Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Workflow Modeling: Tools for Process Improvement and Application Development, 2nd Edition
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
25
5 star
88%
4 star
12%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2009
I own both editions. I've used the first edition extensively and really appreciate the pragmatic and comprehensive treatment of swimlane diagrams. I find the organization, structure, and enhanced content of the 2nd edition (2008) to be even more useful and current. It's clear to me that Alec has spent a lot of time learning "in the trenches;" the rest of us can benefit from what he has learned and shares in this book.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2009
Rigorous, unpretentious, unintentionially debunks requirements management as the end-all of business analysis; reveals and brings together the analytical domains within business analysis: process modeling, requirements, data, use cases, and business rules. Sharp has brought process modeling a long ways from the days when "experts" said to document the "as is" process, identify the bottlenecks, and brainstorm the "breakthrough" innovation that will guide the "to be" process. Yeah, like breakthroughs are a dime an dozen, right? Sharp provides a methodical approach to understanding the as-is process, applying best practices and enabling technologies to systematically move toward to-be process options.
Provides an inviting approach to incorporating assessment of the staff skills, training needs, organizational change needs to support a new business process. Far more useful than the Business Analysis Book of Knowledge. Don't confuse Mr. Sharp's indepth approach to business analysis through process modeling with the "quick and easy" promises of BPM product vendors.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
As a graduate industrial engineer with more than 30 years of experience as an analyst, team leader, and principal of my own consulting firm this book is one that should be on "your go to shelf" when you need additional insight in process analysis and workflow modeling

I have read the book several times from cover to cover. Each time I find something that I missed on the previous read. I write notes to myself in the margins and from time to time provide my own insight into the issue under discussion.

The principles I learned as a undergraduate at Michigan are still valid but over the years new insights and approaches to the "who, what, when, how, and why" in workplace have been examined. If you are an business process analyst you will find the author's view and approach valid regardless of whether your firm does it in the same way explained in this very good reference book.

There is no question the author know his subject from his "hands on" field work and he takes an approach that can benefit the new analyst as well as the journeyman analyst who knows what works and what does not.

Buy it, read it, makes notes, and keep it handy for future reference.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
We are in the process of overhauling our processes ... this text was referenced to be one of the better texts on how properly consider everything when doing re--modeling of your enterprise processes.

There are so many things that the book points out that need to be considers (e.g. Stakeholders, Information Systems, Competencies, Business Processes, etc.).

The book provides an excellent framework for processes assessment / rework.

Somewhat pricey compared to other texts on the subject ... however my staff are not complaining ... as it very thorough in most areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2010
Really a great book, I just loved to read it!
If you don't know how to start process modeling at your company, how to find the right process (boundaries), up to which level of detail you should describe the processes, then this book will help you a lot. The authors provide hands-on techniques, based on best practices from their long practical experience. They don't focus only on the techniques with regard to process modeling, they also describe the do's and dont's of facilitated sessions, one key ingredient for success.
Furthermore, they explain how to derive use cases and data models for software development from the process models. The best practices and tips prove that the authors are not only familiar with process modeling, but also with the world of software development.
I can recommend this book very strongly for business and IT analysts, and also to everybody else who is interested in processes and/or software development.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
The book as everything you need to know about workflow modelling and tools that can help you with. I am still working through the book but this book is for sure keeper as a reference material.
Part 1 is bit boring for an experienced professional.
I should say rest of the parts are quite useful even if you are experience you might pick-up few things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Thoughtful explanations to help structure knowledge necessary to study and understand how an organization can apply information technologies to improve performance where it matters. The book also conveys valuable lessons learned from the author's experiences presented in an understandable and coherent way, aiming to save the reader from having to experience the suffering that discovery often requires.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2011
I thought this book was a little pricey, but it is worth every penny I spent on it.
Flow first detail later- was the most important concept I learned from this book.
I use it every day now when I get off track in any project I am working on.

Thanks for writing this book I enjoyed every moment of reading it.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
An excellent guide that hits the nail on the head when it comes to defining business process. Highly recommend to those working on process improvement projects. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this text and its worth the investment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
Simply amazing! I work as an IT consultant in the testing space. This book has been vital in truly understanding how to model business processes, thus understanding your requirements, and what is truly end to end. In the testing space, we often rely on SME's to understand these dynamics, but this book will give you a distinct advantage in so many ways. It is a must read, and the best $60 you will ever spend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse