vampire Chronicles" and "The Lives of the Mayfair Witches" series should delight in this new saga delivered in the author's distinctive style. Part creation story, part love story, and all excellent! [See Prepub Alert, 11/9/11.]--Amanda Scott, Cambridge Springs P.L., PA


From Alan Cheuse
The Boston Globe:
The plot in which all this unfolds is magnetic, the characters fascinating, and Rice's style as solid and engaging as anything she has written since her early vampire chronicle fiction. 

From the Author

Writing this book was a pure joy.  It was a return for me to gothic motifs --- the old dark house,  a mysterious death, the promise of family secrets, and the supernatural monster as hero -- that I had used in the Vampire Chronicles, and the Tales of the Mayfair Witches.  And once again,  I felt compelled to create an origin story and a cosmology --- this time for my protagonist, Reuben Golding, who finds himself periodically turning into the werewolf of legend.  Only unlike the doomed werewolves of so many popular films, Reuben retains full awareness during the transformation and a keen enjoyment of his immense wolfen powers.  He never becomes a four footed animal, but remains a deeply conflicted, fierce but compassionate beast-man,  hungry for power, and for answers as to the mystery of what he has become.  Though similar in many ways to my vampires novels,  Reuben's story is almost entirely contemporary.  And for the first time in my writing career I explored the haunted atmosphere of California's cold, mist shrouded redwood forests, and the romance of the windswept northern California coast.  I lived in northern California for over thirty years, and it was a great pleasure to get back to it, to have my hero dining in San Francisco's North Beach, or meeting his lady love in the quaint town of Mill Valley for breakfast, or driving his sports car north on Highway 101 as he pushes deeper into a grim but at times glorious adventure.  ------ I've been asked: will this be a series? I don't know.  I held nothing back in the writing of The Wolf Gift, but the characters are alive in my imagination, as vividly as any I've ever created, and I see the grand house of Nideck Point looming against a leaden sky, beckoning me just as it beckoned my hero, Reuben.

Product details

  • Item Weight : 1.55 pounds
  • Hardcover : 416 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 9780307595119
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0307595119
  • Product Dimensions : 6.56 x 1.44 x 9.51 inches
  • Publisher : Knopf; First Edition (February 14, 2012)
  • Language: : English
  • ASIN : 0307595110
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 1,992 ratings
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: gothic mystery books