Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: How the World Works (Real Story (Soft Skull Press))
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 17, 2011
Despite being a collection of four volumes published as much as 20 years ago, this invaluable collection is not the least out of date. Whether because nothing seems to change, or because we never seem to learn, or because the human condition so dictates, these books are as valid and valuable today as they were when first published. As usual, sterling editing makes them crisp, fast, effective and compact reads, and editors' notes expand acronyms possibly long forgotten. As always, highly recommended.
0Comment| 134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2011
As always, Noam is very readable, accurate, profound, detailed, wise, prophetic, concise and pithy. This particular book is primarily a lightly edited composite transcript of a number of live interviews in which Noam fielded a very wide variety of questions without hesitation. Part of his genius is that he manages to precisely describe the gist of very complex situations using quite ordinary language and sentence structure, usually simple declarative sentences with very few multi-syllable words. Having tried to do the same with only marginal success, I say this is much rarer and more demanding than it sounds.
0Comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2012
Well, I don't know if the truth will set you physically free, but it will definitely free your mind of the vast amount of nonsense "mainstream" media will expose you too. One word of caution: After reading Chomsky you will no longer be a sheep. That means it may be difficult to deal with those around you who prefer to continue to take the blue pill. Just be patient with them.
11 comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
If you are a firm patriot, look away. This book will blow gaping holes in your rose tinted patriotism. The trouble is they are very real, credible holes. Its the kind of grown up truth that once you read it, the world is a different place. You lost belief in Santa and the Tooth Fairy. Now its time to see the reality of what we call freedom; what we call democracy. Read it if you dare. Most of you won't.

This guy is blackballed from mainstream media, because he is right, and the truth is dangerous to the powers that be. It makes it more difficult for them to steer "the bewildered herd".

The book itself is very accessible and easy to read. Its broken up into sections corresponding to different interviews on different subjects, but there is a little repetition, just so that each section stands well on its own. If you have lived outside the USA, if you have ever ready Orwell's 1984, you will find the book easier to accept. The difficulty will come from a refusal to accept what is going on; a refusal to accept that Santa was invented to sell more stuff; and that our history books are full of feel-good distortions of what really goes on.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
This is typical Chomsky. He provides the details and documentation showing the actions of the powerful (read: corporations and governments) in their relations with the weak (read: us). As always, no one is spared scrutiny.

Chomsky's profiles are discouraging, quite frankly. What makes them readable, and ultimately 'must-read,' is the necessity of making personal choices. Where will I shop? Will I vote? For whom? I will admit that I wish the world were a nicer place, but since it is as it is I will read Chomsky and be thankful for his work and his willingness to pay the price for telling the truth.
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2011
As expected, How the World Works is another master work from Noam Chomsky. It contains mostly excerpts from interviews and lectures, so it doesn't really follow any sort of narrative format and the flow is sometimes choppy, but this book contains several nuggets and a few gems of unbelievably insightful wisdom from the man who is, arguably, the greatest thinker of our lifetime. Definitely worth reading!
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
Received this book and read it cover to cover rather quickly (suspended other readings temporarily). Though I disagree with Prof. Chomsky from time to time it is in matters of degree rather than fundamentals. This book of interviews and talks ranges over a number of topics over a period of time primarily, it would appear, reflecting on the eighties and nineties. I found it to be highly enlightening as I was, during that period, distracted from following the empire closely by personal life turbulence. I recommend the book to those who appreciate insights into current events through the mind of an individual devoted to stepping outside the framework of the pictures presented by domestic media for mass consumption and who undertakes the serious research and thought that requires.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2012
Superb - Chomsky at his most accomodating and charming. His questioners have been carefully selected which makes for a relaxed and thoughtful dialogue. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2012
It is just a journey, a mix of history, analysis, economics, led by the hand of a bright, unique intellectual and ethical guru. Don't miss it.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Chomsky traces the brutal interference of our government in every small country in the world.
This is a litany, in detail, of all the sins of our leaders as they make certain that while we sail under the flag of democracy none can possible exist.
Couldn't finish it. It made me sick to my stomach.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse