Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 18 reviews
on June 8, 2014
to some who view this the critics i say was trying to get it right or was it pointing out all the things that cannot be answered to those who expect the impossible but if you truly believe in the plausibility of those facts then you truly understood what they were trying to bring to life then if you do take it just a step farther and lets say that things didn,t happen as they were reported but we know the truth still doesn,t sell newspapers but conjecture does who.s to some of the scholars of the time didn,t propagate poetic license all this series does is hold what has been written using several different sources and using that to give credence to what has already been written and leaving to ask questions on your own
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2008
This DVD set was a fantastic buy. The episodes basically take a period of history and recreate it with modern day computer generated graphics and explain the significance of the structures, the events surrounding the structures, and the people involved. The episodes generally consist of the camera crew going to the area being covered and showing what it currently looks like. They throw in the comp generated version if what it used to look like. The archeologists/historians/narrator explain the historical significance of things throughout. There are also some dramatizations, but they are pretty minimal.
There is a wide variety of topics that are covered, so chances are you would find at least a few interesting episodes.
Some of the episodes include Rameses the II's Egypt, Knight's Templar, Jerusalem, Hitlers under ground bunkers, Greece, Pagan's in the British isles and more. My personal favorites were the 14th century Scotland, the early Christianity episode, and the episode on Vlad Dracula was fantastic.
For the price this DVD costs used you really can't go wrong, I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2010
If I could give this 4 1/2 instead of 5, I probably would, as I would take away 1/2 for lack of depth, but do not want to take a whole star for that. I thought production values were very good, and the experts hired for interview really knew their subject matter. It was, however, a bit brief on some subjects, particularly Stonehenge, Avebury, Silbury Hill. There was a little info here I had not seen before, however. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not have any objection to the CGI of what the structures would originally have looked like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
As far as our planet goes, there are worlds inside of worlds and with this package you will be amazed as to how many lost worlds there really are. We are only beginning to discover what life and the true worlds that have been here and gone for so many years ago that man can't even put a number to it anymore. Never stop learning, and the package is a great place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2008
These documentaries contain an element of speculation, and employ a degree of imagination. Having said that if they are viewed with an open mind and appreciated for what they are intended to be, (not entirely based on fact, but making reasonable, educated assumptions as to what might have been) then these documentaries are very enjoyable in their own right. How seriously the viewer takes what is being said is an indication of how well informed or feeble minded he or she is. In other words how much you choose to believe is entirely up to you. If you are a well informed discerning viewer you will take what you see with a grain of salt and fill in the blanks for yourself. Nothing is set in stone. The viewer is merely presented with reasonable assumptions, possibilites and probabilites. The computer generated reconstructions are well done and make visualization a pleasurable experience. Well worth viewing.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
This arrived quickly and was as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2013
Covers a wide range of history and culture. Very well written and done. I definitely recommend this for all history lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
I wanted it to add to my reference collection also to increase my knowledge on the subject to Enhanced my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2009
This is an excellent series. Very informational. The information is presented in a way that makes it very interesting. Recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2007
Pretty cheap for 9 hours of running time. The animations are very cool, lots of good footage of old castles in the knights templer episode, very interesting historical story's like the real dracula, hitlers supercity , amazingly huge constructions displayed in many of the episodes in great detail, Three thumbs up.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here