Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Woman of an Uncertain Age by [Priya Malhotra]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Woman of an Uncertain Age Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 46 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Editorial Reviews

Review

 Woman of An Uncertain Age has been named as one of the most anticipated books being released in September 2022 by Bustle Magazine.

"In her debut novel, India-born, New York—based journalist Malhotra vividly portrays aspects of Indian immigrant life in the United States." — 
Library Journal
 
"Debut author Malhotra investigates the difficulty of dating as a widow, shifting cultural attitudes toward modern courtship, and the complexities of parenting adult children. Fans of Marian Keyes, Kelly Harms, and Amy Sue Nathan will appreciate how Malhotra contrasts the corrosive qualities of shame with the power of forgiveness and acceptance."--
Booklist 


"
Woman of an Uncertain Age is a resounding 'Yes!' to everything that can go right, all that's worth saving and whether life still wants to surprise us. In the intelligent and sensuous Naina, Priya Malhotra has given us the propelling verve of a classic Terry McMillan character with the multicultural tack we love Bharati Mukherjee's Indian American women for. An American story, a New York story, a grown woman story . . . Here is a novel to represent these high times of new life and reopenings." -- Kalisha Buckhanon, author of Speaking of Summer

"A poignant and yet witty account of a woman in her fifties grappling with her past, her at times inappropriate desires, and her life as a single widow. Woman of an Uncertain Age is a delightful and surprising read." -- Helen Benedict, author of 
The Good Deed and Wolf Season

"In 
Woman of An Uncertain Age, Priya Malhotra has deftly woven a complex novel that will draw in readers through her beautiful prose, vivid imagery, and memorable characters. I found myself mesmerized by every step in the plot while identifying with every character's trait, choices, and whims. Even the ones I found challenging, they challenged me in a way that made me a better reader, thinker, and ultimately, human." — Reema Zaman, author of I Am Yours and Paramita: A Dystopian Matriarchy

"With a poet's sense of lyricism, a painter's sense of color, and a novelist's sense of story, Priya Malhotra pushes her language to ever greater heights, teetering at the edge, but always pulling back in time. To me, A 
Woman of an Uncertain Age is about loneliness and longing, about acceptance and understanding, about the strangeness of existence, especially for Naina, who grew up in India but now lives in New York, all caught in an intoxicating range of metaphors, yet told with an honesty that cuts to the bone."  — Birgitta Hjalmarson, author of Fylgia and Artful Players: Artistic Life in Early San Francisco

"Priya Malhotra writes with style and verve. 
Woman of an Uncertain Age is acutely observed and ably brings to the fore the particular anxieties and challenges of ageing, immigration and finding love in the most unexpected of circumstances." — Pallavi Aiyar, author of Smoke and Mirrors: An Experience of China and Orienting: An Indian in Japan

About the Author

Priya Malhotra grew up in New Delhi, India and is a writer and journalist based in New York City for more than fifteen years. She has a BA in English literature from Kenyon College and a MA in journalism from Columbia University and has contributed to numerous publications including Newsday, Time Out New York, The Times of India, The Japan Times, Asian Art News, Cosmopolitan and News India Times. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09V1WR9GB
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bedazzled Ink Publishing (September 20, 2022)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ September 20, 2022
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3510 KB
  • Simultaneous device usage ‏ : ‎ Unlimited
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 513 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 46 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Priya Malhotra has been a writer and journalist in New York for almost 20 years and has contributed to Newsday, Time Out New York, The Times of India, The Japan Times, Asian Art News, Cosmopolitan and News India Times. She has a Master’s degree in journalism from Columbia University in New York City and a Bachelor’ s degree in English literature from Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio.

She is represented by Jennifer Lyons of Jennifer Lyons Literary Agency whose clients include luminaries such as Jesmyn Ward who made history by becoming the first woman and African-American to win the National Book Award for fiction twice. The agency also represents the estates of Gabriela Mistral, the late Chilean Poet and first Latin American to win the Nobel Prize for literature, and Oscar Hijuelos, the late Cuban-American novelist and first Hispanic writer to win the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
46 global ratings
5 star
82%
4 star
7%
3 star
10%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 18, 2023
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 4, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 19, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 27, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 7, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 25, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 2, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 19, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Anand B.
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive debut novel:
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on November 16, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the “To Read” pile of books!!!
Reviewed in India 🇮🇳 on November 19, 2022
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?