Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 193 reviews
on March 18, 2007
The concept of word of mouth really took off in 2001 with Gladwell's book The Tipping Point, and since then there have been many written, including those by Godin, Rosen, Silverman, and my own, Embedded Word of Mouth (published in mid-July 2011). But Andy's book does a better job than most in that he makes the concept easy to grasp. Some authors introduce a level of complexity that really isn't warranted if you grasp the underlying philosophy which Andy beautifully and succincly lays out for the reader. As founding CEO of WOMMA (Word of Mouth Marketing Assn) Andy has been in a superb position for the past two years to mingle with the best minds on earth on the topic of word of mouth marketing. It's obvious from this book that he was listening well. I most enthusiastically endorse this book to anyone, and everyone, who touches the world of marketing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Excellent book! It was very interesting, motivating and gave a ton of reference materials. Above all else it encourage me to get started with something I always wanted to do but thought it would just "happen." Well it don't, but this book makes it possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
Andy did an exceptional job on this book - it's easy to read and packed with practical advice. The central theme is focused on the link between customer service and word-of-mouth, or as Andy puts it: "You are the user experience." Bad service is not only expensive, but it can also have disproportionate influence on other customers perception of your company or brand.

Google has become a de facto research resource for many customers, and you better make sure that you join in on this conversation. Andy talks about communication strategies, crafting the messages, and ways to keep in touch with your customers. Word of mouth is as much about customer service as it is about marketing. "Worth of Mouth Marketing" is a great ground-up overview of a highly relevant subject - a highly suggested read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2016
When people said "common sense" and "basic" I didn't realize just how basic. There's nothing new from this book for me to implement at all. In fact, I wasted about 1.5 hours reading the entire, short book when I could've been doing something useful for my business.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
Andy gives us practical and creative ideas we can put to work right away -- and writes in a no-nonsense, accessible style. I always like books that I keep on the bookshelf to refer to when I'm about to start a project. This is one of those. I especially like the little nuggets of creativity, like taking business cards you've just received, gluing your own logo on the back, using a laminator to turn them into luggage tags and sending them back the person you just met. A small thing that not only gets people talking about you, but remembering you. My book Beyond Buzz: The Next Generation of Word-of-Mouth Marketing is being promoted on Amazon with Andy's. We come at the topic differently and I can see how the books complement but don't overlap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Well written. Admittedly not chock full of statistics but more common sense dialogue. Would recommend it as light reading to sales people who want to inject something different or new into their repertoire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
I ordered a "Word of Mouth Marketing" paperback and rec'd a hardback version described as Revised Edition. It's a nicely bound and printed book which would have been perfect if all two hundred pages were blank. Then I would have had a usable notebook instead of 200 pages of tedium, the obvious and the shop-worn.

I always regret ordering these type of books. Without exception they are a waste of time and money. One of the leading blurbs on Amazon for this book it that it is "hysterical." I guess that means the writer may have been in state of hysteria when writing it because it is devoid of humor and wit.

Like all these books, they start with a long and slow introduction which is like reading a 20-page book flap. All these books have cute names for the subject at hand. In this book, it's "The Five Ts of Word of Mouth Marketing." Here they are in all their breath-taking wisdom and insight.

1. Talkers, 2. Topics, 3. Tools, 4. Taking Part, 5. Tracking.

For # 1. Talkers, here is what is suggested under the "What to Do" column. Find people who will talk about you (there is no period punctuation at the end of this sentence because it appears in a chart-like setting so it's far too important to be a mere sentence, it's a command.

That chart appears on page 63 of the Revised Edition hardback. If you read the chart more than once, it begins to appear like a rehab lesson for some poor soul who has suffered a brain injury and is trying to re-enter society.

If you find this book helpful, I fear for your future as an entrepreneur. If you find yourself becoming hysterical because you bought it, you are on your way to great success.

Hucksterism is not dead in this great land but I have more faith in the side-show impresario who promises me "The Man with Three Heads" than the writers of "marketing" books, of which there seems no end in sight.

I vow that I will never, ever again buy a book with marketing in the title, or How I Sold A million....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2009
[...]

Thanks for the author's reply (Read below). It shows that he is a responsible author and deeply cares about the W.O.M. about him and his books.
Hope that the author can verify and provides more back up on Amazon and his website that his "current revised, new book edition" provides not just "cosmetic" updates to justify readers' repurchase, since many book authors and publishers these days are shrewd in repackaging the same old content (making minor changes, although claim to be many) and re-design the book cover and re-market again... Sometimes, new edition is not necessarily better than the old, original edition.

"Sam -

I'm sorry you weren't satifsited (should spell-check before replying to readers!!) with the revised edition. It was clearly labeled as a revised edition - and not a new book. It has been more than 2 years since the last edition, and quite a few things were updated. I added new chapters on negative word of mouth and BtoB word of mouth, 5 new worksheets, 5 new case studies, and more than 200 updates to the text.

I wish Amazon would stop selling the old edition, so it would be clear that there is only one book - that it's an update, not a new title. But that's how the publishing industry works. Should I not have revised it and kept selling the outdated copy?

Thanks,

Andy "
66 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2016
The book arrived in good condition just as advertised. Great book if you are a marketer who would like to know how to implment successful WOM campaigns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 1, 2009
Here is a quick example of the tremendous value of Andy's book: Suppose your average client lifetime is 48 months and the average monthly client revenue is $100. If the talker refers 5 clients, then the average value of the talker is $24,000. Suppose you only discover one talker using the techniques taught by Andy Sernovitz. Where else can you learn to generate 96,092 percent ROI on a $24.95 investment in a book?

But the book's value keeps growing as Andy teaches how to identify and handle a **negative talker**, and how to create a **positive talker converted from negative talker**. Whenever you have a "problem client," Andy offers a simple choice: leave a problem to fester and risk losing $24,000, or create a potential for $48,000.

This book is a real treasure of practical advice to increase your sales by leveraging word of mouth marketing and modern Internet strategies.

Yuval Lirov, Medical Billing Networks and Processes - Profitable and Compliant Revenue Cycle Management in the Internet Age
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse