Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 94 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 132 reviews
on December 26, 2016
Track down one of the copies that comes with a 6-song bonus disc. I like it much better than the actual album (I would rate the album alone 3 stars). "Oboe Concerto" is a great closing track for the album proper, though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2017
Mozz is in fantastic form on this album, in both writing and vocal performance
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
Here I'm listening to Morrissey's new album as thunder & lightning rage from the NYC sky,and what a great soundtrack this makes.Having had a mixed reaction to the pre-album singles (loved the title cut,the other 2 not so much),I didnt know what to expect.But as soon as I heard the deliciously evil guitar fuzz & beat as Morrissey slyly sings "Neal Cassady drops dead and Allen Ginsberg's tears shampoo his beard" in "Neal Cassady Drops Dead" I was glad that I did.The song morphs into "November Spawned A Monster"'s evil twin in the climax.Already a favorite.Then you have the next song "I'm Not A Man" which is one of his most emotional epic songs in some time (and as an animal loving misanthrope myself,I can listen to this great song all day).The screaming in the end is both chilling and beautiful.Other standouts include the bouncy "Staircase at the University" and the acoustic lullaby of betrayal "Smiler with Knife" (both classic Moz that would have fit any of his earlier solo albums).Kiss Me A Lot" is the album's only filler with dopey lyrics.The album ends with three haunting & somewhat theatric "Goodbye" songs-Kick The Bride,Mountjoy & Oboe Concerto.

Overall,WPINOYB is much more like You Are The Quarry then the two harder albums that followed it,and his best album since then.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2016
Really like some of the songs in this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Morrissey has done it again. This album is so unorthodox and different from his usual style that it is actually quite refreshing and, as a whole, is extremely strong. It has a very international feel with elements like didgeridoo, accordion, flamenco guitar and other worldly sounds. It seems like it is partly due to his multi-talented/multi-instrumentalist Gustav Manzur. Jesse Tobias and Boz Boorer make a strong return as well as the Walker brothers keeping cadence and supporting the low end. Every listen is a acoustical treat and always full of new and more interesting sounds than the initial listen. Lyrically, Morrissey continues speaking to politics, animal rights, and the usual controversial topics that no other artist will ever consider even whispering about. Ultimately, World Peace Is None of Your Business is a work of art and should be listened to on a loud, booming system as well as quality headphones to get the most out of this album.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2016
great stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
Strong release showcasing Morrissey's mature period in fine style. It's a "grower" -- aren't all the best albums? -- that reveals new layers of musical and lyrical wit with each listen. The band are frankly on fire, genre-hopping thru alternately gritty and exotic rhythms with incredibly hooky melodies. Some of it is inspiring, some of it's sad, and almost all of it is at least darkly funny. One of the songs that I initially rejected, "I'm Not a Man" ended up becoming one of my favorite tracks on the disc. The lyrics and melody are rich and as deep as anything in the rock music idiom. I admit it: Mozzer's still got it. If you were ever a fan of The Smiths or Morrissey, you deserve to give this album a few listens. I guarantee it'll become one of your faves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
I was a "Smiths" fan. Not much of a Morrissey fan. This album, however, hit the spot. Of the few artists who have been brave enough to sing about current ennui and Earth destruction, he's the only one who has got it right. Joni Mitchell almost put me into a depression with "Shine". I miss Kurt Cobain. The world is doomed. I'd rather hear it from Morrissey than anyone else. When one of the top songs of 2014 is about "Happy," many peoploids are terribly delusional.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
I bought this as a gift. She loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
There is a handful of songs that could use more of the passion and rebellion Morrissey is known for. More of a punch, I mean. But all in all it's a pretty decent album, although I think he's done better. It's OK that he decided to add Latino and Spanish flavors to his work but somehow it doesn't really match his style. It's a bit like putting Alice Cooper to sing tango.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse