Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $6.01 (38%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Wolf on a String: A Novel by [Benjamin Black]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Wolf on a String: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.6 out of 5 stars 45 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 320 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

"John Banville's novel Kepler was published in 1981. Now, using the pen name he has adopted for his mystery novels, he returns to [an] exciting era when science and superstition were battling for supremacy.... The ornate style of [the] narrative suits both this rich historical period and the courtly language of Prague, this 'city of masks and make-believe.' "–The New York Times Book Review

“Black [is] a master of high-class crime fiction, literary noir in the tradition of Georges Simenon and Raymond Chandler…. In characteristically gorgeous prose, he conjures a wintry world of opportunists and occultists, dwarves and hunchbacks, wolves and shadowy black-winged beasts….The marvelously evoked ‘city of masks and make-believe’ is the [novel’s] great pleasure.” –Guardian (Ireland)

"A master class in historical mystery fiction ― and because it’s Banville holding the pen, it also includes some of the finest sentences in the English language."–The Village Voice

"Immensely enjoyable.... A gem of a book, presented without pretension but with the literary flair that Banville/Black brings to all of his books." –St. Louis Post-Dispatch

"It’s Prague in the late 1500s, where the eccentric Rudolf II rules the Holy Roman Empire.... As you’d expect from a Man Booker winner like Banville, [this] plunge into palace intrigue and power struggles is spirited, vivid, and soulful." –The Seattle Times

"Black's 16th century murder mystery is rife with twists and turns, and his characters' dialogue convincingly captures the history and social issues of the period."–NJ.com

“If the Benjamin Black novels are, in the John Banville corpus, the equivalent of Graham Greene’s ‘entertainments,’ [Wolf on a String] must go down as one of the most entertaining…. The interplay of such twinned contraries―stars and darkness, snow and stone, desire and destruction, Black and Banville; each entity illuminating the other―also supply the sparkling style and steely themes of the engrossing, wide-ranging, sneakily ambitious work.” –The Irish Times

A swirling kaleidoscope of intrigue, art, blood, sex and magic…. Cleverly, and often amusingly, Black introduces several real characters to his fictional narrative…. A stirring, captivating and perfectly enjoyable read.” –Independent (Ireland)

"Absorbing.... Black not only evokes the unsettling atmosphere of medieval Prague and the whirling series of political and sexual intrigues of Rudolf's court, but also of cold, hunger, fear, threat, squalor and danger."–The Statesman

"Black displays his mastery of yet another mystery sub-genre in this brooding, atmospheric whodunit set in 16th-century Prague…. Superior prose complements the intricate plot.Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Rich, expansive…. [A] dark, vivid mural of Prague at the turn of the 16th century.” –Kirkus Reviews

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Benjamin Black is the pen name of the Man Booker Prize-winning novelist John Banville. The author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed series of Quirke novels―as well as The Black-Eyed Blonde, a Philip Marlowe novel―he lives in Dublin. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • File Size : 1550 KB
  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Co. (June 6, 2017)
  • Publication Date : June 6, 2017
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print Length : 320 pages
  • Language: : English
  • ASIN : B01EFIWD1G
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN : 1627795170
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.6 out of 5 stars 45 ratings