Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$55.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 29 reviews
on September 6, 2012
This album is a timeless collection of songs that color the music and flavor of this nation's period during The Depression and into the 50's. It is as relevant today as when Woodie wrote them. Many lessons are to be learned from listening to them. Listen very closely to the lyrics of this Land is my Land. This is the original version and the lyrics are a lot more inclusive to all the people of this Land. Check out the history.

This Land Is Your Land: Woody Guthrie and the Journey of an American Folk Song
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
For anyone who understands or needs to understand the value of music in protest as well as all aspects of life, this is a priceless collection. Woody is as relevent today as he was at his prime.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2013
An excellent restoration job and a "must" for all Woody Guthrie Fans. Extremely well documented. While there are many repeat recordings from other Guthrie re-issues, there is enough non-duplicated material here to make this set easily worth the price. BRAVO!

--Steve Bauman
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2012
This collection is great. It includes three CDs of Woody singing the songs we've come to love. The book has much to offer in exploring Woody's life and activities along with a large number of Woody's own drawings. I recommend it for both long-time Woody fans as well as people who want to now more about this American working-class hero.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
This collection has all the classic Woody Guthrie songs, but it also introduces the listner to some lesser known Guthrie songs. These songs frame a differnt time in American history. Guthrie is able to capture fhe hopes and disappointments of common people during the Great Depression, which our greatest generation not only endured but prevailed over.

Buy this collection. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
It was excellent -- A real eye opener to the life and times of that era. The layout was fantastic -- everything flowed together in an informative manner. Would recommend this highly to anyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
A perfect start to getting into Woody. Very enjoyable and the Smithsonian treatment is 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
Woody at 100: Woody Guthrie Centennial Collection

If your a Woody Guthrie fan this collection will blow you away!!! The book is fantastic with many of Woodys drawings and early photos of his life with family and friends. I was equally impressed by the recordings with to many songs (a total of 57) to pick from as a favorite so my suggestion is don't walk but run to your nearest music source and buy this OUTSTANDING collection, you'll not be disappointed trust me. I do have one major problem with the book though, it seems we've sold our souls to China even when it comes to our American heritage of folk music. On the back cover lower left corner you'll see what I mean: 2012 Smithsonian Folkways Recordings Book Printed And Bound In China!!! Woody would roll over in his grave God rest his soul........
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
I bought this for my husband who has loved Woody Guthrie's work for years - it's well written, the drawings personal and touching at times, giving glimpses into the man, a sense of Guthrie permeates throughout...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2012
an incredible mix of photos, lyrics and music that made the experience 100% satisfactory. Including new songs was icing on the cake.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse