Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 416 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 472 reviews
on December 9, 2011
This book was released in the US earlier this week; I received my copy today and spent a couple of hours this afternoon looking through it. I wanted to review it right away in case anyone is considering buying it as a present for a Downton Abbey fan. It's a beautiful book and one that I'd have been thrilled to get as a gift. It's printed on thick, high quality paper and the photography is stunning. I would note that as Series 2 has not yet aired in the US, if you want to see the show without knowing anything in advance, some of the text is spoilerish here and there. The first instance that I found came at the end of Chapter 2, "Society." The photos are from both Series 1 and 2. There are also a number of "behind the scenes" photos. There are no extensive profiles of or interviews with the principal actors, if you are particularly interested in that, just short (1-2 sentence) snippets, and quotes now and again. There is some history to provide context for the fictional world of Downton (American heiresses marrying into the aristocracy, including Julian Fellow's inspiration for Cora, for example) as well as some information related to the series' production and filming. I did learn things from this that I hadn't heard before, and particularly enjoyed Julian Fellow's stories about ancestors of his who (unknowingly) inspired or gave him ideas for scenes and characters. Fans who have researched and read a lot about the Edwardian era will not likely learn anything new from the text, but I bought the book mainly for the photographs and information about the series, particularly so was not disappointed at all. In summary, I can't imagine any Downton fan not liking this book! The suggestions for further reading are good, though the section on life below stairs could be more extensive. I would second the recommendation of Juliet Gardiner's Manor House: Life in an Edwardian Country House (listed as The Edwardian Country House, its UK title) for anyone interested in the era's country house life - likewise very beautifully done.
33 comments| 353 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
If you are a fan of the series, this is a must read book. Very enjoyable, great pics, and easy to read. Interesting background info that made the series even more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
I love this series and was excited to read more about the show and the history of the period and characters portrayed. I found the content very informative.

I purchased the kindle version and later found at least one of the photos wasn't in the kindle version. I think the ebook versions should be clearly described if there are edits and omitted text or omitted photos that are in the print versions. Ideally technology should adapt pictorial works in full glory for ebook versions or the publisher should abstain from selling an ebook without full disclosure.

I will think twice before purchasing any ebook version of an illustrated book. I do wish Amazon would disclose any variations between the print and kindle versions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2017
Wonderful, eye-popping delight continued as a PBS series! Thanks---
Great to have a written account and photos in this great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2016
A nicely illustrated, light read. It is full of facts, stories, and snippets about the real history of the house & family as well as the cast and characters of the show. Easy to pick up and read just a short section -- or to marathon your way straight through. Chances are you'll be back to re-read it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
And full of lovely photos and period illustrations to boot. This book cover the period thru Season 2, but there are only mild spoilers.

Lots of stuff on "service" and where in the hierarchy each job fell. And just as much on "society" such as how American heiresses became known as "buccaneers".

Beautiful, lovely book, good to look at when you need a quick Downton "fix".
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
I love history, especially the everyday lives of people in a particular time period. This book tells us about how the people really lived and how events in history affected them. There were monumental changes effected by World War I, and the story shows them beautifully. But the commentary in this Kindle Edition of The World of Downton Abbey further fleshes out and clarifies the whys behind many of the changes. I addition, the book explains the behind the scene making of the series and introduces us to the men and women who make the characters come alive on screen. Some of the descriptions were so eloquent and lyrical that I found myself in the middle of the servants quarters or on a battle field or in the grandeur of the abbey. Beautifully written and eagerly devoured by this Anglophile!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
Great picture book and conversation piece. A must for the shows true fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
While finishing up another book, I started reading this official companion book to the wonderful ITV series, both series 1 and 2. I opted to buy the physical version to enjoy the photographs, a great decision on my part. in addition to photographs from the series, you are also provided with the history the series exists in as well as behind the scenes articles. They all serve to enhance your viewing experience.

Anyone who is a fan of this terrific series needs to read and experience this book. The events touched upon in the series are connected to the real historical people, places and events that inspired them. A fan of history, I was delighted to not only learn more about the times the series is set in, but to gain a list of books to read and people to learn more about. A definite 5 out of 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2012
The Downton Abbey Masterpiece Classic series is one of the very best in my collection of DVDs. As far as movies go, this deserves at least five stars and it's rich in what captivates an audience. I cherish everything about these episodes. The cast in Downton Abbey are superb and nothing less. It's delightful in how J. Fellows presents this family living in a luxerious palace, along with the servants sometimes undermining the family. You observe the family trying to maintain a certain way of life and all that goes with it. The historical events, along with the interfering members of the staff, are enough to ruin the balance of this household and family. The suspense will keep you guessing and wanting more - always. This is a collection you can sit down with family members and not be embarrassed by anything said or done. This is so good that you can't wait to see the next season!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse